Service:
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 80 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
75 Results

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 15 |

Jeri J.
Flag
Rating: 5

Almost Thirty Years I have known you!

posted 5 years ago

Over 15 yrs ago we made plans and even collected some funding for the dog runs behind the shelter. Other needs took over and the plans were dropped so it really delights me to know the dream was not forgotten. Fresh air and sun is the best cure the lonely boys and girls need while waiting for their forever home and I hope every one works hard with the voting so we can really improve our services to them. We worked very hard with the PAT A PET Program going to schools and rest homes having a lot of fun, educating many and giving the animals a day away from the cage. I hope more people volunteer to help Linda in that project. It is sooo much fun and just a few hours a week. I commend all the shelter help both paid and volunteer as they seem to give 100% in their efforts. Bless you all and keep it up. Jeri J.

-- additional:

[updated on 2009-04-12 17:18:36 GMT]:
Just another shot of the work Frendship Animal Protective League has done. Sooo often full with adoptions slow, available folks have housed animals till the public viewing space was available. They need more space and more publicity for their good works.
[updated on 2009-04-13 21:41:23 GMT]:
One of the most fun rescues I ever photographed for the APL was Mrs. McMuffin. The Manager of McDonalds called one lunch time and was frantic as a cat was having babies right under his dinning room window. His customers were between frantic and being grossed out over their lunch. Humane officer was busy elsewhere so Director ClaireK went to the rescue. After we got mom got fattened up and all were healthy they were all adopted. So many of our rescues have been sad so it was a real gift seeing this one.
[updated on 2009-04-13 21:47:21 GMT]:
Just want to make a correction on the rescue of the McDonalds Cat. She was Mrs. Mc Muffin and her Nuggets.
[updated on 2009-04-16 05:19:49 GMT]:
Pat A Pet Program is one of the programs The APL has done to help the community. Going to schools, educating children about spay and neuter and answering their sometimes odd questions. Teaching kindness not cruelty. Sharring the joy of pet ownership is a reward in itself. If you have time please sign up for this fun program.

Pros: Always attempting to serve the people as well as pets.

Cons: Many times as disorganized as I am. Yet always faithful to the main goal. Helping animals

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Dawn W.
Flag
Rating: 5

I Got My First Kitten From The Friendship APL

posted 5 years ago

I went to the Friendship APL looking for my first kitten. I already owned an adult cat that I had for a year or so and decided he needed a friend, other than me.
I always seem to be drawn to orange kitties and decided that's what I was going to get.
I entered the building and was given a tour as to where everything was, dogs, cats, etc. A volunteer walked me through and showed me where all the kittens were.
Unfortunately I found 2 and could only afford 1. It was a VERY difficult decision, but I made my choice and never regretted it.
All of the cages were very clean, everyone had water and food. Everyone looked to be cared for; clean, healthy and comfortable.
I have sent several people to the Friendship APL and I always encourage people to look there first when looking for a pet.

Pros: Wonderful Staff

Cons: Too many to choose from!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Tdempsey84
Flag
Rating: 1

They turned my mom away....

posted 5 years ago

My mom loved her Honey very very much. My mom was renting a house that ended up being forclosed. The owner wasn't the real owner & my mom had to move out. She had to stay with a friend in an apt. & no pets. She tried to find friends they would take her for awhile until she could get her back or find a good home for her. Which ever came first. She had no choice but take her to this place. THEY TOLD HER THAT THEY HAD NO ROOM AT ALL. SHE ASKED THEM WHAT WAS SHE TO DO? THEY TOLD HERE THAT THEY DIDN'T KNOW BUT THEY WOULD LET HER KNOW WHEN A KENNEL WOULD BE AVAILABLE. This was roughly about 10 years ago.

Pros: It has been known to help animals with care

Cons: Mom needed to give her dog up & they said no room.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lori Y.
Flag
Rating: 5

The Friendship APL

posted 5 years ago

The Friendship APL, as with probably most APL's, helps as many pets as they can. It is just a shame that they cannot help each and every pet that requires help. It would require a gigantic effort in order to do that. With that being said, they do a wonderful job in helping the animals and with bringing people in need of animals together with animals in need of people. My husband and I do what we can on small scale but to do what they do on a large scale is a real chore and I am grateful that places like these exist. Great job to the Friendship and APL and all animal shelters and to those who help out on their own.

Pros: Help a lot of animals

Cons: Cannot help each any every animal

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

cathy h.
Flag
Rating: 5

The Dog Day Afternoon @ Vermillion River Reservation

posted 5 years ago

This was a great event, it was nice to socialize Blackie with other lorain county dogs, after she got over her lease issues (she is used to go to rocky river dog park where she runs freely). I was really excitied that Blackie got to see her friend Pat from the Friendship APL, we showed off how well adjusted she has become after being adopted. Thanks again to all the Friendship APL volunteers for takening such good care of these animals!!!

Pros: Socializing

Cons: wished the Friendship APLs table could have been bigger

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 15 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 44035

March 14, 2013 | By Sixxe11

MBR is a small group of volunteers that work on a fostering system. They are funded solely by adoption fees, donations, and fundraising events. The group regularly pulls dogs from kill shelters that w… more ›

May 21, 2012 | By Xfileluv

MBR is an all-volunteer group that truly puts animals first. They work tirelessly to find forever homes for the dogs in their foster care so they can go immediately to county pounds and kennels and br… more ›

February 2, 2012 | By Jonesbd27

This is a great rescue organization that cares so much for all of the animals and does great work. Amy and the the endless volunteers are a great asset and the outcome of adoptable pets is incredible.… more ›