Service:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 189 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
152 Results

1 ... | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 ... 31 |

Karen R.
Flag
Rating: 5

What a Great No-Kill Shelter

posted 5 years ago

The Humane Society of the Nature Coast has been around for many years. Way back in 1980, I got my first dog there. She had been living at the shelter for more than 6 months. It is amazing that this wonderful no-kill shelter maintains its no-kill policy after all these years. The staff are well versed in all things pet related and are very helpful to those looking for a special pet. The pets that live there temporarily are loved and they feel it. Please don't buy a pupppy mill dog.. go to the Nature Coast Shelter and find the perfect dog or cat for you.. it will make room for another abandoned pet until they are adopted too.

Pros: Pets Stay Until Adopted

Cons: Need More Space

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

M M.
Flag
Rating: 5

Our Shelter

posted 5 years ago

Before moving to Hernando County five years ago, we lived in Pinellas where we volunteered at the local Humane Society. When we learned that the Hernando location might close, Rick Chaboudy, the head of the Pinellas location at the time, set up several field trips to the Hernando location to help the staff clean up and get organized. We participated in several of those missions and were so pleased with what they accomplished. Now, as a local resident, I am so proud of the way the location is managed and kept up. I am also pleased that the community has become so much more involved. Although many factors contribute to our inability to volunteer our time to the shelter, we make sure to donate as much money as we can every year. We know our money could not go to a more worthy cause.

Pros: Love, Love, Love

Cons: Lack of space and modern facilities

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

MichaelTomlinson
Flag
Rating: 5

Hurricane shelter is a great idea

posted 5 years ago

The Humane Society of the Nature Coast has stated that they plan on rebuilding the facility to a CAT3 hurricane shelter as part of their make over.
As a FEMA disaster home inspector I have not only seen the devastating toll on pets that the lack of a shelter can create; but I have been in homes where people have been injured or died because they could not evacuate with their pets. Rather than leave their pets behind to face a tragic future, these people chose to stay with their pets. A CAT3 pet shelter is indeed the greatest gift that you can give to a hurricane prone community.

Pros: Convienent

Cons: Far too small

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Shadow H.
Flag
Rating: 5

Its come a long way

posted 5 years ago

I have volunteered and worked as assistant manager of The Humane Society of the Nature Coast and would recommend anyone interested in adopting a pet to this facility. It has made great strides in an effort to continually improve the facility and it's ability to welcome the many animals that need a temporary home till they find a permanant loving family to adopt them. Everyone involved is dedicated to the well being of each and every animal. I sure hope the Humane Society wins the Extreme makeover or continues to receive the support from our community to continue to grow.

Pros: Takes care of each and every animal with love and compassion

Cons: Sometimes has to turn animals away for lack of space.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

renate b.
Flag
Rating: 5

Brooksville Humane Society

posted 5 years ago

This shelter has become a model of what shelters should be - well run, clean, cooperating with other rescues to get as many animals into forever homes as possible.

I've never seen people work so hard to place animals in good homes as the folks at the Humane Society of the Nature Coast in Brooksville do.

I hope they are soon able to expand to help even more animals, so none have to go to kill shelters any more.

Pros: A wonderful, caring group of people helping dogs and cats

Cons: Not enough room for all the animals in need - but working on espanding

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 ... | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 ... 31 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 34603

April 14, 2009 | By Alissa

They are wonderful and very helpful. If you cannot afford shots for your pets or spay/neuter services, please go here the prices are truly amazing, you'll save a lot of money.

April 2, 2009 | By Armymom318

Dr Ned is great with birds. I took my parrot there to have his wings and nails clipped. He took his time and my bird wasn't afraid of him.

March 13, 2009 | By tina s.

I have been going to petluv for some time now. I have taken a few people there to have their animal fixed and have received shots for my dogs there as well. They have great prices and friendly people.… more ›