Service:
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 119 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
103 Results

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 21 |

BlackDogTwo
Flag
Rating: 5

Gimme More "Austin Humane Society" Shelter

posted 5 years ago

I had the pleasure of touring this facility recently and it was the only shelter I've ever been in which actually had a homey, cozy feeling to it. We were actually able to hold a conversation IN THE DOG ADOPTION KENNEL AREA because all of the dogs were so well-behaved. By using clickers and treats, the volunteer staff rewards the dogs for not-barking and for not jumping. Thus, potential adopters see the real dog--and aren't turned off by typical kennel behavior that most shelter dogs exhibit. The levels of training and consistency of training and innovative ideas relative to volunteer scheduling makes this shelter truly one of a kind. It should be held up as a role model for others to follow. I give them the highest marks. By the way, I have volunteered at animal shelters in the past, so I have more experience with shelter operations than most people. It was a genuine pleasure to see smart, innovative ideas embraced and put into action--with great results!

Pros: Dogs are socialized and obedience-trained via loving volunteers and clickers and treats; immaculate

Cons: NONE THAT I COULD SEE

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Julie S.
Flag
Rating: 4

The Wonderful Group Cat Habitats

posted 5 years ago

The Austin Humane Society's cat habitats are great, one of the best things that has happened at the Shelter in past 3 years. They are beautifully designed and attractive spaces, right in the front windows of the shelter. Anyone can walk in and visit the cats, following the posted rules. Adult cats and adolescents are housed in groups in these rooms. They are not too crowded, and have plenty of niches and ledges to hide or rest in. There are washable beds and scratch toys and play things. All surfaces are easily cleanable. When they first opened the rooms the staff were worried about the dogs attacking or worrying cats at the windows, which go to the ground and are near the doors the dogs exit. Volunteers keep the dogs away from the windows, however, and it has not been a problem. Some of the cats act eager to play with the dogs, but the Shelter does not run dog/cat playgroups.

-- additional:

[updated on 2009-03-07 21:12:39 GMT]:
The Austin Humane Society has a wonderful foster program, that is getting better all the time, thanks to a superstar foster coordinator. In 2008, the foster volunteers helped save the lives of over 1,000 animals. Puppies and kittens under two months old go to foster, as well as mother dogs or cats with nursing litters. Also, dogs and cats with injuries or medical conditions that make them not-yet-ready for adoption are cared for by these great volunteers in their homes. The AHS is seeking new volunteers to take animals into their homes, typically for period of 2 weeks to 2 months. You can have pets of your own in your home, too. If you live in the central Texas/Austin area and might be interested, call the Coordinator of Foster Care at 512 658 0112, or fostercare@austinhumanesociety.org

Pros: Beautiful design, easy to visit the cats, front windows

Cons: Wish they had more, More and puffier beds needed

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Fostermomsimon
Flag
Rating: 5

My volunteer experience at the AHS

posted 5 years ago

What I find most noteworthy about the AHS is how dedicated the volunteers are and what loving care the animals there receive from staff, volunteers, and the vets, and the visitors as well!

Volunteers can learn so much. There are always classes and it doesn't take long to find a niche, whether it be taking dogs on outings, teaching them tricks, bathing them, or simply sitting with them and loving on the animals while you bathe in their admiration of you.

My own niche was to foster animals, which I sorely miss now that our family, due to job circumstances, has moved into an apartment where only two dogs are allowed, which we already have.

Please check out my own dog on Zootoo that we adopted from the Austin Humane Society. His name is Dobby ("fostermomsimon"). You can also see our other dog that came from Barbara Ott, at Westie Rescue. I mention this because not all dogs are suited to stay in a shelter and the AHS had tried to find foster homes or rescue sites to ease the burden some animals cannot overcome when they find themselves in a shelter.

Last, you would not believe how much fun it is to spend time at the Austin Humane Society. It is not a sad place, everyone has a commond bond: love for animals and that brings out the best in people.

Pros: Care and well-being for the animals is first and foremost

Cons: Had to move to Plano, TX into an apt. and can no longer foster

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jackie
Flag
Rating: 5

Best Staff Around

posted 5 years ago

AHS, is hands down probably the best shelter in the area!!! You can simply not compare the staff/volunteers there to anywhere. They are knowledgeable, caring, and really want to make sure that each and every pet finds the right home. I was impressed at much time they really spend with these animals to make sure that they are adoptable and will make great pets.
They truely CARE about you and your future pet and it is the best feeling in the world!

Pros: Staff

Cons: Can't think of one except maybe finding the right pet

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Rusty  K.
Flag
Rating: 1

Austin Humane Society Has Dedicated Volunteers

posted 6 years ago

There is a strong emphasis on training volunteers, especially dog volunteers to improve the behavior of dogs so they will be more adoptable. There are several levels of training that can be met. The better behaved a dog is, the likelihood of it being returned is less. Special attention is also given to matching the dog with its future adopter.

They have a feral cat program that includes performing spay or neutering of them each week.

-- additional:

[updated on 2008-10-08 14:10:02 GMT]:
Many pets are accepted knowing they need to be fostered for a while. Fosters are found to take care of the young kittens and puppies until they are old enough to be put up for adoption.

The shelter provides medical treatment and surgeries as well for adoptable pets. Not long ago a dog had surgery to correct a luxating patella. both of these services allow the shelter to receive and adopt out more animals which is their purpose.
[updated on 2008-12-19 19:17:40 GMT]:
I don't know why this review was rated 1. It should be 5.

Pros: Volunteers are very well trained, thereby making the animals more adoptable

Cons: Need a larger, better lit facility

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 21 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 78752

March 11, 2009 | By Julie U.

I usually stay in the Hilton family of hotels while traveling for work, so I'm glad to see that there is a local Doubletree that allows pets. I've always been very happy with the Doubletree hotels I'… more ›

March 10, 2009 | By Cathy J.

This hotel is near my house, so it's a good place for friends and family to stay when they visit with pets. It's on an interstate, so it's a busy area, but I like it for its convenience.

February 18, 2009 | By Christy M.

Good, average place to stay that is animal friendly. Great alternative I've recommended to friends and family coming in town.