Service:
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 986 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
611 Results

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 123 |

Gina
Flag
Rating: 5

A great place to volunteer

posted 6 years ago

This shelter has a great staff and volunteer support system. I am proud to say that I am one of their volunteers and really hope they have a chance at winning.

-- additional:

[updated on 2009-02-24 23:42:06 GMT]:
Last Summer my daughter and I stopped in after volunteering at PetCo (I clean the SPCA cat cages) to get to know the dogs. We noticed a kennel in the office with the cutest puppies in it. They were on their way to a foster family until they were a little older. We both agreed that we wanted to check them out when they were ready. The day we got the call we checked them all out and brought out Titan home. It was nice to know that once they were ready we would get the phone call to go and look at them.

Pros: Does a great service to our community

Cons: Needs a makeover!

93 of 94 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Flowerhead910
Flag
Rating: 5

The Best Dog Ever

posted 6 years ago

As a young Army couple in 1984 we found ourselves stationed at Fort Drum, NY. We first had been stationed in Hawaii where we had a cat. We brought her with us, found an apt. and soon felt we could support & love a puppy. We went to the local S.P.C.A in Watertown where we were met at the door by a dog named Joe and Linda Miles, who both welcomed us and led us to a pen of mixed breed pups. We picked out a little female we named Maile, a popular Hawaiian girls name that fit her beautifully. We enjoyed Maile while stationed at Fort Drum for 6 years untill we got orders to go to Turkey. My parents kept her for the next two years in PA. We returned from Turkey and they had a hard time letting her come back to New York with us because she was the best behaved and loveable dog they had ever had. Being stationed again at Fort Drum was great because I had my beloved Maile back. She had the best playmate, our son Josh and lived to be 14. We will always miss her and remember her as coming from the Jefferson County S.P.C.A. Thanks to Linda and dog Joe.

Pros: Has a long history of no kill.

Cons: Very small.

81 of 80 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Hero4theday
Flag
Rating: 5

A Great Shelter with a Great Need for a Makeover

posted 6 years ago

The Jefferson County SPCA is a great shelter. The staff there are the kindest I've ever met at a shelter and you can tell that they really care about the pets there. Unfortunately they are a small shelter in need of a makeover.

If I ever have a need for a pet, or find myself able to support another pet, the Jefferson County SPCA is the first place I'll go to.

Pros: Very Kind and helpful staff

Cons: Size...too small

72 of 72 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

KimballsMom
Flag
Rating: 5

A Great Place to Find a Friend!

posted 6 years ago

I've been priviledged to be picked by JCSPCA adopties. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable, of coarse they did tell me I was getting a "medium" sized dog when Kimball chose me (-: So he grew a little bigger than expected...just more to love.

Anytime I hear that someone is considering a new critter friend I tell them of all the wonderful ones that can be had at the JCSPCA.

The price is right too. Your new friend comes spayed or nutiered, and any shots that they may need. And now they even micro-chip. Your new friend is ready to live in their forever home.

Kimball and I have fostered a number of kittens and families (mom and kittens). It's a great feeling to know one is helping a fur-friend along so they can have their own forever home.

My furry kids are calling so I'm off to see what they need. Remember...JCSPCA is a Great place to find love!! Woof and Meows from the kids and me.

Pros: They try their best to assure good homes for the adopties.

Cons: Not really a con but JCSPCA needs more room.

54 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Moontidearts
Flag
Rating: 1

NOT a fan

posted 3 years ago

I am certainly NOT a fan of the Jefferson County SPCA. They were in the top 10 of the last Zootoo contest in 2010, so a committee was coming to inspect the facility. The shelter advertised that they wanted as many people and their pets to come on that day to show support, and since I was in need of a companion for my one cat, since my other had died during the pet food recall, I decided to show my support by adopting on that day. When I saw a cat I thought I liked, I asked to take her out of her cage to hold and play with her a bit. I was told that I could not "because she was being spayed later" that day. In retrospect, that excuse makes no sense at all, but since I adore torti cats, I thought it would be fine to take her even if I didn't get a chance to "try her out". The day I brought her home, after her spay, she was coughing and sneezing. The vet diagnosed her with a feline herpes virus...highly contagious and incurable. My other cat was dead in a week, as his system couldn't handle the virus. I believe they KNEW that their cat room was infected, thus their not allowing people to touch the cats, but with the Zootoo people coming, they didn't want to close their cat room. The responsible thing would have been to close it, which I believe the committee would have found admirable. Next situation...One month ago I adopted a small rat terrier after my 17 year old pug died. I was told no less than five times that if he didn't work out, they would not take him back. I suppose that should have served as a warning to me, but I didn't think to question why they were so adamant about his not being returned. At home I quickly realized that he had kennel cough, but when his cough didn't go away within a week, I took him to the vet, and he was diagnosed with Collapsing Trachea. I've learned that that (expensive) medical problem causes a VERY distinctive cough that sounds nothing like kennel cough, a cough that any vet or kennel worker should easily recognize. I believe they knew he had this condition and just wanted him gone. I now have an athletic breed that is unable to run. He can't have play dates with my families' other dogs, since playing with other dogs gets him excited and causes his cough, a cough that can easily turn dangerous. I have been given medication for him at a cost of $90 a month. In the future, he'll likely require an expensive operation, but in the meantime I have a dog I adore that can't be allowed to actually be a proper dog...no running, no playing...just lounging around, sleeping from the medication, and when the winter comes, he'll not be allowed to go out at all, as the cold air will constrict his trachea even further. There's been a change in those who run this shelter since I adopted my sick cat, and the new people are very quick to talk about how bad the others were, but I see no difference, as this still seems to be a shelter that is more in the business of getting the animals adopted whether sick or not. I get the chance to meet many new people every day, and since my dog comes to work with me, pet discussions often come up, and nearly every week I hear another story of how someone adopted a sick pet from this shelter. I will never adopt from the Jefferson County SPCA again, and I will be making no further donations of my merchandise for their auctions, something that I've loyally done for years. I will find another animal charity, one with integrity, to offer my charitable donations.

-- additional:

[updated on 2011-10-19 18:44:23]:
Here's an update on the dog I adopted with the collapsing trachea...Just one month past his second birthday, only six months after adopting him, he's dead. On top of the collapsing trachea and eye problems, it turned out that he also had heart disease and Inflammatory Bowel Disease. The vet informed me that he was in extreme pain, uncontrollable by medication due to the heart condition, and so I was advised to have him put to sleep...destroyed...the finest dog I've ever known had to be put down. Thank you very much, Jefferson County SPCA, for inflicting this grief (and very high expense) on me through your inattention to the health of the animals you're adopting out.

Pros: clean

Cons: Sickly animals

29 of 39 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 123 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 13601

June 6, 2010 | By Mocachina

I worked there for about 3 years and it is a very clean place, and all the staff are very very good with the pets that come in for appts and boarding. However behind the scenes the head vet and one of… more ›

Rating: 1

A Doggie Doo, Inc

April 22, 2010 | By Whynotna2

My first visit was my last visit. THEY had messed up my appt time and the groomer was angry with me and the desk clerk for the mistake--she literally glared at us. She wouldn't take the time to talk… more ›

Rating: 5

Sharon Jackson

August 10, 2009 | By Ninaof2girls

We are very pleased with Best Friends. They have been very friendly, the price is right, the service has been wonderful and I'm so pleased with the end result. I'm sure we will be using this service… more ›