Service:
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 241 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
187 Results

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 38 |

RuleBritannia52
Flag
Rating: 5

An Institution

posted 6 years ago

St. Hubert's has been around in Madison, NJ forever. Everyone who went to one of the local schools remembers fondly when St. Hubert's would bring in a few of their star pets to teach us little kids about how to treat and care for animals.
I know that I used to go there often, just for fun, to look at the animals and that it was through St. Hubert's that my family adopted our wonderful dog.
This is a great program and a great facility, and if you live within 20 miles, you probably already know that.
It also helps that they have suprisingly frequent ice cream socials.

Pros: Great staff, setup, animals, training, care and outreach program

Cons: none.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

GoldenRetrieverCrazy
Flag
Rating: 5

Fantastic Staff, Truly Remarkable

posted 5 years ago

Anybody who visits the shelter sees all of the animals happy and in clean cages. What they don’t see is how much hard work it takes to maintain this image. When I was a little kid I used to always say that the cats and dogs had such a good life in a shelter. Yes, all of the animals at St. Hubert’s Animal Welfare Center are very well taken care of and live a good life during the time they are there, but it takes so much work to keep it that way. There are those animals that came from homes where they were spoiled, there are those who had been poorly treated, and some animals that never even had a home. All of the shelter’s staff and volunteers make sure that no-matter where an animal has come from; it gets a very high dosage of love and care. Whenever somebody adopts an animal they should acknowledge the staff/volunteers for their extremely hard work and thank them because if they were not as fabulous as they are, that newly adopted animal may not have found a home.

I have been a volunteer at St. Hubert’s since I was nine. However, until recently, all of my work was mainly at the Dog Training School and at major events. This past August, I was given the opportunity to help out at the shelter. The day I spent there showed me how phenomenal the staff and volunteers really are. When I arrived that morning, I was full of energy and ready to go. By the time I left only six hours later, almost every muscle and bone ached in my body. I did any job from wiping out cages, to feeding the animals; doing dishes to doing the laundry. You would be surprised how much laundry there is to do. All in all, it was a hard day as well as a fun one, but I still don’t know how everybody over there can work that hard every single day.

Three of my dogs came from St. Hubert’s, and it is really nice to know that during their stay they got the TLC they deserved.

Pros: Great Staff

Cons: N/A

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Beth  R.
Flag
Rating: 5

Saint Hubert's

posted 5 years ago

My husband Michael and I are the couple that adopted Delta (previously Hope) from Saint Hubert’s in Madison, NJ. We had been talking about getting a dog (read: I had been pushing to get a dog) for while. We had looked into several possibilities – rescues, puppies, etc. but nothing seemed to be the right fit for us. Right after Christmas I convinced Michael to go to Saint Hubert’s and “just see” the facility (and the wonderful puppy I had heard about.) It was love at first sight. When we first met Delta (Hope) she was not yet up for adoption due to her mange. We followed her progress closely and once she was ready to be adopted we were very excited to make her part of our family! We had a wonder experience with the shelter. Everyone we met with took such a genuine interest in the animals and was so happy to see Hope get adopted.



We also owe a tremendous amount of thanks to the canine coaches who worked with her while she was at the shelter. The socialization and training she got was invaluable. She was 5 months old when she came home with us and she knew how to sit and walk nicely on a leash and most importantly she was a happy puppy ready to explore the world around her. She does not spook easily and loves to meet people and see new places. This is not what most people think of when they think of adopting a shelter dog. During her time there, Saint Hubert’s really provided Delta with a temporary home and family, not just a shelter.

Pros: Very caring staff

Cons: None

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

kim v.
Flag
Rating: 5

Hope to go back and adopt another dog soon! :-))

posted 5 years ago

St. Huberts is a wonderful establishment. The people there are so friendly; one can tell immediately upon entering the shelter that all of the employees genuinely care about these animals and that they seek to place them with families that have the same love and respect. St. Huberts is affiliated with a SATO rescue organization, which is where our Charlie came from. Charlie f/k/a "Claude" was rescued from Puerto Rico about ten months ago and found his temporary sanctuary at St. Huberts. While at the shelter, he learned some basic training skills from the very experienced staff. My boyfriend met Charlie when he had just gotten to the shelter and saw what a great little pup he was, but he wasn't ready to be adopted yet. When he was ready for adoption a little while later, we drove down to NJ to pick him up. We were blown away with the customer service and how easy the adoption process was. We couldn't have asked for a better addition to the family! Although we don't exactly live close to the shelter, there is no doubt where our next dog will come from! Thanks, St. Huberts!!

Pros: very experienced and friendly staff

Cons: no cons, but i wish i lived closer to the shelter!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Petdoctor25
Flag
Rating: 5

The best shelter ever

posted 5 years ago

There is love in the air. And last time I checked, it wasn't February. When you walk through the doors of St. Hubert's Animal Welfare Center, your heart blooms because the care, compassion and love is everywhere. Dedication runs deep and the proof is at every corner and in every crevice. As one of the vets who volunteers weekly at the center, I have firsthand experience of the phenomenal care the animals receive. From bottle babies to the largest mixed breed, the animals are well cared for and receive top-notch attention. The staff is extraordinary.

But what about the animals? Cute, fuzzy, furry, lovable, sweet, and loyal are a few of the words I'd start with. I'd also add intelligent, adorable, kind, playful, spirited, huggable, funny, warm...ok, you get the idea. St. Hubert's Animal Welfare Center is excellent across the board. When I was a vet in private practice, it was THE place I'd send my clients when they were ready to bring home a new member of the family. To this day, St. Hubert's still tops my list and it is the highlight of my week when I go volunteer!

Pros: caring and compassionate staff, knowledgeable and insightful supervisers, adorable animals!

Cons: none

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 38 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 07940

May 18, 2010 | By Lovewildlife

I would be very comfortable taking any animal I own to the Madison Animal Hospital. My skunk was well taken care of and loved there. No complaints from me.

March 21, 2009 | By frances m.

I walk into the store, Ned, the owner smiles calls me by name, asks about my dog then wants to know if I need "the regular" Large bag of Innova Lg Breed dog food. He then grabs the bag and walks with… more ›

March 18, 2009 | By Allison

the vets are fantastic but the people in the pet store is very unfriendly, and din't seem knowledgeable.