Service:
Rating: 4.6

Average rating from 84 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
67 Results

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 14 |

Ecosmom
Flag
Rating: 3

Needs You

posted 5 years ago

My husband and I just moved into our first house and I was so excited to finally be able to adopt a dog! Our first stop was the Animal Welfare League. I've been to many shelters and have even worked in one. I've never cried walking through a facility but I cried like a baby walking through this place. The room the dogs are kept in was literally the most depressing place I have EVER been.

The dogs have nothing but cement and a stainless steel bowl for water. No bedding, no chew toys . . . just nothing. All they hear is the constant barking of their hopeful neighbors.

I fell in love with one Pit Bull Terrier and asked to visit with her. The staff took us into a tiny cement room with just a thin little rope around this poor dogs neck. Of course all the dog did was choke itself on this rope. The dogs nails were so long I couldn't believe it. I wondered if it had even seen a vet while it was there. You could tell the dog NEVER got out for walks due to it's behavior in the room. It was out of control and not for attention from humans but for a little fake leaf it found on the floor.

I'm not trying to say this facility doesn't care but maybe it's trying to do too much. In taking on too much perhaps the care is lacking in certain areas. A makeover could certainly help get this place on the right track.

Needless to say my husband and I drove to a shelter in Huntley, IL. It was a 2 hour journey for us and was very well worth it. We now have a seven month old Amstaff.

Pros: Helps a ton of animals

Cons: perhaps too many animals

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Animalkid
Flag
Rating: 3

Shelter Review

posted 6 years ago


I think the Animal Welfare League really needs a make over!!!!! There are about a hundred dogs there, and also many cats, a few birds, and some rodents. The people there are nice and they do all they can for the animals, but there are few or no volunteers there, and as you might guess it is very hard for them to meet all the needs of every individual with all the work they have to do. The shelter needs more space and better kennels for the dogs and a good cat room for the cats.


-- additional:

[updated on 2007-12-04 23:43:45]:
I forgot to mention that the Animal Welfare League also has a low-cost vet care program, which includes spay/neuter surgeries. So even low-income families can afford good care for their pets.
If the shelter were to get an extreme makeover, then it would also be able to expand its clinic, as well as its kennels and cat areas.

Pros: The Animal Welfare League is a no-kill shelter trying to find homes for the many animals that reside there

Cons: It is very over crowded and dirty

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Julia G.
Flag
Rating: 5

Willing to give ferral kitten a chance

posted 6 years ago

Last year a litter of kittens were trying to live in my father-in-laws truck, under the hood. We were able to only trap one of them before the mother cat moved them to another location. This was one little wild ball of fur. We had to wear welding gloves. I didn't know what to do. The people at Animal welfare league said they had people that worked with the cats to socialize them and said it would be given a chance so they could find it a home. They were so nice. I left a small donation and I was sad for the kitty, but it was better off. I just kept thinking what the truck could have done to them if he didn't put a stop to them living under the hood.

Pros: very nice peoplen

Cons: none

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

teri m.
Flag
Rating: 5

Truly an Animal safe haven

posted 5 years ago

I can't say enough about an animal shelter that doesn't turn away any animal. They are a safe haven to all animals, I saw a little billy goat there when I was looking for my kitty. They've saved so many unwanted disgarded pets and given second chances to strays I hope that they're able to make 2009 a banner year by securing the makeover they need.

I searched all over for a shelter that would take a Stray kitten that was pregnant I found. PAWS and many other cat rescues simply told me that they didn't have room. I could have taken her to Chicago Ridge but I know that they're over crowded. I decided to have her spayed and deflead myself and with the help of a lot of good friends I found a great home for Fiona.

Anyone in the area that can help them out with some hours of service or by dropping off some items on thier wish list can be sure that they're making a difference in some down on thier luck animal's lives.

Pros: They accept all drop offs, health care provided, helpful and knowledgable staff and volunteers

Cons: They need more space, better space utilization, financial aid and a MAKEOVER

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

LauraJ306
Flag
Rating: 5

Love comes in mysterious packages...

posted 5 years ago

I adopted two of my four pups from the Animal Welfare League. I was looking for a German Shepherd when I got Magnum. He was about 8 weeks old when I got him. He was labeled a Shepherd Mix - close but not really! I love him anyway! He has gone through obedience training and is very excited about agility! I have found great joy in this little mixed breed and wouldn't trade him for any other in the world!
Majesty was brought home when my daughter decided she wanted a pup of her own. He is labeled a poodle mix but I don't see any evidence of a "mix." He is very "majestic" and very serious yet silly! I am his "Granny Ma" and he is "Granny Ma's Boy." He is hilarious as he is the smallest of the four dogs in the house yet he holds his own and can be a little bully when he gets in the mood.
I applaud Animal Welfare League for their commitment and when I retire, I will be their biggest volunteer! Although I may try to take every dog home...

Pros: Friendly and knowledgable staff

Cons: Wait can be long for vet care

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 14 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 60415

March 12, 2009 | By DeannaS

Dr. J is a sweet caring vet. My father has used him for years with his dogs. I brought my cat there right before she passed. He was so caring and honest. It's small but very clean and reasonable.

March 11, 2009 | By Kathy M.

My dog Colby tore his ACL and needed rehab after surgery. Pawsitively Heaven Pet Resort was recommend by the vet and one of the ladies that works at my vet. I was so upset that my dog was not better a… more ›

March 8, 2009 | By Jean H.

This is a great facility. None of us want to leave our pets behind, but when you have to, this place is great!