Service:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 130 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
99 Results

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 20 |

Kenzie K.
Flag
Rating: 5

Thank you to DRHS staff, volunteers and all other supporters

posted 5 years ago

First off, Congrats team on 7th place... keep going!
Second, I am greatly proud to work for DRHS, although we dont always have enough space or are sometimes breaking at the seams... we make it through every day. Thanks to our over 500 volunteers, each and every animal gets one on one attention and love. With a small staff, we get things done the right way, we support each other and give helpful advice. Just so everyone knows, you are the reason we make it. Without our volunteers, supporters and public, people here wouldnt enjoy their jobs as much as we do and days would be much harder to get through. Granted we have a small place, we do our best to find all of our animals loving homes. To anyone who asks, i would proudly recommended DRHS if you are looking for any pet.. from a dog or cat, to a snake, to a goat, we have seen it all and send as many as we possibly can to loving households. So again, thank you to everyone who has helped out!

-- additional:

[updated on 2008-10-01 02:26:29 GMT]:
Number 7 out of over 3000 shelters now... good work team, keep it up!!

Pros: Friendly environment, Healthy happy animals, an amazing volenteer/staff team

Cons: Not near enough space

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Gabrielle Diane G.
Flag
Rating: 5

The Friendliest Place to Adopt From..

posted 5 years ago

I am part of the staff at the Dubuque Humane Society and I love my job! I enjoy the atmosphere that I work in. Everyone does their best to get anyone and everyone adopted. i love that I work enough to get to really know the dogs... It is always nice whenyou can walk into a shelter and the staff knows what they have and aren't just looking out of a book to see what the temperment of the dog is or how they would act in certain environments. I personally can say that I think that I know most of the dogs that step foot in that place I get ot know on a certain leverl that I think would help to match them to their future, permanent home. I love to work with everyone and having the animals there jsut makes it that much better. The Dubuque Humane Society is one of the best places to adopt from, not only because we are so friendly, but becasue we all work very hard trying to get to know everything that walks through that door so gthat we can find them an awesome home to live out the rest of their years. However long or short that may be! I love the Dubuque Humane Society!!

Pros: Great environment to work, with friendly co-workers..

Cons: Not always enough room for the animals... We need more space..

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Amanda K.
Flag
Rating: 5

I am a repeat customer

posted 5 years ago

I adopted my first black cat from the Dubuque Regional Humane Society a few years ago. I have always owned cats going back to my childhood but we had always gotten free kittens in the newspaper. I decided to try to the Humane Society because it just seemed convenient to have all the shots and the spay/neuter all included. My sons and I began our search for the perfect pet on the humane society's website. We had a few choices narrowed down by the time we walked through the door. It was very nice to be able to sit down in a small room alone with our pet candidates to see how we all got along. My sons were also very proud that not only were we getting a new pet but they were that cats heroes, saving them from a lonely owner-less life. An additional bonus was that for a very small additional fee, we were able to have our cat microchipped so that he would never be lost again. I also found it very helpful that you are provided a brief history on each pet at the shelter. They lay it all out on the line for you, the pros and cons of the animals there; you are given the info to make an informed decision on whether or not an animal is a good fit for you and your family.

When my family and I decided to adopt another cat, there was no second-guessing. We headed right back to the Humane Society. There was one twist we did not expect. The Humane Society was having a "Better With a Buddy" special. This was basically a buy one get one free sale! In retrospect, I think this was an extremely ingenious plan. I do not know what kind of planning and negotiating went into the special with the area vets, etc. You got all the benefits of the adoption including the shots and the spay/neuter for both animals but for the same price as just one. I had NO intention of coming home with two more pets but I did and have never regretted it. In turn, two animals were saved that day instead of just the one I intended.

Pros: Convenient hours, convenient locations, friendly and helpful staff.

Cons: The shelter was located a little bit off the beaten path but that has been made easier by the addition of the Kennedy Mall location.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Ann L.
Flag
Rating: 5

I'm proud to work at the DRHS

posted 5 years ago

I've worked at the Dubuque Regional Humane Society for over 5 1/2 years. I'm proud of what we accomplish every day, month, and year with our small staff. We take in over 5,000 animals, have over 11,000 volunteers hours already in 2008, and have reached almost 6,000 kids through our Humane Education programs this year. We also investigate over 500 cruelty/neglect cases every year. Our Mall Center has a retail center, dog training area, "real life" rooms that feature dogs, and cat condominiums. If you're in the area, come and by and visit us!

Pros: Compassion staff dedicated to helping over 5,000 animals a year.

Cons: Not enough space for all the animals

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

KariLynn123
Flag
Rating: 5

This is an amazing place

posted 5 years ago

The Dubuque Regional Humane Society deserves this makeover. As you see they take in over 5,000 animals a year from owners, and that is not counting the animals they find as strays or that are lost. We got our first dog from the shelter 10 years ago- they were very helpful with helping us make our choice!
We recently took in 5 puppies into the shelter because we could not find home for them and I knew that the shelter would be a perfect place because they could find loving homes for them.
But as I walked into the shelter, I realized that they are running out of space, the cats need more room to play and of course the dogs. The Dubuque Regional Humane Society does so much for our community, they deserve this and not only does the shelter and its staff deserve this makeover but the animals do.

-- additional:

[updated on 2008-12-05 00:50:39 GMT]:
GUYS.. were in 8th place!!!!!!!!

LETS GET MORE POINTS!!!! :)

Pros: Amazing staff, amazing animals, amazing place

Cons: They need more room for all the animals they take in

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 20 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 52003

May 24, 2009 | By Midwestwoman

I have been taking my cat and dog to Key West Animal Clinic for a year and a half since I have lived in Iowa. I have been satisfied with Kim Bergfeld. Her partner is not as good with people as she i… more ›

March 4, 2009 | By Stephanie O.

Great for kids BDay Parties and Pool Parteis! Not a lot of activity and things for the kids to do other than swim..

March 3, 2009 | By Wendy W.

The rooms are good size and very clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The swimming pool area is great!