Service:
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 119 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
103 Results

1 ... | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 ... 21 |

Hayesjs
Flag
Rating: 5

Fantastic Resource for People and Animals in Central Texas

posted 5 years ago

Although I am not a volunteer and have not adopted from the Austin Humane Society, their facility is clean and well thought out. But they provide a free and fabulous service to the citizens of Central Texas, the spaying and neutering of feral cats. We all know times are tough and the cost of food is more than some caregivers can truly afford. This free service provided by AHS is making all the difference in the world, fixing well over their goal of 5,000 cats for the year, and helping to keep the feral population down.

Thanks so much!

Pros: Great Shelter

Cons: Difficult to get to in traffic

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Whickums
Flag
Rating: 5

Wonderful shelter

posted 6 years ago

I have volunteered here for 4 years and I think this shelter is well run and clean. There is a large number of volunteers and we are very involved in the training and care of all the animals that come through here. The staff and volunteers work and communicate well together providing a cohesive and collaborative environment to spend our time. The staff is always bringing new ideas to the table about training and marketing methods that make our dogs better behaved, and therefore more appealing to potential adopters.

Pros: Always evolving training/marketing programs, excellent volunteer base

Cons: can't think of any

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Ahsbratt
Flag
Rating: 5

Clean

posted 6 years ago

This shelter is a great place to find great animals. They need homes, but alot of them can't calm down without a regular schedule, so they bark and have other issues. The Staff are highly trained individuals who come everyday to care for these animals. They know the dogs well and are good at what they do. I would definitely recommend this shelter to someone looking for a pet.

Pros: Everyone here does their best to make the dogs comfortable while at the shelter

Cons: not alot of space, the animals need homes

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

JoAnn C.
Flag
Rating: 4

Awesome place to volunteer

posted 5 years ago

I've been volunteering at AHS for 7 years and have found it to be a very rewarding experience. I've learned a lot about working with dogs during my years there. The staff take very good care of the animals plus are interested in working with the volunteers and listening to our ideas and suggestions.

The building could use a major overhaul as it was not designed to be an animal shelter and the dogs to not get sunlight in the kennel area but have to wait to get taken out for a walk.

Pros: Staff, cleanliness, volunteers

Cons: building

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Paul F.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Staff, Needs more space

posted 5 years ago

I've been volunteering at the austin humane society for just a few months now, and it's been quite impressive to see how much the volunteer staff helps out. Their training program is kind of frustrating at first, since you can only walk certain dogs until you get trained, but the reason is obvious once you see what a difference there is after a dog has been with us a few weeks. It's really amazing that our shelter not only rescues and finds homes for so many animals, but also significantly helps the animals get better before they find a new home.

The only down side is that we have to limit our intake because we just don't have the room for more animals.

Pros: Great volunteer program, no kill, nice people

Cons: Not enough space

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 ... | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 ... 21 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 78752

March 11, 2009 | By Julie U.

I usually stay in the Hilton family of hotels while traveling for work, so I'm glad to see that there is a local Doubletree that allows pets. I've always been very happy with the Doubletree hotels I'… more ›

March 10, 2009 | By Cathy J.

This hotel is near my house, so it's a good place for friends and family to stay when they visit with pets. It's on an interstate, so it's a busy area, but I like it for its convenience.

February 18, 2009 | By Christy M.

Good, average place to stay that is animal friendly. Great alternative I've recommended to friends and family coming in town.