Service:
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 706 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
544 Results

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 109 |

ozy b.
Flag
Rating: 5

CMHS helped me lose weight!

posted 5 years ago

In summer 08, my kids, wife, and I decided to adopt a pet. We wanted a yellow labrador retriever. Naturally, we visited CMHS to find our more info about pet adoption and pet care in general. Our family never had a pet before (other than a Beta fish given to us by a family friend in 2006).

The staff members at CMHS were very helpful in answering our questions. We finally picked Bruno as our new dog. The first month was rough for all of us since Bruno is a very active dog with a strong attachment to us. He gets separation anxiety so easily that he turns into chewing stuff he is not supposed to. CMHS staff answered our questions during this transition period for us and Bruno. They also put us in contact with Bruno's foster mom who cared for him for a couple of week. We learned a lot more about Bruno's characters from the foster mom.

I took Bruno for a walk one day and found the activity to be very refreshing. So I started taking Bruno on a longer walk along the Bear Creek trail and around our neighborhood. By Summer end, we walk on average of 4 miles a day during week day, and 6-12 miles a day on Saturday or Sunday. I just love walking, and now I have a buddy to go walking with me. One time we walked the Bear Creek trail all the way from Oakland park to Cosmo park, and back. It was fun. As the result, I have lost more than 15 lbs since Bruno came. The weight loss program with Bruno has been a blessing, since in July 08, my doctor told me that I may be pre-diabetic. Her only recommendation for treatment: diet, exercise, weight loss. By October, I am off the pre-diabetic state ..... back to normal again! So that's what this big hairy furball of goofiness has done to me! :-) Thanks Mr. B! And Thanks CMHS for bringing him to us.

-- additional:

[updated on 2009-03-02 16:02:29 GMT]:
Last Sunday I took Bruno walking the Bear Creek trail again. There is a construction and a segment of the trail is now closed. We walked as far as we could and had to turn back. The trail is located just behind the shelter. So on our way back, Bruno and I stopped by to see the dogs being housed in the outside kennels. These dogs are usually new comers who are not yet ready for adoption.

It was heart-breaking to see the conditions some of these dogs are in. One dog has flea infestation and open wounds. If we don't have an open-door shelter like CMHS, dogs would have died in short time because they have nowhere to go.

The shelter was still closed at 10 AM when we were there. A staff member, a nice young lady, came and greeted us. She wanted to know if there was anything she could do to help. I said we were just stopping by to see how the shelter is doing. I told her Bruno was adopted from the shelter too. She said there are people who would come and leave animals tied outside the shelter, and she wondered if I planned to do the same. I said no, Bruno is not going anywhere ... we were just finishing our Sunday walk. She sounded happy with my answer and the condition Bruno was in, and Bruno looked happy to see her (I wonder if Bruno knew her).

Pros: Great and friendly staff.

Cons: They need a better building with bigger play area for pets.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Molly W.
Flag
Rating: 3

Needs Help!

posted 5 years ago

The Humane Society use to be a great place. Today however there are two many people who are getting paid. It is suppose to be volunteer work not a profession. The shelter is too crowded and the animals who get adopted end up at a veterinarain clinic within a few days because they are sick. There use to be a lot of people who donated to the Humane Society in Columbia but now with the economy declining so are the donations. The Central Missouri Humane Society needs a face lift on the outside and inside...I mean those who work there. Remember VOLUNTEERING makes you feel good and when others see you volunteer they realize what a difference you are making and they too will volunteer. So stop with the paychecks and help out.

PS>>>> BECOME A NO KILL SHELTER!

Pros: Good selection of animals and typically good help

Cons: To many people getting paid, very old, and dirty

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Dogsrsuper
Flag
Rating: 5

Open door shelter

posted 5 years ago

I started visiting the CMHS in 1994. I was in college and missed my dogs back home so badly. I would come into the shelter to relieve stress and get some 'doggy time'. Before I'd go to the shelter, I'd walk through the sorority house and ask "Who wants to play with the dogs?". I'd get a couple friends together and we'd go for a visit. Back then we could just go back to the kennels, grab a leash and take whoever we wanted out into the unfenced backyard for a walk or playtime. The rules have changed a bit now. They have official volunteer classes and the backyard is fenced with some other smaller fenced play areas.

My husband and I have adopted 3 awesome dogs from CMHS so far and we are so thankful! The service has always been great. We have also found several stray animals over the years and have had to drop them off at the shelter. I am terrified of the thought of CMHS closing it's doors. We live out in the county and I can just imagine all the animals that will be deposited out on the county roads if people feel there isn't another alternative.

The one thing that hasn't changed over the years is the building. They have painted a few times, but they haven't been able to make any significant improvements to the facility. I've talked to many people and asked them why they don't think of going to the shelter to adopt. The most common responses are that they think the building is depressing and they don't think they can find quality animals. I'll admit, it isn't the most pleasant place. Fresh new kennel areas, isolation wards to keep the bulk of the population healthy, brighter lights, better ventilation, less overcrowding of kennels- this would all improve the adoption rates at CMHS. A quality building would go a long way towards changing the public's perception of the incredible animals that can be found at CMHS!

Pros: will take in all animals, caring, clean

Cons: the building is outdated

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Nicole
Flag
Rating: 4

Putting people with pets!

posted 6 years ago

I love CMHS! This shelter takes in every animal that is brought through its doors, which is sometimes up to 70+ animals a day!
For the most part the entire staff is very knowledgable and more than willing to help. The shelter is oftern times very busy and a little short staffed so the wait to be helped is a little long but keep in mind that the longer the wait=the more animals that are being processed (adopted!!).
This shelter is good at sending animals to local breed specific rescues and great at placing animals in foster homes if need be. Animals in need of a home have a great chance of being placed into their forever homes through CMHS!

Pros: Knowlegable, helpful, very good intentions!

Cons: Sometimes too busy...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Samantha C.
Flag
Rating: 5

Hmmm...

posted 5 years ago

i love what the humane society is doing because i LOVE animals. but my attitude changed towards them when my chihuahua got out of the fence and ended up in the neighborhood next to mine. the gentleman who found her was great, but when it was up to the humane society to notify me that they had found our dog, it was one of the worst days of my life. they left a message on the answering machine and so i rushed down to the shelter to get her. when i got there i asked them where i could find her and they had no idea what i was talking about. at this point i was a mixture of angry and worried and broke out into tears. i stood at the shelter for over an hour before the lady who called my house showed up. she then proceeded to tell me, my mom, and my aunt (who i had called to come help me) that she had never called my house. it took an additional 30 minutes of conversation before this woman had her memory jogged and said "oh yeah, i did call you." i was so mad i had to walk outside. then everyone else working in the shelter magically seemed to know the exact dog that i had been looking for the past 2 hours. luckily my dog was fine and had just wandered over to the next neighborhood, but that is probably the most panicked i have ever been.

Pros: have gotten several pets from

Cons: questionable

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 109 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 65202

July 13, 2012 | By LindseyWolters

we have been very pleased with the care of our 5.5 year old Boston Terrier, Cali. She has boarded at My Zoo, had check ups, and a few minor surgeries. Dr. Deb and staff are very knowledgable, listen… more ›

April 29, 2009 | By diane h.

Gabe and Lily love you Dr. Deb! Your kind and gentle approach is greatly appreciated.

April 17, 2009 | By Nicole B.

We made boarded our parrot there once. At the time it seemed fine. The price was resonable and they really seemed to care about our parrot. We asked for her wings and nails to be clipped and they a… more ›