Service:
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 706 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
544 Results

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 109 |

Mmffcp
Flag
Rating: 5

Pest Place to Find a Friend

posted 5 years ago

I love going to this Humane Society. I have been to alot of them and this is by far the one with the most friendly staff and volenteers. I have gotten one of my cats, Kiba, and my dog, Loki from there. They not only made sure the animals were healthy before I brought them home, but the adoption fee included spay/neuter and microchips. Since our dog likes to run whenever she can get past us when entering the house, this was the best thing they could've done and it was something I didn't even know about till they told me. The staff was extremely friendly during the adoption process and made sure that we had the right animals before leaving. That made me feel good that they were honestly making sure the animals went to good homes. We found a lost kitten at a drive-in and took it there once, and they were very nice when we kept coming in to check on it until we found out it found a home. The cat lady in the cat room is the most friendly person I've met. She knows so much about all the cats personalities which was helpful in finding my forever friend. I would highly recommend anyone looking for a friend to visit this Humane Society and if you don't find them the first time, come back till you do.

Pros: Friendly staff, Cat lady (love her), clean

Cons: Alot of animals in need of homes

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Nancy B.
Flag
Rating: 4

Adoption Means Never Having to Say "Good-bye"

posted 5 years ago

As a human member of the adopted society, I know first hand what it feels like to be abandoned, rejected, loved and connected to a family. Twelve years ago, Sadie a mixed breed breed bassett hound was dumped out on a country road and found her way to my home. She is not an attractive dog, she is kind of clumsy and she is not a lap dog as she weighs 75 pounds. But Sadie would walk through fire for some petting and what a great guard dog. She would never harm a stranger but she lets them know she is the protector of the property and her people. She has always been an outdoor dog and has a heated pad in the garage, but this winter with her arthritic condition worsening, I have brought her in the house and I have seen a puppy-like playfulness exhibited that I never saw before.

This week I am planning to adopt a puppymill Maltese that I am naming Lucy which name means "light". I hope to bring light back to her sad eyes and for her to experience in her last remaining years (she's 8) love, comfort, and to know she is in the home where she belongs as a member of the family.

I encourage responsible, committed dog lovers interested in adoption, to research the right breed of dog/puppy for their home and lifestyle, then take a tour of the Central Missouri Humane Society in Columbia or go to their website to view the current animals in the shelter. I'm sure there is a dog waiting just for you.

Pros: The staffy really care about the animals

Cons: Need more staff for the amount of animals, crowded housing conditions

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bonnie E.
Flag
Rating: 5

Love in afur coat

posted 5 years ago

This is the most caring facility for love.
People need love and it's there at the Columbia Humane Society in the form of an animal. Big eyes, smiles from ear to ear and paws you can hardly wait to hold. If only they had a facility that was worthy of them. We all have tried so hard but we now need to look for more help.
We are blessed to have people that work with their hearts giving to each animal love and return the animals are well adjusted and can hardly wait to be loved back. With the help of the Columbia Humane Society we have had Cubby, Winston, Cupcake, Jackson and Logan. Logan was a real person wearing a little cat suit. He through himself at you and he was so happy to see you. When we are sick or just hurting the cats are there laying paws on you to heal our wounds. They are not just cats but our family. Their love is given to us unconditionally. The Humane Society in our will and we send money regularly. The facility is old and needs help . It is my sincere hope that they receive the money. They really need the money not to look neat and tidy but to have room for all the animals and we need for them to be successful. I just loaded up sheets and towels and took them over to the Humane Society for the animals to use. Needless to say that is not enough.
Animals are our friends and we can only hope that through Zootoo we can get our animal friends better homes.

Pros: Everyone is caring, loving we've gotten 5 cats from them !

Cons: They need money badly to help the animals!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Christina P.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great shelter & well deserving of the makeover!!!

posted 5 years ago

I encountered CMHS a little over a year ago. I adopted my dog, Carson, from there. I instantly wanted to become involved @ CMHS.

I took the volunteer orientation and visited a few times. Sadly... between my work schedule, my own menagerie of pets & personal commitments, I was unable to keep up with volunteering during regular business hours.

I think of the folks @ CMHS often. They take in SOOOOOO many unwanted animals - strays, drop offs, puppy mill dogs. If I remember correctly, it's around 4500 animals per year!!! I can't even imagine the work & dedication that involves. Their "Shelter Me Program" has allowed me to still help out even though I can't physically be there. It's quite convenient.

The best part for me (of course, I am biased) is my best friend, Carson. He had been at CMHS for a couple of months & participated in the fostering program. This put him a step ahead in my book. He had even been on TV as a dog available for adoption. The folks at CMHS made darn sure that I was going to provide Carson with a good home. I had never adopted a dog before, but I can now say that I will never go back to buying pure breds. There are just too many companion dogs waiting.

I will always support CMHS in any way I can. They are truly doing a fantastic thing for the animal community!!

Pros: Strong community support, active in fundraising, pet fostering program, show animals on local daytime tv program, clean shelter, hard workering employees

Cons: In desperate need of financial help & reorganization

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Reidlinger
Flag
Rating: 5

Lost & found

posted 5 years ago

When T-Rex the wonder cat was killed by a car in 2007, i couldn't stop crying for 5 days, my heart was in a millon pieces. Then I thought I would honor his memory by saving another cat's life. What a wonderful idea this turned out to be, because that is when I first met Chedder. Cheddar was a huge 23 pound orange tabby, who looked as heart broken as I was. He was a two time loser, this was his second time at CMHS, one family had taken him home for about a year and then had to give him up. He wouldn't even come up to the front of the cage, I knew in a flash I wasn't leaving there without him. He's like a big gentle giant, he has sealed the cracks in my heart. I can't thank Patty and all the other angels enough who work at the Columbia Humane Society, sometimes angels don't have wings they walk among us. If any place desires this wonderful honor it is them, I can't beleive they have held on this long with no money and over crowding, because they turn no animal away, I bless god for them every day.

-- additional:

[updated on 2009-02-23 20:15:46 GMT]:
We must win! WOW! Save the Animals!

Pros: Angels work there

Cons: Bldg in very, very bad shape, don't know what's holding it up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 109 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 65202

July 13, 2012 | By LindseyWolters

we have been very pleased with the care of our 5.5 year old Boston Terrier, Cali. She has boarded at My Zoo, had check ups, and a few minor surgeries. Dr. Deb and staff are very knowledgable, listen… more ›

April 29, 2009 | By diane h.

Gabe and Lily love you Dr. Deb! Your kind and gentle approach is greatly appreciated.

April 17, 2009 | By Nicole B.

We made boarded our parrot there once. At the time it seemed fine. The price was resonable and they really seemed to care about our parrot. We asked for her wings and nails to be clipped and they a… more ›