Service:
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 119 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
103 Results

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 21 |

Maureen D.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great animal care at the AHS

posted 5 years ago

I stared volunteering at the AHS in 11/08 and am very impressed by the high level of care for the animals. The volunteers here are given a lot of freedom to run the show (with support from staff whenever needed) - and they take the time to share a lot of information with newcomers on how to best help the animals. Experienced volunteers teach classes on handling and training dogs of all temperaments and sizes.

The building is older, but it's constantly being cleaned. I work with the dogs and have noticed that kennels are cleaned constantly and the dogs are walked several times during the day. Volunteers walk around and quiet the kennels when one or two barking dogs are getting the rest riled up, and signs of stress are sought out to make sure the dogs are adjusting well to their short time in the kennel before going to their forever home.

Pros: Animals are loved and well-cared for, and the facility is kept very clean

Cons: The only thing I can think of is that it could be bigger to help even more animals!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Viviana H.
Flag
Rating: 5

Fun Times at a Great Place

posted 5 years ago

I enjoy volunteering at the AHS. The AHS is a place for me to get away from school and work and go make a difference. All of the dogs are great. It is a delight to be around other people that share the same interests as you which is the love of dogs and compassion. I always look forward to going and give my time to a wonderful cause. It is a bittersweet feeling when the dogs get adopted. I hope all the dogs that come to the shelter find a forever home and family that will love them. I am thankful that the AHS exists and hopeful that it will thrive to save more dogs. The animals at the shelter are lucky to have a great group of staff and volunteers. My favorite thing to do with the dogs is take them outside in the field, find a spot under a tree and sit with them and pet them. It is a priceless experience.

Pros: Awesome Animals

Cons: Dog kennels: need more and better ones

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

debra t.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for pets, hurricanes and volunteers

posted 5 years ago

I've volunteered at AHS off and on since the early 90's It has gone through one move and many administrations, but through it all the main focus of saving pets lives has been maintained and accomplished .

With more than 100 scheduled, committed volunteers, a smaller but similarly committed staff and a lot of monetary support from the community this shelter is a standout. That is why it was picked for on of the initial roll-outs of the Meet Your Match program from the ASPCA. AHS had caught the ASPCA's attention after they accepted in hurricane Katrina pets (and later strays) and were on many news programs and Animal Planet for their efforts.

If you want to adopt and animal, this is the place to find one. If you want to volunteer, this is the place to get the training to be a great volunteer.

Pros: Great place to save pet lives, support hurricane pet victums and volunteer

Cons: na

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Sheila S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Lead by Example

posted 5 years ago

The feral cat program run by Leticia Stivers and the AHS team is TOP NOTCH! Over 5000 cats sterilized in 2008. Dr. Luke and surgical team have a very low surgical loss rate for these numbers and do an outstanding job. The receiving department works closely with not only the public but with rescues and trappers to assist when they can with tame kittens. They have a wonderful foster program.
The dogs have great volunteers too and a very well thought out and planned volunteer program.
The ED, BOD, Staff and Volunteers are the heart and soul of this facility and daily provide safe haven to hundreds of animals.

Pros: Feral cat program, strong community network, Top notch staff

Cons: Needs newer digs

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jess
Flag
Rating: 4

Ahs

posted 5 years ago

I've been volunteering at AHS for over two years now. I'm a huge animal lover and wanted to help homeless animals find a second chance at a forever home. When I started volunteering I had no idea how much it would change my life. The staff and volunteers are passionate people who work very hard to make the shelter experience a good one for these homeless animals. As a volunteer I try to help the animals gain hope. Animals are amazing, they really do recover from a traumatic experience and learn how to trust again. Its such a fulfilling experience to give your time to a great cause.

Pros: a great shelter

Cons: needs a make-over

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 21 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 78752

March 11, 2009 | By Julie U.

I usually stay in the Hilton family of hotels while traveling for work, so I'm glad to see that there is a local Doubletree that allows pets. I've always been very happy with the Doubletree hotels I'… more ›

March 10, 2009 | By Cathy J.

This hotel is near my house, so it's a good place for friends and family to stay when they visit with pets. It's on an interstate, so it's a busy area, but I like it for its convenience.

February 18, 2009 | By Christy M.

Good, average place to stay that is animal friendly. Great alternative I've recommended to friends and family coming in town.