Service:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 189 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
152 Results

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 31 |

Hank1
Flag
Rating: 5

Channel 10 Coverage

posted 5 years ago

<object classid='clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000' codebase='http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,0,0' width='320' height='305' id='embeddedplayer'><param name='movie' value='http://gannett.a.mms.mavenapps.net/mms/rt/1/site/gannett-wtsp-3313-pub01-live/1.80/immersiveplayer/immersive/client/embedded/embedded.swf'/><param name='allowFullScreen' value='true'/><param name='allowScriptAccess' value='always'/><param name='scale' value='noscale'/><param name='salign' value='LT'/><param name='bgcolor' value='#000000'/><param name='wmode' value='window'/><param name='FlashVars' value='playerId=immersiveplayer&referralObject=1068358808&referralPlaylistId=19ef553b178cf268ca5e9bb8e1ee73b5d0832d01&adServerBasePath=gannett.gcion.com/adrawdata/.0/5111.1/506954/0/0/header=yes;cc=2;cookie=info;alias=&adPositionId=video_prestream&adSiteId=video.wtsp.com/&gpaperCode=gntbcstwtsp&marketName=Tampa Bay, FL&division=broadcast&pageContentCategory=video&pageContentSubcategory=immersiveplayer'/><embed type='application/x-shockwave-flash' src='http://gannett.a.mms.mavenapps.net/mms/rt/1/site/gannett-wtsp-3313-pub01-live/1.80/immersiveplayer/immersive/client/embedded/embedded.swf' id='embeddedplayer' pluginspage='http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer' menu='false' quality='high' play='false' name='immersiveplayer' height='305' width='320' allowFullScreen='true' allowScriptAccess='always' scale='noscale' salign='LT' bgcolor='#000000' wmode='window' flashvars='playerId=immersiveplayer&referralObject=1068358808&referralPlaylistId=19ef553b178cf268ca5e9bb8e1ee73b5d0832d01&adServerBasePath=gannett.gcion.com/adrawdata/.0/5111.1/506954/0/0/header=yes;cc=2;cookie=info;alias=&adPositionId=video_prestream&adSiteId=video.wtsp.com/&gpaperCode=gntbcstwtsp&marketName=Tampa Bay, FL&division=broadcast&pageContentCategory=video&pageContentSubcategory=immersiveplayer'' /></object>

Pros: Million Dollar Make over!

Cons: Million Dollar Make over!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Diana  M.
Flag
Rating: 5

A wonderful group of people at the Humane Society of the Nature Coast

posted 5 years ago

I really don't think there is a more deserving facility to receive the makeover. The staff and volunteers truly love the animals and take such good care of them. The facility desperately could us a makeover. This is a no kill shelter. Pets are not just handed over to would be owners, the whole family and family pets have to do a meet and great to make sure it is a good fit for the Humane Society's babies and for the prospective family.
The dogs are walked and played with by volunteers on a daily basis and the cats have an air-conditioned building and screened in facility connected to it if they want to go out. Volunteers also play with the cats on a daily basis.
The only funding they received is from donations in the community.
I feel proud to say I am a volunteer at the Humane Society of the Nature Coast.
Joanne and Dennis have done an extraordinary job with the facility and keep working like the energizer bunny to make it the best it can be.
Ninety five percent of the animals who come to the shelter are adopted and some stay as long as it takes to find the right owner.


-- additional:

[updated on 2009-01-14 00:18:02 GMT]:
This shelter is truly there for the animals. The shelter is very clean, the animals are treated with love and kindness. The staff is dedicated and knowledgable and the volunteers truly want to be there. I am one of the the volunteers and I would not be going to help out if I did not feel so strongly about what Joanne and her staff have done and are doing for homeles and neglected pets in Hernando County.

It's a wonderful shelter which could take in many more animals with a makeover.

Pros: The care is excellent, the staff and volunteers are loving and take wonderful care of the animals on a shoestring. They are a no kill shelter.

Cons: The facilty needs updating in a bad way, they rely strickly on donations from the community to keep the Shelter going. But is this really a con or a pro because anyone associated with the Humane Society is dedicated and gives 100%, I am vounteer and love working with the people and especially the dogs and cats.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Sherman H.
Flag
Rating: 5

What a truly deticated group of people

posted 5 years ago

I am the president of a non-profit organization that has been working to help Humane Society of the Nature Coast for several years with donations of supplies and funds to help this very deserving organization care for the many pets that are in need. The staff of Nature Coast are top notch and are truly concerned about the pet population in their surrounding area. If they would get a much needed make over, it would give them more space and enable them to take and care for, more animals in need of care and adoption.

-- additional:

[updated on 2009-01-21 16:23:53 GMT]:
I have recently had a tour of the Humane Society of the Nature Coast and saw what needs they have and the dedication of their staff first hand. Even though the non profit organization that I am president of has donated money and supplies to Nature Coast over the past two years, I had never seen their facility until last weekend. They work miracles with the animals in their limited space. They have out grown their current facility and could use more kennels etc. They have more request to help dogs &amp; cats now than they can accomadate. If it weren't for the volunteers that take animals home for foster care, many would be turned away to be put down.
The animals in their care are truly lucky because they get the needed care and love that they need and deserve until they find a permanent home. Nature Coast also provides training to thier dogs before they are adopted. I had never heard of a shelter that provided this service and it is great because they already have some basic training before they go to their new home which makes them adapt to their new owners and surroundings much better.
Their Director said in an interview that the sucess the Nature Coast has had is not due to her and that she only has a "big mouth" She is wrong. She not only has a big mouth, but a big heart and her efforts are what has helped the Nature Coast Humane Society achieve big steps in a small county.

[updated on 2009-03-04 15:27:58 GMT]:
The staff here are the most caring of any animal shelter that I have been envolved with. The facility is small in size but big in its caring.

Pros: The staff are truly concerned about the well being of animals and finding a loving home for stray and unwanted dogs & cats.

Cons: They have a run out of space to keep and care for all the animals that are in need of help.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

101andcounting
Flag
Rating: 5

What a Wonderful Place

posted 5 years ago

I have lived in Florida for over 25 years and have watched the Humane Society grow. It used to be that no one even knew it was there. Now they are doing such a good job promoting the animals there that everyone knows who they are.

In the past few years the Humane Society has gone through a big change. The cat house went from having all the cats in cages to letting them live free in a remodelled building. The building is still very old but they really fixed it up. I hated it see the cats in cages. They are much happier now.

The kennels are really old and need to be replace, but they are kept so clean and it was redone with new heat and plumbing work. They built a nice new fence and animals aren't thrown over like they used to be.

The last time I was there they had a new sidewalk. I am really glad for that because I am older and it is easier for me to walk now.

Most of all I like the people there. You can see how hard they work to take care of the animals. The last time I was there a dog got adopted and everyone was crying they we so happy for the little dog. You would have thought they were giving up their own dog. You can tell they love them.

I hope they win the makeover.

Pros: Very loving and devoted staff and volunteers. Spotless.

Cons: Old deteriorating buildings that need a makeover

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Alison L.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Shelter

posted 5 years ago

We were interested in adopting a puppy that would become a larger dog. We visited the Humane society in Brooksville on Mobley Road and found a litter of Shepard Chow mix puppies that we fell in love with. The staff was very professional and interviewed us to make sure that their shelter dog would go to a prepared and qualified home. During the interview they educated us on what to expect from our puppy and about our responsibilities to our new puppy. After finding out that we have another full grown dog at home, they set up a meet and greet at the shelter between our dog and the new puppy. This went over very well and helped our dog get used to the puppy before bringing him home. All of the care and dedication that went into our adoption is what I would expect from the best shelters that want their adopted pets to go to qualified homes that will successfully integrate their new pets into their families.

Pros: Excellent Staff and Volunteers

Cons: N/A

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 31 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 34603

April 14, 2009 | By Alissa

They are wonderful and very helpful. If you cannot afford shots for your pets or spay/neuter services, please go here the prices are truly amazing, you'll save a lot of money.

April 2, 2009 | By Armymom318

Dr Ned is great with birds. I took my parrot there to have his wings and nails clipped. He took his time and my bird wasn't afraid of him.

March 13, 2009 | By tina s.

I have been going to petluv for some time now. I have taken a few people there to have their animal fixed and have received shots for my dogs there as well. They have great prices and friendly people.… more ›