Service:
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 706 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
544 Results

1 ... | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 ... 109 |

Dunnconnie
Flag
Rating: 5

Very Helpful

posted 5 years ago

CMHS has been so helpful throughout the years for me. Many people dump animals in places such as where I live (mobile home courts). Throughout the years, I have taken many kitties, had them spayed through the Spay a Stray program and released the kitties back into the neighborhood where they were usually fed by a caring person (such as myself). The latest animal that was running around the neighbohood was a little minpen-mix puppy last year in April. The puppy chose my deck to hang out on. I took the puppy to CMHS to see if anyone reported her missing. They also checked her for a chip. After several weeks, I was able to have her spayed at CMHS and she has been active member of my feline family of 6 indoor kitties and two outdoor. I named her SuzyQ.
The staff was also very helpful when I wanted to reported a man dumping a cat in a wooded area. They took my statement and turned it over to the prosecuting attorney's office.
I am very pleased in the support they have given me.

Pros: We need CMHS for our community

Cons: Many people are ignorant and irresponsible with animals

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Carol F.
Flag
Rating: 4

CMHS needs new housing for our animals

posted 5 years ago

Our family has adopted several animals from the shelter over the 30 years that we have lived in Columbia. We have never left any animal at that shelter. We have utilized the ferel spay/neuter program. Several years ago, one of my sons performed his Eagle Scout project at the Central Missouri Humane Society. The exterior was and is still in bad condition. It needed more than the paint job that it got that weekend. The wooden siding was rotten at the base, there were gaps in the siding, and there was mold that like to grow in some areas outside the building. Now more than ever, the CMHS seems to take in more animals. The facilities are dated and small for the demand it has put on it. Many of us who live in central Missouri would love to see it get what it needs and deserves.

Pros: commitment to animals, staff and volunteers

Cons: facilities are dated and small

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Michelle A.
Flag
Rating: 4

Please help!

posted 5 years ago

I have lived in Columbia practically all my life. My sister and I used to walk for a half hour along a creek to get to the Humane Society (way back in early 1980's) so we could help walk the dogs, give them baths, and clean out the kennels. The facility is the SAME now as it was then. For as old as it is, they have done a fabulous job keeping it in the serviceable repair that it is, but they have a very difficult time keeping it properly temperature controlled because of outdated equipment and buildings.

I have high hopes that somehow they will be able to keep their high standards of care - both emotional and physical care for the approximately 170+ animals they take in each week from the surrounding central Missouri area.

Also, because of inflation, our area is experiencing more and more people just abandoning their pets because they aren't able to afford them anymore. So, the need for the CMHS is only going to increase!

Thank you for this opportunity to help our CMHS!

Pros: Absolute willingness to help animals and their pets :o)

Cons: The facility is in desperate need of updating!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lori P.
Flag
Rating: 5

CMHS is the best!!

posted 5 years ago

Central Missouri Humane Society is a wonderful place! I've never seen a harder working bunch of people! I work with Small Paws Rescue (Bichon Frise rescue) and have had to pick up an occasional Bichon to take to a veterinarian for different reasons. That's not to say that CMHS could not handle the situation, but sometimes surgery or additional help may be needed. Upon arrival at CMHU I was greeted by friendly, helpful staff who helped with paperwork and other updates. They had taken fabulous care of the little fellow. He had an open eye socket from a previous injury on the streets and their staff and vet. care was first class. The little guy needed further care and they knew to contact the appropriate people. Their caring and foresight kept that Bichon from a life of pain and put him on the path to meet his forever family through adoption with Small Paws. Hats off to CMHS and here's to hoping you win the million dollar makeover!!!!

Pros: They are a hard working bunch!!

Cons: They don't have enough of all they need

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Randi B.
Flag
Rating: 4

Doin' the BEST they can!!!

posted 5 years ago

The Central Missouri Humane Society is a well known entity in Columbia, MO and the surrounding areas. Missouri, much to the chagrin of those of us who love and care for our pets, is one of the leading Puppy Mill States. This unfortunate situation often leads our Humane Society to take in hundreds of neglected and uncared for dogs each year. The Society is dedicated to the care and hoped-for adoption of these animals. We pet owners in Central Missouri applaud the valiant attempt this organization makes in rescuing, rehabilitating and adopting out these animals. In
additon, students and others purchase pets and find that they must surrender them to the shelter. All of these things put a tremendous burden on staff and facility. The CMHS needs new quarters. As happy "parents" of 5 adoptees--2 dogs and 3 cats, we support our shelter and encourage others to give support as they are able. Randi

Pros: Caring people doing the best they can

Cons: crowded conditions due to Missouri Puppy Mill Saves

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 ... | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 ... 109 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 65202

July 13, 2012 | By LindseyWolters

we have been very pleased with the care of our 5.5 year old Boston Terrier, Cali. She has boarded at My Zoo, had check ups, and a few minor surgeries. Dr. Deb and staff are very knowledgable, listen… more ›

April 29, 2009 | By diane h.

Gabe and Lily love you Dr. Deb! Your kind and gentle approach is greatly appreciated.

April 17, 2009 | By Nicole B.

We made boarded our parrot there once. At the time it seemed fine. The price was resonable and they really seemed to care about our parrot. We asked for her wings and nails to be clipped and they a… more ›