Service:
Rating: 4.1

Average rating from 27 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
22 Results

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

Jamie
Flag
Rating: 4

Animal Control Officer opinion

posted 7 years ago

As the Animal Control Officer of Pleasants County and the manager of the dog shelter. I feel this shelter is one of the best for what there is to work with. I am very proud of what has been acompleshed in my 5 years. We have managed to save over 900 hundred dogs since I started in 2002. Sadly enough there have been around 200 euthanized. 75% of those are because of aggression and sickness, 25% is for room. The down fall is the place is in desperate need of remodleing. The kennels are falling apart. The fencing needs replaced, doors are falling off. There is no quarenteen area for the adult dogs, so illness can spread rather easy. There is such an easy access that anyone can come and go, taking what ever they want, or dumping what ever they want. This last one can hit the shelter hard if someone dumps a sick animal. (known from experance) Rodents have moved in under the concrete, causing it to move, which in turn has caused more damage to the fencing. The shelter is aloud to mantain 40 animals at one time, but there is only enough kennels to house 28 adult dogs. So they have to be doubled up. There are no side walks around the kennels so the adopters have to walk in the gravel and mud. There is a roof over them, but at this point there are no walls. The Humane Society has finally made it to were they can pay the bills and suport themselves, but to be able to upgade the shelter is out of our hands. We work very hard planning fundraisers and such but that money goes into paying the bills. It would be so nice to have help getting this shelter upgraded. With a new apperance the place will just look so much better, and hopefully bring in more adoptions and volunteers.

Pros: Low euthanize/ high adoptions

Cons: Shelter Falling apart

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Sandy S.
Flag
Rating: 4

Limited community support

posted 6 years ago

Limited facilities, limited funding, limited volunteers, limited employees but they make the best with what they have. The humane society members and volunteers are dedicated and care about the animals.

Pros: Caring volunteers and employee

Cons: Have little to work with

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bosoxbaby
Flag
Rating: 4

Great Dogs!

posted 7 years ago

We have volunteered at this shelter for three years now. They have a wonderful group of dogs up there for the low cost of a $20.00 adoption fee. The Humane Officer works her butt off trying to keep the kennels clean, dogs fed & watered, pick up strays, deal with the public and the BS of minimum support from the community and the ignorance of people dumping off their animals. Dogs have been stolen from the kennels. The conditions are not the best there, but the dogs are taken care of. Our middle and high school volunteers have worked their butts off the last three years walking the dogs, cleaning kennels, trying to get the dogs adopted by making posters, placing donation jars, walking the dogs in the annual Christmas parades. They get attached to them. The officer does her best to keep the dogs as long as possible. More community support, donations and spay and neutering would be a great help. Stop spending hundreds/thousands on dogs, when you can get the greatest dog at your local shelter. These dogs are loving animals. We need more volunteers at our shelter. We are the only ones... The officer can't do it alone!! One day a month would be a big help.

Pros: Great Dogs

Cons: Limited Funding/Lack of Volunteers

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Fifaphile
Flag
Rating: 3

Choose a Shelter Dog

posted 7 years ago

This is a great service for lost and abandoned dogs in our community. It, unfortunately, is underfunded by the county commission and people expect the Humane Officer to "make do". She does the best she can under the circumstances and keeps the best interest of the dogs at heart. Volunteers are needed and welcome. Kids from the local Torch Club do a great job cleaning and feeding and giving the dogs some quality time, keeping them well socialized for adoption. Check out the website at www.pchs.us/ to see some of the great dogs.

-- additional:

[updated on 2007-11-08 11:03:34]:
If there ever was a shelter in need of a makeover, it is this one. We're not seeking the Ritz for these dogs, only basic protection until they can be adopted. The dogs are subjected to the elements; volunteers erect tarps as wind breaks to offer some protection and provide blankets and straw for warmth. Only the puppies have indoor shelter, but that is in a block building. Lighting and security are virtually non-existent, and as a result, dogs are frequently stolen or turned loose by local pranksters. A secure, heated facility with runs is desperately needed by our canine friends. A small group of dedicated volunteers can only do so much, and the county commission does not see this as a high priority when allocating funds. These animals should not have to suffer because of an irresponsible or neglectful owner. Help us help them!

Pros: Always a great selection of pets

Cons: Don't always know what puppies are there

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Erin S.
Flag
Rating: 4

Works with what they have

posted 6 years ago

This shelter is a great help to the animals in the area, but has very limited help, money, supplies and resources. The volunteers they do have, do a great job using what they have.

Pros: Friendly staff

Cons: limited resources

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 26170

December 28, 2008 | By Nathan B.

This is a great place they can get your pet in very fast. The staff shows compasion for animals. Great Place to go to

September 20, 2008 | By Jamie

The St. Marys Vet Clintic is a major asset to the Pleasants County Humane Society. They help us with what ever we need. I can literly walk in and they will take the time to see what is needed. They ma… more ›

March 26, 2008 | By Keri S.

I took my siamese cat there for every check-up and shot. They took such good, gentle care of her there. She was fixed and de-clawed there and they did such a wonderful job on both surgeries.