Service:
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 706 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
544 Results

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 ... 109 |

Tommytomlin
Flag
Rating: 5

Looking at Central Missouri Humane Society

posted 5 years ago

My wife and I have known the CMHS since the early 1980's when we adopted one of our pets from them at that time. The staff are a caring, loving group of animal lovers and put out a tremendous amount of effort to keep things clean, nice, and make it a nice place for animals and for those who come in wanting to adopt an animal. They have handled disposition of hundreds of animals from "puppy mills" that were shut down in outstate Missouri, with many, many adoptions resulting from the publicity generated.

Our current dog is also from the CMHS, although we didn't get her from them, but from an elderly lady who broke her hip shortly after she adopted the dog and was no longer able to care for it. She told us that she went to the Humane Society and went to the individual kennels and almost every dog was up front at the gate barking, but one dog was lying quietly back in the corner. She said "That's my dog!" and sure enough, "Indy" is a quiet dog. She does bark once in a while, with a bark that probably can be heard half a mile away, but 99% of the time, we don't even hear anything from her.

Thanks to CMHS and for a caring staff!! Hopefully, they will be able to expand to handle their current needs.

Pros: Staff really care about the animals and people who want to adopt.

Cons: Need more space for animals and staff. Staff can't do adequate customer service because of lack of space

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Samantha S.
Flag
Rating: 4

Close to Home

posted 5 years ago

I find this shelter very close to home not only physically, but close to my heart as well. I have gotten two of my dogs, or family members I guess, here and they mean the world to me.

First, my family and I fell in love with Boomer when we first saw him. At the time, we had one dog, Roxy (a basset hound), and decided it would not hurt to have another. The day we took him home, he was so nervous, it was obvious. But after we had him for a few days, he started to grow very attached to us and our dog Roxy. He is still very attached to us though he is getting older now, but we will always remember how much happiness he has brought us.

My second dog I got at this shelter was Eddie. Eddie was the best dog a girl could ask for...especially after losing Roxy only a couple months earlier. When we lost Roxy it made all of us sad, including poor Boomer who lost his playmate. But after seeing Eddie at this shelter, we fell in love instantly, took him home, and he became Boomer's new playmate as well as our new puppy that helped us move on after losing Roxy.

This shelter does a great job of matching dogs with owners and brings a lot of happiness to a lot of families because of it.

Pros: Close to home, and very friendly.

Cons: Needs to be updated.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Ruth O.
Flag
Rating: 4

Nice people, tight space

posted 5 years ago

I had a chance to visit CMHS several months ago. I had taken my dog out on the leash to potty before going to work because he was being ornery (it was drizzling out and getting ready to sleet). As my dog was peeing on a bush in the yard, a puppy jumped out from under the bush and tried to play. My dog has issues with other dogs, and doesn't generally take too well to strange dogs jumping in his face, so I tried to shoo the puppy away and took my dog inside. When I got him settled and stepped out the front door, the puppy was sitting on my porch, tail wagging. He had a collar but not tags, and was clearly not a stray. I brought him in, put him in a travel crate with some water and food, and left for work. This was about a 4 month old pup and I couldn't keep him, but didn't want harm to come to him. I took him to CMHS and specifically asked to be informed if he was not claimed in their time frame. They were very kind and although I found the owner and sent her to pick him up, know that he was cared for while he was lost. However, they were extremely cramped and really tried to get me to keep him because of their space concerns. I would have kept him but couldn't at the time.


Pros: The staff is friendly and seems to love the animals

Cons: limited hours and limited space

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Susan L.
Flag
Rating: 5

Maggie

posted 5 years ago

We adopted our dog, Maggie, from the shelter about 12 years ago as a puppy. She was a great addition to our family. There were so many wonderful animals to choose from, but she caught our attention right off. She is very loving and has adapted to the addition of another dog and a cat to the house in the last several years.
The staff was wonderful. Since she wasn't 6 weeks old when we picked her out, she had to stay for a few weeks. They let us come and visit whenever we wanted. We took our nephew to visit and he fell in love with her. The staff let us give her a bath before we took her home also. They were very accomadating to our needs.
Thank you CMHS for your dedication to the many animals in need in our community.

Pros: Staff is very knowledgeable and caring. Shelter is clean.

Cons: The building is way too small and very underfunded.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Discodivatracey
Flag
Rating: 4

Help the Central MO Humane Society

posted 5 years ago

I have had a lot of experience wit the Central MO Humane Society but I'm writing about my most recent. I went down there last week to get a dog. After filling out my paperwork and being aproved I went back to check out the selection. There are lots of animals there and not enough people to help you right away. Though they certainly try it is obvious that they all have a lot to do. I finally found someone, or I should say she found me. We left with all the necessary papers. Her vet records etc. I was impressed to find out that she had been microchipped. This is great since it should cut down on the number of return guests. The sheleter is old and they are definitly deserving of a make-over. The staff is all extremely busy but it is clear that they all want to be there. You help is greatly appreciated so that they can continue to help more animals.

Pros: Animals seem happy and their pens are kept clean

Cons: too many animals to get to and staff is all crazy busy

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 ... 109 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 65202

July 13, 2012 | By LindseyWolters

we have been very pleased with the care of our 5.5 year old Boston Terrier, Cali. She has boarded at My Zoo, had check ups, and a few minor surgeries. Dr. Deb and staff are very knowledgable, listen… more ›

April 29, 2009 | By diane h.

Gabe and Lily love you Dr. Deb! Your kind and gentle approach is greatly appreciated.

April 17, 2009 | By Nicole B.

We made boarded our parrot there once. At the time it seemed fine. The price was resonable and they really seemed to care about our parrot. We asked for her wings and nails to be clipped and they a… more ›