Service:
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 271 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
232 Results

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 47 |

Karen
Flag
Rating: 5

Small Shelter With A Big Heart

posted 6 years ago

Butte Humane society is a wonderful no kill shelter. This shelter is always clean and is staffed by individuals that both love the animals that they house and they love their jobs too. BHS takes in all animals that are brought into it even if they do not have the room to house them. The animals are clean, well fed, and healthy. Employees walk and play with the animals daily. BHS is a wonderful place to find an animal friend to bring into your home. If you have have never been to this shelter, please go and have a look. There are many forever friends that need a home there just waiting for you to make their dream come true.

Pros: Loving Atomsphere and clean

Cons: Overcrowded at times

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Novia123
Flag
Rating: 4

Butte Humane Society is very good

posted 5 years ago

I have been to the Butte Humane Society about 5 times over the past 1 1/2 years for various reasons. Twice I brought in two different strays I found, one was seriously injured. The staff carried the injured dog in from my car, had me fill out paperwork regarding him and gave me a case number so I could keep calling for updates on him. When I called, they efficiently gave me the information I needed. They took this dog right to the vet after animal control examined him and gave them permission to take him to the vet, and he was put in antibiotics, pain meds, etc, and hopefully he will be ready to be fostered soon. All this was done on a saturday, when animal control was officially closed, and they had to take him to the emergency vet, whose prices I think must be higher than the regular ordinarily open vet during business times hours. Then once I had to go in the back to look for my dog. In the back where the dogs are housed, I noticed they each had clean water, a blanket and a doghouse. And the same was true of the dogs kept outside in the front of the shelter. I know it takes a lot of work to make sure each dog has these items. I appreciated the low cost vaccination clinic there on a Sunday afternoon, and the man running it was knowledgeable and friendly. Another time, my dog got attacked by another dog in the park, and it was on the weekend so I stopped by the Humane Society to ask questions and the staff was knowlwedgeable about telling me what I had done wrong, and why the other dog had been promotpted to attached my dog. Overall, I really appreciate the butte humane society, because I know their resources are stretched and tight right now, but the people there have taken the time to answer my questions and are knowledgeable.

Pros: Staff seem genuinely concerned about animals

Cons: They need more room to house animals!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Heather
Flag
Rating: 5

For Love Of The Animals

posted 5 years ago

What BHS lacks in space and funds, it does its best to make up for w/ a HUGE heart. In the past ten years, first as a volunteer, and now as a staff member, I have seen this shelter and organization go through SO much... from abysmal conditions, staff turnover (and over and over), near-bankruptcy, public outcry, and the myriad results of decades of mismanagement and neglect... and against all odds this place has persevered, cleaned up its act, became a low-kill shelter, made HUGE improvements in so many areas of care and organization, gathered many knowledgeable and devoted staff and volunteers, and now is finally getting to the level of success and recognition that BHS deserves. The animals are not only given food, water, shelter, and medical attention, they are LOVED. Staff and volunteers work daily to socialize and work on any training/behavioral issues. The thorough adoption process ensures that the adopter and animal are a great match, and that these animals will continue to have a happy, healthy life in their next home. By rescuing animals from other shelters, we give even more second chances. The growing Outreach and Humane Education program educates others on the joys and responsibilities of pet ownership, as well as the realities of sheltering and pet overpopulation. Though there are still many improvements to be made, not the least of which is housing, BHS is dedicated to making the next 100 years our best yet.

Pros: Great animals, dedicated staff & volunteers, getting better every day!

Cons: Needs more space, money & friends!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Teelaaz
Flag
Rating: 5

Little Shelter with a BIG heart

posted 5 years ago

The Butte Humane Society in Chico, California is a perfect example of people doing everything they can for animals on a shoestring budget. The building and outdoor kennels are old and many of the kennels need new fencing. The Shelter relies on the community for alot of the benefits they recieve. College students recently built roofs over several of the outdoor kennel blocks to provide shade in the blistering hot summers. Boy Scouts powerwashed, and re-painted the front and side of the building giving it a much more inviting appearance. And there is a never ending stream of volunteers who feed, clean, walk and play with the animals to keep them happy and well socialized during their stay at the shelter.
While I was volunteering there last summer I was amazed at the number of cats and dogs they were able to place! They have such a great success rate that they are often able to rescue animals from other overcrowded shelters where they were running out of time. I can't say enough nice things about the shelter and I hope hope hope, they win the makeover contest, because I really think they deserve it.

Pros: Low Kill Shelter, Great Volunteers

Cons: Facilities are old and in need of repairs

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Cyrus F.
Flag
Rating: 5

BHS is Well Accepted by Our Community

posted 5 years ago

For how old Butte Humane Societies' facility is and how limited their space is, their staff of very friendly and knowledgeable people gives Butte County a wonderful animal shelter. Our community is very fortunate to have a very large group of passionate volunteers that work for BHS as well.

Working their myself as a volunteer, it seemed as if there were more volunteers than actual staff and the volunteers were getting in the way of each other as we worked on socializing dogs and cats. This is a great thing to witness, because the more people helping out in the community the better. However, I believe this problem is mostly due to limited space and that the original layout of the facility is a poor design that does not cater well to the current facilities needs.

BHS holds a very informative volunteer orientation on every other Saturday I believe. The fact that so many people in our community are involved with our little animal shelter says a lot about how friendly and professional BHS really is. This is an animal shelter that cares and so they are well accepted by the community.

This is a very busy crew of animal lovers! The BHS facility is old, yet the staff make sure it is very clean. Working with what they have and within their limited space, BHS really does a superb job in our community. Their low-cost vaccination and spay/neuter clinics are a crucial benefit to Butte County.

Overall I gave the Butte Humane Society animal shelter a 5 out of 5 rating, because they deserve recognition for their hard work. Regardless of what the facility is lacking, the BHS team does a remarkable job.

Pros: Very Knowledgeable People, Decent Customer Service

Cons: Old Facility, Limited Space, Hours of Operation

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 47 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 95928

April 13, 2009 | By Jennifer Masonek C.

the staff and dr.s are so nice and friendly. my whole family bring their pets to Evers. we trust our animals in their care.

Rating: 5

Runamuk Rescue

April 8, 2009 | By Maria A.

This was the best experience we ever had. This was our first time adopting a rescue. We were not sure about what we were going to see. By far, the best rescue. The pets are treated very humanly. Went … more ›

April 2, 2009 | By Novia123

I've been going to the Tree farm about two years, ever since I decided to stop bringing my dog off leash to Bidwell, when she nuzled another dog to intiate play, but that grouchy dog latched onto my d… more ›