Service:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 68 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
54 Results

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 11 |

LisaMillerB
Flag
Rating: 5

Angel Acres is the BEST

posted 5 years ago

I first contacted Angel Acres the day after Christmas, when I looked at the calendar and realized my littlest child would go to Kindergarten in nine months, and realized I had to find another child. Since my husband has declared no more people children, I knew it had to be a horse. I had a horse in my pre-child life and rode for ten years or so, and it was wonderful to think about re-connecting with that part of me. Jo called me back right away, and the more contact I had with her, the more amazed I was with her, and the more horrified I was about the horse racing industry. I did a lot of research, and the more I found out about them and the more I read on their website, I was sure they were an A-list agency. They were wonderful, even before I had picked someone.. They treated me as if I was the only person in the world wanting a horse, as sure as I think they treat each horse as if they are the only needy horse in the world. We picked out a sweetie, only to get him home and find he had a hidden progressive ( huge) medical problem , causing big lameness. Angel Acres was mortified, and gave me a lot of options, support, and more TLC than my own trainer. In the words of Jo, "we want you to have somebody you can ride and enjoy..." Most agencies, and hardly any horse sellers, for that matter, would never stand behind a buyer like that. But they did. So, they picked up the Sweetie, and picked out another Sweetie (#2) that fits out home, as, by now, Jo knows me really well ! Throughout everything, they have been great, and only have the best interests of the horse, and new family in mind. They are, hands down, the BEST.

Pros: the most dedicated staff, do the best job

Cons: none

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Thfinc
Flag
Rating: 5

Premier Equine Rescue!

posted 5 years ago

Angel Acres is one of the premier horse rescue facilities in the United States. Its is run by extremely knowledgeable people who truly love what they're doing.
The horses at Angel Acres do not want for anything! Their needs are all met, no matter what their situation....they are treated with love and respect!

The staff is always willing to help educate potential adopters on proper horse care and they go out of their way to make the adoption process an enjoyable experience for both the adopter and the adoptable horses. They also strive to ensure that every horse that enters its doors will never again find itself in the position of being "unwanted"...

Angel Acres Horse Haven Rescue, Inc is the PREMIER Horse Rescue in America!

Thanks for all you do,
Tedi & Latte Spicer

Pros: Caring, willing to educate, horses are so cared for and loved!

Cons: None

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Russell W.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Rescue, Great Volunteers, The BEST!

posted 5 years ago

My Mom runs Angel Acres Horse Haven Rescue. When she first started it, I thought it would fail.

I should have known better! My Mom is the hardest working person I know. PERIOD. She lives, eats and breathes horses. Her family comes first, but the horses are only seconds behind!

She sleeps in the barn when horses are sick, injured or if they have just come into the rescue. She feeds them, waters them several times a day (and look out if a water buck or tub is dirty) every day, grooms them as much as possible, and basically cares for them until they are adopted out.

I help at night and do the midnight check, yep 12:10am to 1:00am I am out there making sure fences arent knocked down, the horses are ok and everyone has enough water and hay till the morning. I chose this shift as I am almost 21 and my mom doesnt need to be out walking the property and stuff with all the work she has to do.

If I could get one thing for my mom, it would be this makeover. She started on (as she likes to say) a shoe string and is now approaching her 5th anniversary. She works with other rescues around the country and large animal welfare groups to help horses.

Also, she is finishing her degree, takes care of all of us and talks to reporters, adopters, and people needing help with their horses.

I would recommend this place to everyone!

Pros: Great Rescue, Clean, Organized, Helpful, Dedicated Volunteers,

Cons: Need more volunteers!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Mary A.
Flag
Rating: 5

Hope You Win Angel Acres

posted 5 years ago

I found Angel Acres through, Jill Curtis, owner of the Shiloh Horse Rescue who I support. I've gotten to know of these two great women,champions for horses, throught their respective websites and emails! I am so happy that a horse rescue is in the running for the 1 million dollar grand prize.

It costs a great amount to support, feed, care, pay vet and farrier's bills for these horses who are often brought at killer auctions, not to mention the purchase price.

Some of these horses have suffered greatly at human hands yet they are offered a second chance through these rescues. When we get our property, we are in AZ, I will be traveling to Las Vegas to purchase a rescued horse from Shiloh, only because they are much closer than Jo in PA...sorry Miss Jo.

A horse rescue always needs something, fencing, sheds, mare hotels, feed, hay, meds, blankets, halters, lounge ropes, etc, and the money to pay for these items plus the vet & farrier bills.

I hope you win Angel Acres and please keep up the great work...great website you have! Mary A from AZ.

Pros: friendly,knowledgable volunteers who's care for the horses speaks for itself

Cons: none

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Gabriella W.
Flag
Rating: 5

Angel Acres & PetGive

posted 5 years ago

Angel Acres Horse Haven Rescue and PetGive.com are pleased to announce a new partnership. This is going to bring together two great organizations with one main goal, raising money for Angel Acres Horse Haven Rescue!

Now you too can make a difference and help fund Angel Acres Horse Haven Rescue, simply by shopping online through PetGive.com. It's free to register and a donation is made on your behalf after your purchase. We have teamed up with thousands of retailers and hundreds of pet charities to come up with a way to turn your everyday shopping into a charitable contribution. With each online purchase through PetGive.com, a portion of your sales total will be donated to Angel Acres Horse Haven Rescue. Not only will your shopping be helping animals in need, but you will also have access to special savings and offers with leading retailers not available anywhere else!

We have major retail participants like Nordstrom, BestBuy, Ebay, Drugstore.com, and hundreds more to choose from. You will also have access to special savings and offers with leading retailers not available anywhere else! Sign up today on www.PetGive.com for a free membership, select Angel Acres Horse Haven Rescue and start shopping for your organization. We are truly excited about our partnership with PetGive.com and every purchase made is continuing to increase the number of pets that we are able to help. Try to reach out to your friends and family to shop through PetGive.com for Angel Acres Horse Haven Rescue because the more people that know, the greater the donations we will receive. Angel Acres Horse Haven Rescue and PetGive.com — working together for pets.

Shop now, and help save a life.

Pros: Caring & Knowledgeable

Cons: None

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 11 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 17329

February 24, 2009 | By Carol1231

I think the folks here do an amazing job with the horses and are working around the clock to raise awareness about the need for horse rescue and they truly deserve a shot at the makeover!

February 21, 2009 | By Cornergas

Angle Acres is a great organization trying to rescue these horses from slaughter and placing them with people. The follow up on their placements as well. The truly care for these animals. Check out… more ›

February 15, 2009 | By k c.

Saving these horses from slauter is a higher calling. It takes a lot of dedicated personnel to accomplish what they do at Angle Acres. God Bless them.