Service:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 189 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
152 Results

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 31 |

Patermo1030
Flag
Rating: 5

Thank you for adding to our family

posted 5 years ago

We brought our 4 and 3 year old children to get another dog, when we got to the Humane society, we were greeted by friendly staff and waved in to go see the dogs. We were shown a dog that had been rescued from animal control, they had named her Michelle, we instantly fell in love with him. Her playful spirit, her loving licks, everything about her, said this was our new dog. We came home to pick up our other dog Bailey, the Humane Society has a meet and greet policy for hte dogs...brought Bailey up there to meet Michelle, it was a instant hit. We adopted Michelle and brought her home...to our delight she was house broken (the shelter wasn't sure) and she was already fixed (again the shelter wanted to be sure). She has fit right in, with minimal adjustment period. I can not thank the Humane Society of the Nature Coast enough for taking care of us, and helping us add to our family. Michelle is now Shadow, which I almost think was her name before because she instantly took to it. Thank you again.

Pros: Very friendly, and proactive.

Cons: there weren't any

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jo-Anne P.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Shelter with great supporters

posted 5 years ago

Our county has a very high percentage of animals in the county shelter for a fairly low population. Hence a LOT of great animals are put down on a weekly basis. We adopted our dog from the county shelter, but looked several times at the Humane Society of the Nature Coast for a pet prior to finding Junior. Every pet adopted from the Humane Society opens up a place to save one more pet from the county shelter and almost certain destruction. The people are dedicated and hard working and care so much for the animals. And they don't shy away from the hard cases when it comes to choosing which pets to save.

Pros: No kill policy

Cons: Not enough room for them all

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Beverly B.
Flag
Rating: 5

A Wonderful Shelter!

posted 5 years ago

I've been volunteering at the shelter for nearly 1-1/2 years and found there just isn't enough room for all the animals who need temporary homes in our area. This is a great shelter and very deserving of a makeover so that more animals can find new forever homes. Our Executive Director, Joanne Schoch, spends endless hours working on behalf of our little shelter. She and the Board of Directors constantly come up with new ways to raise funds for the shelter. Our volunteers do everything--from cleaning, yardwork, dog-walking, TLC for cats and manning the phones in the office, and they do it with the hope that one day we can have a really nice, big shelter to serve our area. We are proud of our Humane Society and all the effort that goes into making it the very best.

Pros: Helpful, caring staff and volunteers

Cons: Not big enough; needs a makeover

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

AlicieLee
Flag
Rating: 5

Care about their pets

posted 5 years ago

I have several "throw away dogs". My daughter recently went to the shelter to adopt a acat. Well, a Dog out in the kennels "spoke" to her husband and they took home a Beagle Mix Dog instead. The people at the Humane Sociwety were more interested in making sure this pup had the "right" home rather than just another adoption. Dennis actually walked the dog all the way to their car - did not just hand them the leash and say bye. He wanted to make sure the dog was not traumatized by his quick exit. My daughter first thought this was unusual and then realized it was ALL ABOUT THE DOG. These people love their homeless animals and only want what is best for them. Thank you Dennis and your Staff for making sure that Beagle Mix pup found the "Right Home".

Pros: Take their job Seriously

Cons: None

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bettyabaja
Flag
Rating: 5

Most deserving shelter

posted 5 years ago

This is by far the most deserving shelter I have ever seen. Moving to the area from Ft. Lauderdale, (where the Broward County Humane Society has a multi-million dollar facility), I was astonished by the lack of funding and proper facilities for the Humane Society of the Nature Coast. They really do their best to make due with what donation they receive, but are severely lacking proper facilities and space. The county they are located in is very rural, but has the unfortunate rank as one of Florida's most foreclosure ridden counties with the highest unemployment rate in the state. So in essence, you have a rural area, not much funding nor donations, with large amounts of people losing their homes and/or jobs, no longer able to take care of their animals, relinquishing them to this shelter, which in turn, has limited space and funding, and not much of a pool of possible adoptive families. It's a vicious cycle. Help them break it!

Pros: Very caring staff

Cons: Dogs are housed outside; eventhough they are covered

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 31 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 34603

April 14, 2009 | By Alissa

They are wonderful and very helpful. If you cannot afford shots for your pets or spay/neuter services, please go here the prices are truly amazing, you'll save a lot of money.

April 2, 2009 | By Armymom318

Dr Ned is great with birds. I took my parrot there to have his wings and nails clipped. He took his time and my bird wasn't afraid of him.

March 13, 2009 | By tina s.

I have been going to petluv for some time now. I have taken a few people there to have their animal fixed and have received shots for my dogs there as well. They have great prices and friendly people.… more ›