Service:
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 119 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
103 Results

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 21 |

heidi s.
Flag
Rating: 4

I Love AHS!

posted 6 years ago

I've been volunteering at AHS for just over a year. It's been a great experience. The staff is wonderful and friendly, even though they are swamped with all that they're responsible for. And what they deal with everyday is not easy. From messy and sick animals, to heart-breaking decisions, to new volunteers learning the rules...I'm continually amazed at how well the shelter runs with so few staff members.

The volunteer program is top-notch. There are a lot of long-time volunteers that put their heart and soul into this shelter. Their knowledge is invaluable and their dedication contagious!

Volunteers focus a lot of time on training the dogs at AHS. Because we have such great staff support, we are able to focus on behavioral issues that some dogs may have as well as socialize those in need, so they're ready to safely go into their forever home.

If you have not yet visited AHS, I recommend that you check it out. If you're not able to adopt but want to spend some time with some really cool dogs, cats and people, become a volunteer!

Pros: Great animals, staff, programs and volunteers

Cons: Needs a major overhaul

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Helen M.
Flag
Rating: 5

A Day in the Life of an Austin Humane Society Volunteer

posted 6 years ago

I have been a volunteer at the Austin Humane Society for almost 1 year.

All animals at the shelter receive an extremely high level of care and commitment from both staff and volunteers alike. I love the can-do attitude of everyone and the team spirit when it comes to getting things done.

There is nothing more rewarding than seeing these animals receive the love, shelter, socialization and medical support they need, until their dream forever home comes along!

I'm proud to be a volunteer at the Austin Humane Society!

-- additional:

[updated on 2008-12-09 19:41:36 GMT]:
The Austin Humane Society is awesome. The level of animal care is fantastic. Both staff and volunteers will go to any lengths to increase a dog or cat's adoptability.

The Volunteer program is excellent - very organised and geared towards positive reinforcement.

The Austin Humane Society could do with a much-needed face lift....vote for this Shelter to win the Makeover contest!!

Pros: Deep committment to their animals, team spirit, can-do attitude

Cons: A makeover would be great ;-)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Ira S.
Flag
Rating: 5

I love the Austin Humane Society

posted 5 years ago

My wife and I have been volunteering at the Austin Humane Society for about nine years. We both started out as cat socializers (playing with the cats to make them feel better about being cooped up until they are adopted). I am now one of the volunteers who takes pictures of the cats for the web site. The main cat kennels (in the Cattery) have glass fronts so visitors can see the cats, but not annoy them. There are three colony rooms where several cats are housed together and visitors can simply come in and visit with them. There are four visitation rooms where prospective parents can visit with the cat or dog of their choosing to see how they get along. We adopted two of our three (current) cats from the AHS. One of the adoptions was not planned. One afternoon we were socializing with the cats (we already had two) and my wife fell in love with this cute, little, silver-gray kitten. She is now our youngest, and largest, cat, Athena. It is a wonderful experience working with the staff at AHS. They really care for the cats and dogs. Since AHS is a no-kill facility, some of the cats are there for a long time, but, eventually, they all get adopted.

Pros: Cats are cared for by the staff and volunteers

Cons: Not enough capacity for peak seasons

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Diane S.
Flag
Rating: 5

I Love This Shelter

posted 5 years ago

I love this shelter! Of our four cats, three were adopted from AHS. We foster kittens for the shelter and our two most recent additions, adopted in April of 2008, were our fosters. The shelter staff is very helpful to foster volunteers and the other volunteers as well. They also run an excellent feral cat spay and neuter program.

One of the things I like is that, once a cat is accepted into the shelter, they keep it even if the cat proves to be difficult to adopt out. Most of the larger offices have two or more cats that live in that office all the time. As a foster parent, I really appreciate that level of commitment to babies that become mine once I bring them home. I appreciate not having to find homes for the babies I foster; most of my friends already have enough cats, if you ask them!

When I first began volunteering, there was a cat in the cattery that was very hostile and unhappy. Within a few months she was a sweet, social, loving girl who was eventually adopted. The volunteers do an amazing job socializing the animals. I have no problem recommending the shelter to anyone wanting to adopt a dog, cat, puppy, or kitten. They do a wonderful job!

Pros: excellent staff, great volunteers, very adoptable animals

Cons: only handles cats and dogs, has to be selective when taking animals

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Shirley C.
Flag
Rating: 5

A Sheltering Place

posted 5 years ago

This shelter does a great job of saving homeless pets and finding homes for them.

As a volunteer who works with the dogs at the Austin Humane Society, the most impressive feature of the shelter for me is that the K-9 Room where most of the dogs are housed is generally fairly quiet and remarkably calm. I think this is because the dogs have more contact with people, more opportunity for play, pats, exercise and training than they might have in a lot of shelters.

A dedicated group of volunteers are devoted to getting the dogs out several times a day - not just for pottying - but for play sessions, walks around the block, a trip to the groomers, a ride to a local dog park, a training session. These things all contribute to improving the quality of life for the dogs and making them more adoptable. It's inspiring to see the shy dogs gain confidence, the jumpers begin to keep their feet on the ground, the leash-pullers to learn manners. And the best part is seeing them go home with loving families - forever families!

It's a system that benefits everyone - the animals, the volunteers, the families who are looking for the perfect dog!

Pros: clean, quiet shelter with dedicated staff and amazing volunteer program

Cons: could use more room and improved facility inside and out

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 21 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 78752

March 11, 2009 | By Julie U.

I usually stay in the Hilton family of hotels while traveling for work, so I'm glad to see that there is a local Doubletree that allows pets. I've always been very happy with the Doubletree hotels I'… more ›

March 10, 2009 | By Cathy J.

This hotel is near my house, so it's a good place for friends and family to stay when they visit with pets. It's on an interstate, so it's a busy area, but I like it for its convenience.

February 18, 2009 | By Christy M.

Good, average place to stay that is animal friendly. Great alternative I've recommended to friends and family coming in town.