Service:
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 255 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
194 Results

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 39 |

Ellen R.
Flag
Rating: 5

Having my Maltese Put to Sleep

posted 6 years ago

Recently, I had to have my little Maltese, Maggie, put down due to cancer. I decided to go to the St. Tammany Humane Society because the money goes to help the animals there. When I arrived , Maggie and I were taken to a clean, warm, room with a table padded with a sheet( no cold stainless steel ). The Dr. came and explained everything that would happen. Maggie and I were left alone to say good by and spend time together. Then the Dr. and an Assistant came in, took Maggie and gave her a shot that would stop the pain and put her to sleep. Maggie was put back in my arms and again we were left alone. I was able to talk to her as she relaxed and went to sleep. Then the Dr. came in and did the injection into the vein. Maggie felt nothing. After, the Dr. left again and Maggie and I were given time alone. I can never thank them enough for the respect and dignity and time given to my darling little Maggie. Everyone there works so very hard for the animals there.

Pros: Everyone involved was great

Cons: none

24 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Rachel R.
Flag
Rating: 5

Sweet and Caring People

posted 6 years ago

During Hurricane Gustav, I got an email about St. Tammany's Humane Society needing volunteers to foster some pets because they could not evacuate all of them. This was my first experience with them. I fostered the sweetest, most lovable chihuahua mix. Unfortunately, I can't afford another dog right now, so I couldn't adopt her, but I did get to foster her until she was adopted not much later. The staff at STHS are so sweet and caring and obviously LOVE animals. And with the way the dogs interacted with them as we toured the kennels, I could tell that they were being well taken care of. As soon as I know I can take on another pet, I am definitely going back there to adopt from them.

Pros: No Kill, Friendly Staff, Pets Love Them

Cons: Smells funny, but they all do! (They made me say a Con)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

PaigeHuper
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Place

posted 6 years ago

I visit the St. Tammany Humane Socieyt on occasion to deliver items. This shelter is outdated and stressed due to the large number of animals coming in. They really appreciate donations and do their best to get as many animals as possible adopted. They work closely with rescue groups in the area and are very dedicated to doing the best they can with what little resources they have. Please adopt or donate!

Pros: Great to have a vet clinic with the shelter

Cons: location

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

JenPyy
Flag
Rating: 5

Wonderfull Shelter

posted 6 years ago

You can tell the animals are well taken care of by great people who are very knowledgeable and caring. It’s so convenient to have a full service vet clinic right where I adopted my baby. They truly have everything (except for some reason they have no tag machine). If you are looking for the love of your life I would highly recomend the St. Tammany Humane Society. As for this shelter makeover contest this is a place that truely could use the money for a much better place. While the animals are well taken care of the building is about 100 years old (seems like it anyhow) and it would be nice to see them in better living conditions while waiting to be adopted into a good home. I heard the have a fundraiser coming up called a Night with the Pawparazzi on November 8th. You can call them for tickets at 985-892-PETS. I hope to see you at the event! We actually found this shelter when they were asking for foster parents to help evacuate the dogs and cats for Hurricane Gustav. We took in 3 dogs and headed for the hills going all the way to Alabama with them. They were a lot of fun to add to our family for a short time I wish I could have keep them but I know they will find great homes!

Pros: Great staff, very clean

Cons: old building

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

tom v.
Flag
Rating: 4

High Commitment, High Demand

posted 6 years ago

The St. Tammany Humane Society's shelter is old and inadequate to the demands it currently does its best to cope with.

The shelter has long needed an update and expansion. In the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, the population of St. Tammany Parish (just north of New Orleans across Lake Pontchartrain) has grown far beyond its infrastructural capacity. For the shelter, more people mean more pets mean more lost and abandoned pets. That trend will continue.

The shelter's staff are doing everything possible to rise to this ongoing challenge of rapidly increasing demand. They and the volunteers are good, smart, capable, caring people. The services they provide are critical and are delivered with professional and personal commitment to the health and welfare of animals and of the community.

While the community generally acknowledges the need for a larger, more contemporary shelter, the Humane Society competes with equally or even more pressing post-Katrina claims on conscience and generosity. The worsening economy will only make it more difficult to raise funds locally.

So: Exceptional people, inadequate facilities, growing need, contracting economy. It's a strong case for a desperately needed makeover.

Pros: Staff and volunteers

Cons: Strained facilities

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 39 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 70433
Rating: 4

Good Dog Naturally

March 30, 2009 | By Julie M.

The staff here knows their stuff! They have a nice selection of good, quality foods and treats.

Rating: 5

Sisters Pet Pics

March 30, 2009 | By Julie M.

We had our dog's portrait done here and the photographer was amazingly patient with him (& us). He was a puppy and would not sit on command. She got wonderful shots even though he was in almost … more ›

March 11, 2009 | By Kgrimball

Dr. Labranche is the best - very caring and passionate and highly educated with a post-doctorate degree. Staff is very friendly and provides excellent service!