Service:
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 119 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
103 Results

1 ... | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 ... 21 |

Reiki4paws
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Place Great People

posted 5 years ago

AHS was the first shelter I talked to when I moved to Austin. We've been involved in rescue work for 20 years and I needed local information. We had a serious feral kitten problem we inherited from the former owner of the home we bought in Austin. AHS had the information and was just starting a local program. It's great. The staff and volunteers are helpful and caring. When I've been at the shelter, it's always bustling and the people are friendly. The animals act as relaxed and happy as they possibly could in a shelter and that's great too. They also have solid plans to grow and meet the ongoing needs of the Austin community.

Pros: Good caring service, no kill policy, educational programs

Cons: needs more capacity

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Cathy J.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great place to work w/animals & make a difference

posted 5 years ago

I love AHS! I started volunteering when my 14 yr old German shepherd Chaney passed away. It helped me to be around other dogs, and to be around people who had lost a pet before. I've met many amazing dogs & people since since I joined in June 2006 that I will never forget. And it's fulfilling to be able to help the animals enjoy themselves while at the shelter, and to help them find the right homes. It's a place where I can really make a difference in the world.

Pros: no-kill, has volunteer dog training program

Cons: None

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

cindy s.
Flag
Rating: 5

AHS - Aways Helping to Save

posted 5 years ago

WOW! What a great place to volunteer. I signed up to learn about dogs, help my adopted rescue dog(Shackles) and because just I love animals. I am always in awe of how the staff and volunteers share each day coming up with ideas that make each and every animal as comfortable as possible waiting for their forever home. The minute a new dog arrives a plan is put into place. It's all about giving lots a love to the dogs coming in and sending happy dogs home!

Pros: happy,healthy people and animals

Cons: none

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Annie H.
Flag
Rating: 5

AHS is a great place

posted 5 years ago

As a volunteer at AHS I really get a feeling of gratification when I go in there. I was very pleasantly surprised to find out how much they train their volunteers also. I really feel like I have learned a lot about socializing dogs and their behavior. This is also a place the smells surprisingly clean! The first time I was there I was expecting to have to tell myself that I was just going to need to adjust and get used to it but that wasn't the case at all! Please if you are looking to adopt or volunteer come check us out! Everyone is really friendly and you'll be glad you did it. I know I was!

Pros: wonderful place that really cares for its animals

Cons: needs more adopters!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Banning L.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great place to volunteer!

posted 5 years ago

I've been volunteering here for a short time (albeit I work about 15 to 20 hours a week)... and AHS is a wonderful place to work. Very caring and educated staff, streamlined program for the adoption of animals, very, very dedicated staff when it comes to educating volunteers.

I've work with animals most of my life (though rarely in a shelter enviroment) and I'll tell you now... if I had to be a homeless dog or cat... I'd want to be sheltered here.

Pros: Great people, knowledgable staff, caring enviroment

Cons: None

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 ... | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 ... 21 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 78752

March 11, 2009 | By Julie U.

I usually stay in the Hilton family of hotels while traveling for work, so I'm glad to see that there is a local Doubletree that allows pets. I've always been very happy with the Doubletree hotels I'… more ›

March 10, 2009 | By Cathy J.

This hotel is near my house, so it's a good place for friends and family to stay when they visit with pets. It's on an interstate, so it's a busy area, but I like it for its convenience.

February 18, 2009 | By Christy M.

Good, average place to stay that is animal friendly. Great alternative I've recommended to friends and family coming in town.