Service:
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 119 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
103 Results

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 ... 21 |

Rzsprad
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Pets and People

posted 5 years ago

I adopted Sassy from TLAC (affiliated with AHS) in 2003 and she has been a terrific companion. I wanted to help the shelter with more than just money, so I started fostering puppies. It has been a wonderful and rewarding experience. I could never own as many pups as I've fostered, but I am free to give them all the love I can and help them make a good start in this world. I give a lot of credit to the staff at AHS for working with the volunteers and making it as easy as possible to foster. My goal is to see that every one of my fosters is adopted quickly into a wonderful home.

Pros: very helpful, wonderful staff and volunteers

Cons: wish it was closer to where I live

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Sarah G.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Shelter

posted 5 years ago

I am very impressed with the Austin Humane Society. I have been volunteering since the early fall and it's fantastic how much we learn about handling pets (in my case dogs.) The program emphasizes consistency in how dogs are handled and trained, which in my experience is crucial to a dog's socialization. No confusion here! The staff is also very loving to the dogs (and to us clumsy fledglings!) and we are encouraged to "love on" the dogs as much as possible. It's all about positive reinforcement which is what these frightened dogs need. I really enjoy my time there and encourage others to volunteer. This is definitely the place to adopt from as you will know the animals have been exceptionally well treated, and placed only when ready.

Pros: lots of love and consistency

Cons: too many homeless pets!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Angie T.
Flag
Rating: 5

AHS is the best

posted 5 years ago

I have been a volunteer at AHS for over 2 years, and have always found my experience wonderful. They really focus on volunteer training, and there is never any doubt that the animals at AHS are priority one. There's even work at the city-level to make sure that animal rights are being served in Austin. I've met great, dedicated people here and feel like there is a real community at AHS. It shows in the care they give to the dogs and cats. Come check out the new cattery and participate in the dog hand-feeding program. Buy a raffle ticket and try to win a new car...all the proceeds to go the shelter. Become a volunteer. A couple of hours a week make such a difference to the dogs and the staff. You won't regret your trip to AHS.

Pros: no-kill, clean, heavy focus on behavioral training for dogs

Cons: none, it's awesome

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Cindy  B.
Flag
Rating: 3

Austin Humane Society needs serious updating

posted 5 years ago

I trap feral cats and participate in the feral cat clinic at the Austin Humane Society. It is a wonderful program staffed by awesome folks who really care about the animals in our community.

The physical conditions at the Austin Humane Society needs some serious updating. The inside is very dingy and old. Several years ago, the A/C went out in the middle of the summer and it was HOT and STEAMY. I believe that the pipes need replacing and some nice flooring and paint would go a long way in making this place more presentable to the public.

I believe that the pets here are well cared for, but as for walking through the front door, it leaves a lot to be desired. It is cramped and needs a serious face-lift.

Pros: Great staff, well cared for animals

Cons: Needs serious updating and new signage

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

JessicaDogLover
Flag
Rating: 5

Austin Humane Society Brings Angels into People's Lives

posted 5 years ago

I adopted my dog Nena from the Austin Humane Society and she is an Angel. My close friend just adopted her dog from there as well. They are so helpful and friendly and knowledgable.

When I adopted, the person I worked with made a number of extra calls and provided assurances to my landlord becasue Nena exceeded the required weight by a few pounds. They definitely went the extra mile for me.

I love and respect this organization so much that I have signed up for volunteer training and will begin volunteering as soon as I can.
Best, Jessica

Pros: Excellent, knowlegeable staff, everyone is very caring and helpful

Cons: too small, not able to take in enough animals

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 ... 21 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 78752

March 11, 2009 | By Julie U.

I usually stay in the Hilton family of hotels while traveling for work, so I'm glad to see that there is a local Doubletree that allows pets. I've always been very happy with the Doubletree hotels I'… more ›

March 10, 2009 | By Cathy J.

This hotel is near my house, so it's a good place for friends and family to stay when they visit with pets. It's on an interstate, so it's a busy area, but I like it for its convenience.

February 18, 2009 | By Christy M.

Good, average place to stay that is animal friendly. Great alternative I've recommended to friends and family coming in town.