Service:
Rating: 3.6

Average rating from 20 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
18 Results

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

nanette C.
Flag
Rating: 3

They Try...

posted 5 years ago

This organization started many, many years ago. They were, at one time the leading rescue organization in our area. Sadly, in the past year or so they have been plagued with internal politics. They have struggled to manage the influx of cats they take in. They should only take in (according to local vets) about 60 cats and they often can be found with triple that amount. This has caused them to have extensive vet bills due to cross-contamination of health issues.
Yet, for the most part their hearts are in the right place. They are trying to save animals lives - they simply lack the professional business management to run more like a business and less like an animal warehouse.
Also, they are very closed to offers for help - they seem to want to do things on their own. They ask for money to help them accomplish their goals - but a lot of that money goes to paying people to work the facility because they can't seem to keep volunteers.
We do wish them well and hope that they will have a successful 2009. If we can help - as we have offered before - we will.

-- additional:

[updated on 2009-02-06 00:36:47 GMT]:
ABOVE AND BEYOND!!! I would like to give credit where credit is due - I recently learned of the SPCA going above and beyond to save the life of a dog that was beaten in the head with a hammer and left to die on the side of the road. When it was brought to the SPCA the first reaction was that this puppy was too far gone. However, one of their leaders took the pup home and nursed it back to health. I recently saw this dog, now named "Chance" for it's chance at life - which it wouldn't have received where it not for the efforts that went above and beyond.
CHANCE is a lovable and playful 4 month old pup that wouldn't be here if it weren't for this shelter taking the time and money to give it a second chance for life.
It is often easy to point fingers at other shelters - and judge them - for this, my apologies.
It just goes to show that we don't often know what goes on in another shelter unless we are there and experiencing it first hand.
While there may be differences between shelters - Chance reminds us that it is about the animals and not the people - other than the people that are helping the animals.
So to all at the SPCA JOB WELL DONE!

Pros: They try to do the right thing

Cons: They often get in over their heads by taking in too many cats.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Tim  L.
Flag
Rating: 3

Getting it together

posted 5 years ago

We adopted a dog from there several years ago. We knew of the dog and were looking for her when we found her there.
The people we dealt with at the that time were reasonably friendly but, not tooo sure of procedures.
Since then, they HAVE received a lot of bad press. Warranted or not, who's to say. I PERSONALLY have seen a decline in the quality of customer service, the quality of volunteers and the lack of interest in even review volunteer applications of the last few years.
However, they have now (hopefully) resolved their political issues and are on the road to a more succesful times. I know some of the new board members and I am confident that they are right for the changes needed.
I will add, that I have NEVER witnessed any intentional mistreatment of any animals in this shelter. I have always seen nothing but the utmost concern for the animals. As, far as them taking in "too many", it was just in an effort to try and save them and get them into homes.
Good Luck SPCA, and keep up the good work.

Pros: They have good animals

Cons: Well...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jane M.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great experiences!

posted 5 years ago

I have adopted two dogs from this SPCA, one in 1/2003 (Britney); and 12/2008 (Benny aka Bounty). The staff was always very helpful to me, making sure my new addition got along with the older one. Benny came home with us while still on medication (my choice) for a bacterial infection and the staff made sure all his meds and vet visits were taken care of. I know not all volunteers/community service people can know everything about every pet in there. I talked with many of the staff about my guys before I brought them home. I commend all of the VOLUNTEERS for taking the time and effort to keep the SPCA running as smooth as it does. Many of them hold full time employment in addition to volunteering. I go visit when I can, and try to bring a donation, and take a dog for a walk, and I know, as little as it is, it is appreciated. Three cheers for this caring place and its wonderful volunteers!! The animals love you!

Pros: Caring staff, hours, helpfullness

Cons: Space

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Alissa
Flag
Rating: 5

Excelent

posted 5 years ago

I volunteer here every week and I more than love it. I love all the board members and volunteers here. It is so much fun playing in the yard with the dogs, teaching them new tricks and training them also playing with the cats in the huge lanai! They need this attention while they wait for their forever homes. I just wish I could take them all home!! Doggie licks and kitty purrs are truly rewarding for me and make my day so much happier. I've been reading some of the reviews on how the "volunteers" here aren't helpful nor friendly...BUT that's because those aren't "volunteers" those are community service workers. Sometimes they don't do what they are politely asked to do. Sometimes they do their own thing not listening. Please don't take this personal, ALWAYS ask whoever is up front at the desk for help.

-- additional:

[updated on 2009-04-14 15:11:01 GMT]:
add our myspace!

www.myspace.com/hernandospca

Pros: I volunteer here

Cons: community service people aren't helpful

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Sue A.
Flag
Rating: 2

SPCA not for us.

posted 5 years ago

We adopted a dog from here a few years ago. We found everyone very helpful and friendly. We had to take our dog back to have her spayed and shortly after she died. She seemed to be very healthy prior to but we only had her a few short days. She was very listless after the spaying and never recovered. We never returned after that incident.

Pros: Friendly and helpful staff

Cons: Hours could be better, don't care for spay service

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 34613
Rating: 5

Kern Mike Dvm

April 9, 2012 | By Peggyp408

We have been with Dr. Kern since around 1996 and would never see another veterinarian. He is very knowledgeable and caring, the best ever! We will follow him wherever he goes!

Rating: 5

Kern Mike Dvm

February 5, 2012 | By Tooltip

Dr. Kern treated my Gt Dane till she passed. I'm hoping to get another one & wouldn't trust anyone else. he's the greatest. I would like to know where is he practicing....no distance is too far f… more ›

Rating: 5

Kern Mike Dvm

January 15, 2012 | By Melody10

Dr. Kern is no longer seeing clients at Animal Care Center, his clients can contact him at 727-597-0668