Service:
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 119 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
103 Results

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 21 |

Autumn H.
Flag
Rating: 5

So proud

posted 5 years ago

I am an employee of the Austin Humane Society and am so filled with pride to be a part of it. I had applied to nearly every shelter in the central Texas area and I was so excited to be accepted into the most progressive, innovated, dedicated shelter around.

The AHS provides their animals with top-notch care and compassion. Our volunteers are such a major element in why we're able to do so much. Our sponsors and donors are some of the most committed and compassionate animals lovers there are.

I could go on and on, but in short. It brings tears to my eyes thinking of how proud I am of everyone who dedicates themselves to the Humane Society.

Together, we can change the world!

Pros: Most Progressive, Innovative Shelter

Cons: Not enough space, must save more lives!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bjt
Flag
Bjt
Rating: 5

Proud to Support Austin Humane Society

posted 5 years ago

Thirteen years ago my family adopted two wonderful cats from the Austin Humane Society. After a couple of years, when they grew out of the very cute kitten stage, my children begged to have more kittens. So we decided to become foster parents for orphan kittens. For at least ten years now we have kittens from March until sometimes January. The whole family gets involved in their care, feeding and fun. We have probably taken care of 100 kittens during that time and feel good about returning them to the shelter for them to find a forever home. Six years ago we had a litter of four kittens and we fell in love with two of them so we adopted them. Thanks to the Austin Humane Society we have our four permanent cats and from time to time our temporary foster kittens.

Pros: Only No-Kill Shelter in Austin, Great Staff

Cons: Lack of Space at the Shelter

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Brittany M.
Flag
Rating: 5

Wonderful Shelter

posted 5 years ago

I always recommend this shelter to anyone I know who is looking for a pet for several reasons. The animals are so well taken care of, from their health to socialization, the staff and volunteers make sure these animals are in great shape physically and mentally to make great pets. I truly admire the love and dedication of the staff and volunteers towards ensuring that all animals have as stress-free and enjoyable of an experience as possible, and that all animals are adopted out to well-matched families. This shelter's only fallback is a lack of space, and lack of property to walk dogs...it's only because of a partnership with a neighboring facility that the dogs can go on longer walks. This of course is not the fault of the shelter at all, and so I am so hoping that they win the makeover so that they can make any and all space improvements. It is so deserved because of all the wonderful things they do for the community, as Austin's finest no-kill shelter.

Pros: Excellent facilties, helpful staff, active volunteers, focus on animal well-being

Cons: small property

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Fran C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Wonderful Staff and Volunteers

posted 5 years ago

All shelters can be depressing places, given the sadness seen on a daily basis in the eyes of the dogs. It's difficult to walk past a kennel, eyes on you, tail wagging. You just want to take each and every one out for a game of fetch and a big sirloin bone. But, obviously you can't. You can do what you can to make their lives happier until they find their forever home.
It was difficult the first couple of months I volunteered there, knowing none of the other volunteers and insecure in what I knew about dogs. But a nice lady, Terry, was always there with a smile and helpful advice and got me through my inexperience.
Ever since then, I've met more volunteers and staff, gotten more involved in various shelter activities, because of all the great people I've met.
I'm looking forward to a long relationship with AHS, an incredible organization due to the devotion of the marvelous staff and volunteers that keep it running.
I'm not worthy.

Pros: Volunteers and Staff.

Cons: In need of a makeover.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Carissa E.
Flag
Rating: 5

AHS = no kill

posted 5 years ago

I came to AHS to volunteer as I love animals but am not ready to own one right now. I knew if I were to volunteer I'd only be able to do it at a no kill shelter.

Great orientation (it was standing room only in a fairly large auditorium). Nice relaxed casual atmosphere. Even though I am fairly new I never feel like others are judging me or telling me what to do.

There are many events for the volunteers as well as an email list to keep us all updated. I love knowing the 20-30 dogs and cats get adopted every week. Its a new crew of cats almost every weekend I go.

There is a nice sense of community at the shelter, and I love that they prefer for adopters to find the right match. They don't want someone to just take whatever cat or dog looks nice. They make adopters fill out a survey explaining what type of animal they are looking for.

Great shelter!

Pros: no kill shelter, cats & dogs

Cons: north location is far for some

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 21 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 78752

March 11, 2009 | By Julie U.

I usually stay in the Hilton family of hotels while traveling for work, so I'm glad to see that there is a local Doubletree that allows pets. I've always been very happy with the Doubletree hotels I'… more ›

March 10, 2009 | By Cathy J.

This hotel is near my house, so it's a good place for friends and family to stay when they visit with pets. It's on an interstate, so it's a busy area, but I like it for its convenience.

February 18, 2009 | By Christy M.

Good, average place to stay that is animal friendly. Great alternative I've recommended to friends and family coming in town.