Service:
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 706 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
544 Results

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 109 |

Ellen T.
Flag
Rating: 5

Doing the best they can!

posted 5 years ago

I love CMHS! As a worker/volunteer I get to see what happens on the inside, so I know they're doing the very best they can. The shelter tries to take every animal given to them, but they are often so cramped that they ask the finder to keep the animal for a few days as it is usually better for the animal. All the staff is very knowledgeable about every animal and it's needs. They are also pretty organized/fair with their adoptions and animal care.

You can tell the workers love each and every animal in their care; they work really hard to find homes for them and get paid minimal wages for their efforts. The CMHS staff takes good care of all their animals; they try to walk them every day and bathe them often. There are so many though, that sometimes it's impossible to get to each one.

The only thing that I really disagree with
is the $20 drop off fee. I see it as: hopefully/usually the reason you would drop off an animal is you can't afford to keep it any more, so why would they be able to afford 20 more dollars? I actually think more animals are being abandoned in the streets because of that requirement. In their defense the reason it was instated is because the government isn't paying them adequate amounts for all they do. Also they have all the Missouri puppy mills working against them. They can't afford all those animals even with all the fund raising they do.

In conclusion CMHS is doing the best it can, but it desperately needs your help. Help us climb the rankings in order to raise up to $1,000,000 to keep CMHS doing what it does best. Thanks so much!

Pros: hard working, knoweledgeable, friendly staff/ cute, loving animals/ low adoption cost/ mandatory free or low cost spay and neutering/ small euthanasia percentile

Cons: $20 abandonment fee/ run down shelter

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Charles W.
Flag
Rating: 4

CMHS introduced me to some of my best dogs.

posted 5 years ago

When my wife and I met Altai for the first time at the Central Missouri Humane Society, he made us an offer we couldn't refuse.

He ended up at the shelter after his previous owner relinquished custody due to her husband's repeated abuse of the dog and his intensifying threats to kill the animal. It seems that this was the environment the puppy had grown up in throughout his entire first year of life.

Following a visit where we took him outside into an exercise run for a bit of fresh air and some socializing, as we turned to leave, he howled at us. In our minds, and we are admittedly goofy like this, he seemed to like us and when we heard his story..... well, need I say more. So, we decided to rescue him.

Altai is a very striking, blue eyed, red and white Siberian Husky. Although he was very timid when we first brought him home he has a really sweet temperament and a great personality. He's an incredibly loving and sensitive dog.

It took no time whatsoever for our other Husky , Yana, to let him know that she was the boss (of him at least). He reluctantly agreed to this arrangement and has settled in nicely. The two have forged a strong bond. He quickly learned to secretly defy her when she isn't looking. It works out well for him.

Now, in fact, he constantly tries to sleep in my spot on the bed! I guess I knew that would happen. Besides, what kind of self respecting dog wouldn't do stuff like that. He's forged a strong bond with us too.

Anyway, he's stuck to us and we're stuck to him. Things are going swimmingly.

The Central Missouri Humane Society carries on despite gross disparity between the funding they receive and the services they offer. A large portion, if not the majority, of their funding is derived from donations and various fund raising events. Operating out of terribly outdated and over crowded facilities against seemingly impossible odds, the staff and board of directors charge ahead putting their best foot forward.

Altai is the second dog that I've rescued with the help of CMHS. I can not imagine what my life would be like were it not for the companionship I have received and from both of those animals. The joy brought into my life through those relationships is undoubtedly due, in no small part, to the caring people who work so very hard to keep the doors open and the lights on at 616 Big Bear Boulevard. They don't do what they do because of status, fame, glamor or pay. They do it because they care about the welfare of animals. A noble cause indeed.

Thank you CMHS! You save far more than just the lives of of unwanted animals.


Charley Waddill

Pros: Caring staff and Board of Directors, great services.

Cons: Antiquated facilities, underfunded programs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Itoolovedogs
Flag
Rating: 5

Did you know

posted 5 years ago

DID YOU KNOW THE CENTRAL MISSOURI HUMANE SOCIETY IS THE CHIEF RECIPIENT OF ANIMALS CONFISCATED FROM BREEDERS BY THE DEPT. OF AG.? WHEN THE CHIEF INVESTIGATOR CLOSES DOWN A BREEDER OPPERATION HE BRINGS THE VAST MAJORITY OF THE ANIMALS HERE. LAST WEEK THEY RECIEVED 19 OUT OF 38 DOGS FROM NORTHERN MO. SEVERAL WEEKS AGO THEY RECIEVED 11 DOGS FROM A LOCAL BREEDER, MANY OF WHOM WERE PREGNANT AND GAVE BIRTH TO 23 ADDITIONAL PUPPIES. DO THE MATH AND THE FACILITY CAN EASILY BECOME OVERWHELMED. YET THE STAFF CONTINUE TO DO ALL THEY CAN TO CARE FOR THESE ANIMALS, MANY ARE FOSTERED BY THE STAFF UNTIL THEY ARE ABLE TO BE ADOPTED. THE STAFF GO TO GREAT LENGTHS AND PERSONAL EXPENSE TO SEE TO IT THAT THE ANIMALS HAVE GOOD HOMES AND THE BEST CARE POSSIBLE. THEY TRULY NEED OUR HELP.PLEASE DO WHAT YOU CAN TO SEE TO IT THE THEY ARE AWARDED THIS TERRIFIC MAKEOVER, AS THEY ARE MOST ASSUREDLY DESERVING!!

Pros: THE STAFF DOES EVERYTHING IN THEIR POWER TO HELP THESE ANIMALS

Cons: THEY HAVE SUCH LIMITED SPACE AND RESOURSES

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Dave M.
Flag
Rating: 5

I volunteer here

posted 5 years ago

I used to work here, and I still volunteer and do fundraising for them. This shelter is so underfunded; they serve most of the state of Missouri and are the only open-door shelter for dozens of counties, yet depend almost entirely on donations, as they are a private, not-for-profit entity. A lot of people around here confuse them with Animal Control, which is a city utility and tax-funded, since Animal Control and CMHS share a building and often cover for each other's phones, etc, but they are two separate services.

I've adopted two animals from CMHS and brought in many strays over the years. CMHS desperately needs this shelter makeover. Their building is ~40 years old and falling apart. They have had to resort to intake fees for dropping off strays, limiting their hours and days of the week that they're open, and housing multiple animals in single-animal kennels because there is simply no place else to put them. The staff works so hard but they just can't keep up with all the animals with the funding that they have. The city of Columbia is trying to help, but as I said before, a lot of people just do not understand that CMHS is not tax-funded and relies on private donations and grants.

Please help the Central Missouri Humane Society by donating, volunteering, and helping them earn points here on this website. Their website is www.cmhspets.org and their phone number is (573) 443-3893. You can also email them at staff@cmhspets.org.

Thank you for reading my review!

- Dave Muscato
Founder, Some Of My Best Friends Are Furry
www.sombfaf.org

mail@davemuscato.com
(573) 424-0420 cell
(888) 424-0420 toll-free

Pros: Great staff

Cons: UNDERFUNDED!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Angie C.
Flag
Rating: 4

My experience

posted 5 years ago

While in the process of adopting a few months ago I spent a lot of time going in and out of this facility. A staff member looked my information up wrong and accused me of owning a Pit Bull, a Pointer and a Mastive that was picked up and brought in to them. I told them that I once brought in 3 strays that looked like pit bulls but that I'd never owned the dogs they spoke of. This staff member also loudly spoke of the dog that I had that got hit by a car (as if that didn't bother me more than it bothered her). Of course this held up my adoption, which was not a problem, but I felt our discussion should have been private as the room was full of people who could hear what a bad person I was (or that she was making me out to be). I was also in line waiting there another day and overheard another staff member pretty much call a man a liar because a few of the pups in the litter he brought in looked like pit bull mixes. Again the room was FULL of people and I could tell that the man was really embarrassed. I saw the pups and believed he could be telling the truth... Any way for the most part the staff there is great, work really hard and are there for the sake of the animals. I have been working hard to help them win a new building. Hopefully it will be large enough to deal with the people customers in a more private fashion. As it turned out the staff figured out that they were looking at my information wrong and they apologized and I adopted my dog. But I have to say that the day that my case was discussed in front of all those people I walked out in tears, very hurt and very frustrated. Most people wouldn't have went back, but I felt I needed to clear my name and I really wanted to adopt from CMHS. Most people that walk through your doors care a lot about animals, or they wouldn't be there. Even if they are bringing in a litter that they didn't mean for their dog to have (which I have never done). The people who don't care are the ones that will come out to the country, where I live, and dump them on a gravel road. Please don't assume the worst out of people, you may be wrong.

Pros: Very hard working caring staff

Cons: Some of the "passionate" staff members can embarrass the people customers

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 109 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 65202

July 13, 2012 | By LindseyWolters

we have been very pleased with the care of our 5.5 year old Boston Terrier, Cali. She has boarded at My Zoo, had check ups, and a few minor surgeries. Dr. Deb and staff are very knowledgable, listen… more ›

April 29, 2009 | By diane h.

Gabe and Lily love you Dr. Deb! Your kind and gentle approach is greatly appreciated.

April 17, 2009 | By Nicole B.

We made boarded our parrot there once. At the time it seemed fine. The price was resonable and they really seemed to care about our parrot. We asked for her wings and nails to be clipped and they a… more ›