Service:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 189 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
152 Results

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 31 |

Bill P.
Flag
Rating: 5

No-Time-Limit Shelter Needs More Space!

posted 5 years ago

The Humane Society of the Nature Coast has been around for a long time (since 1964), providing a home for those pets needlessly thrown to the streets. The caring and dedicated staff spend a great deal of time, effort, and resources making sure each pet receives the attention he/she deserves. Keep in mind that they are not funded by any local, city, or state entities; all monies to pay for everything are through donations from generous pet lovers and occasional pet-related grants. This is through good times, and most recently - the bad times. The dedication and resourcefulness really shine through to make a donation-driven-only shelter operate so well.

The problem is - our county has grown exponentially over the years. The shelter has made improvements when possible; however they (and our homeless pets) would greatly benefit from a larger, more state-of-the-art facility.

They attempt to do a great deal of education on spay/neuter, yet between the SPCA, Humane Society, and our local Animal Services, there are occasions where pets have to be turned away due to overcrowding. Too often, pets are euthanized, which should never be an option. Luckily the Humane Society is a no-term-limit shelter, so they'll always have a home until they find the right humans.

While it's awe-inspiring to know that some shelter - somewhere - will get this makeover, and the local homeless animals will be the ultimate beneficiaries - it would be awesome to see such a great organization, the Humane Society of the Nature Coast, receive such an amazing gift. It would undoubtedly be whole-heartedly appreciated and put to good use, not only for now - but for generations to come.

Pros: Very caring and dedicated staff; community participation and education; tireless dedication to animal welfare.

Cons: Our county has grown tremendously in population, yet the shelter has not.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

ReallyLuvmypets
Flag
Rating: 5

Respect for All

posted 5 years ago

In the spring of 1998 my teen daughter and I drove out to the Humane Society of the Nature Coast to inquire about bringing some wild cats we had roaming in our neighborhood in for adoption...three hours later we left the facility awed and forever changed in our beliefs at what a shelter should and could be. The people at the Society of the Nature Coast actually cared what happens to animals they have on their premises whether they are there for a short stay or for years. As a dog lover, I was never one who cared too much for cats but Nature Coast changed me forever. I was amazed at the knowledge of the *cat lady* and the cleanliness of their *cat house.* They had a small bungalow which was cozy and an immaculate habitat for a variety of cats who existed in happy harmony. Some cats had been their briefly others for a long time but each had a story and a name and a history! The staff knew these animals!! The dogs were bright-eyed and active, healthy with tails wagging...even the shy ones had a gentle tail wag when a staff member would speak to them...you could tell quite easily all of these animals felt safe and secure. Too make a very long story short my daughter ended up volunteering at the humane society until she left for college. She experienced the *behind the scenes operation* of the shelter and ended up REALLY knowing the caring people who give so much each and every day. She would come home daily with a variety of stories of what she had experienced. She learned a great deal from each person connected to the shelter. Everyone she came in contact with, whether it was the director of the shelter or the veternarians who assisted the staff were caring, and knowlegable about the needs of all of their *furry* residents! She loved her job whether it was scouring and cleaning, feeding the animals or making sure each resident of the cat house had exactly what was needed. Eventually she began accompanying staff as they visited schools and organizations to promote the shelter. I truly believe what she experienced by working with the kind and loving people at the shelter helped her in life. I know our lives were enriched by meeting and knowing the wonderful staff and volunteers at Nature Coast. By the way we ended up keeping ALL the cats we were originally going to turn in to the shelter! They were taken from the streets and given residence in our home and one by one became a part of our family!

Pros: Enthusiastic and caring staff

Cons: Too little room for so many animals in need

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Dennis S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Yes we can

posted 5 years ago

No shelter can exist for long without the time, love and dedication of their volunteers and the Humane Society of the Nature Coast is blessed with so many who share the hard work, the sadness and the extreme joy of of seeing one of ours go home, because no matter how much love and affection the shelter can give they are so much better in a loving home.

No shelter can exists without the financial support of the community of which they serve and the Humane Society of the Nature Coast is blessed with those who appreciate the work being done there. With their donations of supplies and money they continue to carry the shelter through difficult times.

No shelter can exist without the care and devotion of its' staff, not just those who say they love animals but those who in their action show it every day and the Humane Society of the Nature Coast is blessed with a small but dedicated staff who know no bounds when it comes to those in their care.

VOLUNTEERS - DONORS - STAFF a group effort dedicated to saving lives now coming together to grow and save even more.

Pros: Those that care

Cons: space limitations and having to decide who comes in and who doesn't

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Nancy H.
Flag
Rating: 5

Most Deserving Temporary Animal Home

posted 5 years ago

The Humane Society of the Nature Coast is probably the most dedicated to the health, happiness, and hope for the animals of any shelter that I have ever seen. Joann Schoch and her staff are truly giving from their hearts. They always go above and beyond to try to do their best to help any animal. But, with their limited space, the number of animals they can help is limited. In the economic downturn, they have been inundated with animals that people just can't afford to keep. The staff must turn away many animals due to space constraints. It breaks their heart when that happens because that animal may not have a pleasant future. By encouraging foster homes, they have been able to help a few more, but those aren't always availble. The Humane Society of the Nature Coast truly needs more space and they have worked hard to try to make that happen. But, they need more help. Please give them your vote.

-- additional:

[updated on 2009-02-28 00:13:27 GMT]:
If everyone would care as much about animals as Humane Society of the Nature Coast does, there would be no need for their service. They go above and beyond to help man's best friends and other animals.

Pros: Aminals recieve love, respect, and hope

Cons: Shelter way too small and inadequate

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bonnie K.
Flag
Rating: 5

This is a very caring shelter

posted 5 years ago

This shelter has grown over the years and is now in dire need of more space. The adoption rate is high, with a low return rate, which indicates that the staff is very careful placing pets in homes. They want to be sure it is the right home for both the pet and the humans involved. This shelter also works very closely with the community, the local animal services and other pet rescue agencies. Twice a month they have other pet rescue organizations on site with their pets available for adoption. They also have a food bank program that allows needy familes to keep their pets at home by providing food through a voucher progam with other relief organizations in the community. Community eduction is very important at this shelter, and there is a wonderful dog training school on site. This school offers reduced fees for animals adopted from the shelter, and also is working on a program to have every shelter dog at least basic obedience trained.

-- additional:

[updated on 2009-01-03 15:14:53 GMT]:
I find it to be amazing and very wonderful that EVERY REVIEW of this shelter is a 5! If only we had more room!
[updated on 2009-01-10 16:17:39 GMT]:
BUSTER FOUND HIS HOME

We had a pit mix brought in this AM with a nasty cut on his face. The woman who brought him in had seen him get hit by a car last night. When she stopped he jumped into her car and started licking her face (he is a rather good sized dog). He slept with her last night and brought him to the shelter this AM. Our Assist. Shelter Mgr checked him out, fixed his cut, and scanned him for a microchip and thank heavens, he was chipped. His dad came to pick him up and he is happily back at his home. Thank you to the lady who cared enough to help Buster, and thank you to Buster's famil for chipping him so he could be safely returned to you.
[updated on 2009-01-29 20:34:48 GMT]:
This shelter is working very hard to make sure that the animals are healthy and well cared for. Every animal in the facility is loved and given as much attention as possible so they are well socialized when they are adopted.

Pros: They go out of their way to help you and answer questions

Cons: There is not enough room for all the animals needing shelter

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 31 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 34603

April 14, 2009 | By Alissa

They are wonderful and very helpful. If you cannot afford shots for your pets or spay/neuter services, please go here the prices are truly amazing, you'll save a lot of money.

April 2, 2009 | By Armymom318

Dr Ned is great with birds. I took my parrot there to have his wings and nails clipped. He took his time and my bird wasn't afraid of him.

March 13, 2009 | By tina s.

I have been going to petluv for some time now. I have taken a few people there to have their animal fixed and have received shots for my dogs there as well. They have great prices and friendly people.… more ›