Service:
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 706 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
544 Results

1 ... | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 ... 109 |

MoMenagerie
Flag
Rating: 5

Thank you, Central Missouri Humane Society

posted 5 years ago

Central Missouri does heroic work with the resources they have, and they carry some extra burdens. Missouri is, unfortunately, a "puppy mill" state, with few state inspectors and large numbers of unlicensed breeders. When one of these awful places is raided, the state parcels out the pitiful, diseased, matted, animals among the shelters. Central Missouri is one of the smallest shelters to receive these refugees. It's a tough area for placing pets as well, because 30,000 of Columbia's population are college students who live in apartments and dorms that don't allow pets. Another special problem for Central Missouri is its location in the middle of the state, surrounded by rural counties that have poor or no facilities for homeless or abandoned animals. People drive MILES to dump their "relinquished" pets.

Of course, I'm actually grateful for relinquishments, as my granddog was given up by a Columbia family, and discovered by my son and daughter-in-law during an outreach event for CMHS. She is a wonderful member of our extended family now!

Pros: wonderful caring staff tries to reach community in so many ways

Cons: facility is crowded and antiquated to serve so many animals

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Brenda M.
Flag
Rating: 5

The Greatest Place to Volunteer

posted 5 years ago

Years ago in college, I couldn't wait to get a car because it meant I would be able to volunteer at CMHS. From the beginning the staff was appreciative of all I did at the shelter. There were so many options for working with the animals. After my training, I groomed animals, took them on walks, cleaned the small animal room, and fostered guinea pigs. In many shelters, all a volunteer can do is clean food dishes, but at CMHS, I was able to work with the animals and felt I made a true difference for the animals. One of the many great moments of my volunteer experience was while I was bathing a dog, a grandmother and her grandchild came by and looked at the dog. They said something to the effect of "This one looks great; lets go talk to the front desk about adopting him!" Also, when fostering guinea pigs, a local news reporter interviewed me, and I made the evening news! How often does that happen??!! My years volunteering were amazing. Thank you CMHS for allowing me to make a difference in the lives of countless animals!

Pros: adorable animals, many volunteer options

Cons: small facilities

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Brian T.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great place for friends

posted 5 years ago

Six years ago I adopted a dog from the Central Missouri Humane Society. Now she is spoiled and by my side every day. She very friendly and got along with my other dog from the very start. She was clean and they had taken very good care of her. She was advertised on the local TV show, but that's not how I found her.
Since then, I have helped my Mom adopt a puppy from this shelter too. This is my Mom's first dog since she was a kid. Her dog was from a puppy mill or hoarder, I'm not really sure which. The staff at CMHS talked to her and made sure that this was the right dog for her. They were holding a special adoption event because of the large number of puppies that had been surrendered by the previous owner. The staff goes out of their way to do what they can for the animals, even with a lack of funds and aging facilities.

Pros: Friendly and knowledgable staff that really cares about the animals, try to take care of all the animals they can

Cons: crowded and small

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Liralen
Flag
Rating: 5

A great shelter

posted 5 years ago

Seven years ago I adopted an adult tabby cat from the Central Missouri Humane Society, which I named Quincy. To this day I cannot understand how someone either gave up this wonderful cat, or was foolish enough to let him get lost (and then not to claim him!). Anyway, their loss was my gain, as Quincy is the most loving pet I have ever owned. I had a baby five months ago, and my fears that baby and kitty would not live well together were totally without merit, as they love one another! I have nothing but praise for this shelter and their staff. When I adopted Quincy I was asked questions about how I would provide for him, but I didn't think the questions were invasive or inappropriate. They called my landlord at the time to make sure pets were indeed allowed in my complex, but I had talked it over with my landlord ahead of time, so no worries there either. I am proud of my community for supporting this shelter on zootoo, and proud of the Columbia girls who have spearheaded the effort in our town!

Pros: I adopted my favorite pet from this shelter

Cons: Needs an update and more funding!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Laura B.
Flag
Rating: 3

A shelter that needs our support

posted 5 years ago

Without our support, this shelter might close and that would be very sad for animals in Missouri. I hope people continue to spread the word about this zootoo contest. If we won a makeover, it would be fabulous! Even if we don't, having city council see how many of us support the shelter might make them more willing to support it also.

Pros: The only open-door facility in the area

Cons: Very underfunded

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 ... | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 ... 109 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 65202

July 13, 2012 | By LindseyWolters

we have been very pleased with the care of our 5.5 year old Boston Terrier, Cali. She has boarded at My Zoo, had check ups, and a few minor surgeries. Dr. Deb and staff are very knowledgable, listen… more ›

April 29, 2009 | By diane h.

Gabe and Lily love you Dr. Deb! Your kind and gentle approach is greatly appreciated.

April 17, 2009 | By Nicole B.

We made boarded our parrot there once. At the time it seemed fine. The price was resonable and they really seemed to care about our parrot. We asked for her wings and nails to be clipped and they a… more ›