Service:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 189 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
152 Results

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 31 |

Erin S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Contribution to our Community

posted 5 years ago

My husband and I adopted Hershey in January 2009 and Chester in August 2009. This shelter was the last one we stopped at because it finally had what we were looking for. We had been to other shelters where the dogs didn't seem like they were really cared for besides the very basics. We had also gone to shelters where no one would help us and they didn't know anything about their animals. At the Humane Society Nature Coast they were very honest with us about which dogs needed a lot of running room, which ones needed to be the only pets in the house, and which ones were okay with children. It was obvious that they love their animals very much. We were initially concerned that adopting Chester, our three-legged dog may have incured additional medical expenses or complications and their volunteers had explained how everything had already been taken care of for him. We couldn't love our dogs more. They bring joy to our household and it wouldn't have been possible without the help of our friends at the Humane Society in Brooksville, Florida!

Pros: Helpful and honest staff

Cons: They need more room for more animals!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

mary h.
Flag
Rating: 5

The best place from which to adopt

posted 5 years ago

How do I begin? This has got to be the greatest shelter in Central Florida if not all of Florida. It's clean, open and even smells good. All the cats and dogs are well fed and attention is paid to each and every one. They definitely are not treated as animals.

The staff is extremely knowledgeable and are very conscientious when a potential adopter visits. They don't just get rid of the animals but each one goes to a "forever" home and some come back just to visit and let the staff know how they are doing. You can see the joy in every adopted animals face.

How do I know? I have 18 adopted cats and, now with Cramer adopted today, that makes 19. Enough said!

Back stories on each cat to come.

Thanks for your time,
msmh10

Please come visit our shelter. You too can find a friend for life.

Pros: Everyone and everything

Cons: Shortness of money to expand

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Joyce L.
Flag
Rating: 5

Nature Coast is PAWS above the Rest!

posted 5 years ago

Some of my pets became members of our family because they were strays that we took in. However, the majority of our pets over the past 50 years have come from animal shelters. I have visited many shelters and also volunteered in several of them. I can honestly say that I have never seen a more caring group of staff members and volunteers as the ones who help support and maintain The Humane Society of the Nature Coast, Inc. It would be mind-boggling to see what these people would do if they only had more space and could win the makeover! No other shelter, no matter how big or small, is more deserving than this one. The cats and dogs who temporarily reside there are loved and cared for, so much so in fact, that they might not even want to be adopted (lol!). I can just imagine them thinking to themselves: "hey, we've got it pretty good here, why should we ever leave!" If you're lucky enough to be selected as a forever family prospect by this facility, you can be guaranteed that you will take home a pet that will love you unconditionally and bring many years of comfort and joy into your lives. After, all, that's what the facility does for these pets, so why shouldn't they want to return the favor!

Pros: Caring Staff

Cons: Not Enough Space

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Roscosdad
Flag
Rating: 5

Need more space!

posted 5 years ago

I believe that most folks who are involved in this service industry are hard-working and dedicated to the welfare of pets but the people at The Humane Society of the Nature Coast go above and beyond every day to serve the needs of the homeless pets in our community. They are dedicated foremost to the pets but they also reach out to the community in ways to help educate in order to curb cruelty and control the population. The facility is old but the staff and volunteers work hard to keep it clean, safe, and cheerful. They spend time with the animals to ensure they get enough exercise and companionship, so vital to keeping them healthy and getting them ready for their new forever homes. These folks are tops! They deserve a makeover so they can expand their efforts and save more lives.

Pros: Great staff and volunteers

Cons: Too small to serve the community needs

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Shsailorman
Flag
Rating: 5

Great place for homeless animals

posted 5 years ago

If I could give this shelter a 10, I would! They have turned an almost bankrupt and run down facility into something we can be proud of. I admit that there needs to be renovations, but you can only do your best with what you're given. They have made some dramatic changes over the past few years. I am glad I could help them with some of these changes. As a former builder I know what it takes and what it costs to do all that is needed.

I have met with Joanne on several occasions and toured the shelter over the years to see this shelter grow and develop innovative programs to help people as well as animals.

I am so happy to see that they are working so hard to win this contest. They sure deserve it and so do the homeless animals they rescue. What a wonderful opportunity this is for them.

I urge everyone to pitch in and help with this campaign. They've got my vote.

Pros: Healthy and Happy Animals. Clean. Caring and Compassionate Staff.

Cons: Very Old and In Need of a New Building

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 31 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 34603

April 14, 2009 | By Alissa

They are wonderful and very helpful. If you cannot afford shots for your pets or spay/neuter services, please go here the prices are truly amazing, you'll save a lot of money.

April 2, 2009 | By Armymom318

Dr Ned is great with birds. I took my parrot there to have his wings and nails clipped. He took his time and my bird wasn't afraid of him.

March 13, 2009 | By tina s.

I have been going to petluv for some time now. I have taken a few people there to have their animal fixed and have received shots for my dogs there as well. They have great prices and friendly people.… more ›