Service:
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 92 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
46 Results

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 10 |

Julie B.
Flag
Rating: 5

Above the call of duty

posted 7 years ago

This shelter provides stray, abandoned, unwanted, sick, injured and aggressive animals a safe and dry environment and regular meals and water when society has given up on them.

Adoptable animals are given a second chance with an affectionate and caring staff, and animals that don't make out, spend thier last days fed, watered, and cared for.

This is a government shelter, and is the ONLY stray animal shelter in Kalamazoo County. It is also the ONLY Animal Law Enforcement agency in Kalamazoo County.

Stop in and take a look. You just might find your next best friend.

Pros: Humane Law Enforcement

Cons: Government budget = they need a lot of donations

69 of 72 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Blawrence
Flag
Rating: 5

A very caring shelter

posted 7 years ago

The Kalamazoo County Animal services staff are the most caring and dedicated group of people. The job they do every day is very difficult. They work in a shelter that is too small and outdated. They have, however, made it as nice and comfortable as possible for the animals, as well as the public. They need more community support to help reach their goal for a new state of the art shelter. Thanks KCAS for all you do!!!

Pros: the staff

Cons: none

69 of 72 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Buniesrbest
Flag
Rating: 1

Very helpful caring people

posted 6 years ago

very nice people work here.
we lost our cat and the shelter was very
conserned that she was lost.
they were more than happy to put our info
on our cat in their computer system.
they even found a cat that almost matched her
description and asked if the picture was her.

Pros: helpful caring people

Cons: small space for animals to be in

39 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kittyluv
Flag
Rating: 5

Open your hearts

posted 6 years ago

I volunteer on Weds nights with SOS to take pictures of the cats. It is enjoyable to know im doing what i can to help these wonderful cats find loving homes and that i am assisting Animal services. Everyone that works there on a daily basis have one of the hardest jobs there are. I dont think they get the credit that they should. It is hard to know that most of the animals that come thro there are put to sleep, but I know the staff does everything they can to help them find homes instead. Some day I hope to know that with the new shelter that maybe less will be killed and more will find good homes.

Pros: Friendly , helpful staff

Cons: Small and cramped

35 of 35 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Petlovr
Flag
Rating: 5

Volunteer work

posted 7 years ago

I am an Adoption Counselor volunteer. I volunteer once a month on a Wednesday evening. I love volunteering at the shelter! The staff and other volunteers are always friendly and cheerful, and the animals love it when we take them out of their cages and cuddle with them or take them for a walk in the hallway. The animals like to show off for people too. The saddest part of volunteering is knowing that many of the animals, if not adopted, are put to sleep. The staff at the shelter try their hardest to get the animals homes. They contact rescues, fosters, and other shelters, but sometimes the rescues and other shelters cannot take the animal. As a volunteer, I help people as much as I can with finding the right animal for them to adopt. I increase my knowledge on the different breeds of dogs by doing research on the internet. I love it when someone adopts an animal that is on the critical list. It just makes me happy to know that the dog or cat that was going to be put to sleep, probably the next day, will be going home to a loving family instead.

Pros: very clean, animals are well cared for, friendly and knowledgeable staff and volunteers

Cons: knowing that some of the animals there will end up being euthanized

32 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 10 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 49048

December 19, 2007 | By Jessa S.

I had a female german shepard mix spayed here and it only cost $55. They have wonderful pricing and very caring staff.

November 26, 2007 | By Maflanery

Bone Appetit Bakery makes their own treats in house. You buy a pail and then can refill it at a reduced cost each time you visit. My dog LOVES the treats! The toys and accessories are wonderf… more ›

November 15, 2007 | By Ed and Laura P.

we went to this store a couple of times and the staff never even ackowledged us being there they were very rude and snotty and the place is a mess and smells awful