Service:
Rating: 3.3

Average rating from 12 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
12 Results

1 | 2 | 3 |

PCY2018
Flag
Rating: 5

Why Secaucus Needs an Ungrade of it's Animal Shelter

posted 6 years ago

SECAUCUS ANIMAL SHELTER (NEW JERSEY)


Secaucus animal shelter is very very neat and clean. It is situated in a quiet neighborhood. Staff is local. It does not put down animals as a normal routine.

Animal Controls Kevin Kessler, Eddie McLure, and Dennis are all well knowledgeable of the town area; they are responsible and work well with all kinds of animals. Their unceasing efforts to pick up and tend to animals in distress are admirable.

Staff John Thompson is extremely caring and loving to the animals, to a point of going out of his way to care for the sick and the young animals outside of his normal hours. His love for animals is genuine.

Secaucus is a small town; this is a small animal shelter.

Recently, since the recovery from 9/11, the town of Secaucus has seen an explosion of developments.

Aside from the building of train tracks, one of which runs directly adjacent to the shelter, are the bringing in of Sam's Club and Wal-mart, the development of the giant Xanadu complex, the Allied Junction Train Station, which will become a hub to train trafficking in the North East corridor of the United States, the Laurel Hill Park, the influx of numerous businesses, hotels, restaurants and corporate offices and not to mention developers and builders are constantly filling up the town with new constructions.

Even though for years, this has been a great animal shelter for Secaucus, this fast expanding population of the town plus growth of tourism and visits from outsiders have resulted in an increase of lost and abandoned pets and created an urgent demand for a bigger animal shelter.

Pros: excellent condition

Cons: it is small compared to the other animal shelters, limited space

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Vikinqqueen
Flag
Rating: 1

Social Skills Needed in Secaucus Animal Shelter!

posted 5 years ago

Horrible experience, with an old man who looks like a hippie! His ego is in the way of his job? He feels the need to interrogate you and ask irrelevant questions that dont pertain to the subject matter! And after all that ,he claims his so called "Boss" will get back to you with an answer on wheter or not they can take your animal in the shelter!! how hurtful and unproffesional this is for someone who has taxing situation.. Especially, when that "Boss Kevin" never gets back to you in a timely fashion...I say Thumbs down to the Secaucus Animal Shelter and their incompetant staff!!!!!! the community should be wary!! And only hire those who truely are sincere about animals and their welfare..

Concerned Citizen of Secaucus

-- additional:

[updated on 2009-06-16 04:22:59 GMT]:
Social Skills Needed At Secaucus Animal Shelter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by vikinqqueen in Zootoo website


posted on:
Jun '09
15
11:39pm
Wow, I can't believe how uncaring and unproffesional this organization is..My experience is with an old man who looks like a hippie. And finds it his business to interrogate you to no end asking questions regarding the animal your bringing in. And the questions are not even relevant to the subject matter involved!! He then acts like he is in charge and then tells you he cannot help you because his boss isn't in yet? Then this so called Boss "Kevin" never calls you back with any information regarding your concerns.. How unprofessional and hurtful this is to someone with a situation that needs to be addressed immediately..And it's not like this was the first phone call made either!! Our community needs to be wary of this!!! and put people who care about animals and their welfare in charge!!Not little people with BIG EGO's!!

Pros: none

Cons: Incompetant staff, lack of social skills need I say more??

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Chief721
Flag
Rating: 1

Don't ever go to the secaucus animal shelter!!!

posted 1 year ago

DON'T EVER GO TO THIS HORRIBLE PLACE!!! You WILL be sorry! Despicable, Rude, Interrogators will be there. Why, they are their own worst enemies. I went there to adopt a pet recently & was put through the "3rd Degree". Papers to fill out, wasted time, aggravation, insolent staff, filthy dirty papers with fecal animal waste all over them. Imagine, having dog poop over your hands after filling out the application. To make matters worse, they contact the vet, other references & make a very POOR decision. The woman who is the cretin, imbecile who does this hides behind the scenes, makes you wait for days & forces you to go elsewhere. While these characters were taking up my time I went to another source to obtain a pet. NEVER AGAIN! Ironic isn't it? How, at first glance, the place appears to be OK but then the real truth comes out like a venomous snake upon you! Personally, I feel that a change of staff is necessary because they waste prospective adopters time & effort. I was "declined" by the Secaucus Screwballs because my last vet was not good enough for them. They happen to know the guy & guess they didn't like him. Well, maybe he doesn't like them either & for good reason. They could have given me the pet I wanted & relieved the shelter of another animal thereby making room for more. But no, they insist on senseless procedures that lead to nowhere except to never return to them for any reason.

Pros: NONE

Cons: Despicable staff, "Gestapo Like" Interrogation, Too Extensive Background Checking, Time Wasters, Feral Animals Outside Everwhere

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Tapshoe
Flag
Rating: 1

Secaucus Animal Shelter deserves special ranking

posted 6 years ago

Secaucus Animal Shelter is the only non-kill shelter within the area. The staff is immensely caring and dedicated, always making themselves available at any hour. The facility is immaculate with maximum focus upon the comfort and security of the animals. Neighborhood do-gooders leave donations of food bags and supplies in front of the door, frustrated that they cannot offer more. The staff knows every animal well and provides individual attention despite the pressures and demands of their schedules. This is a facility that would put funding to the best possible use in the way that would best serve the animals who are in need of placement in forever homes. Kevin, Dennis and the entire staff have the skills to responsibly handle the expansion that our growing region so requires. This is a facility so deserving of generous assistance.
Sherry Zbar

Pros: Compassionate, dedicated, highest standards, immaculate, discerning.

Cons: None.... need funding for expansion

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Dogslife7
Flag
Rating: 1

Horrible

posted 6 years ago

I found a litter of abandoned kittens and was told that I should leave them on the street where I found then because the shelter would not take them in. The employee that I spoke to said that if he took the kittens he would have to turn another shelter animal into "hamburger meat". Awful place!

Pros: I guess you could say they're honest...

Cons: Will not take in abandoned kittens

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 07094
Rating: 3

ZOOTOO.COM

November 14, 2009 | By Tina P.

I have been on the site for over a year now but left and then returned. I wish they would have a Makeover III and so many others do as well! This is my most favorite website...I love l… more ›

Rating: 5

ZOOTOO.COM

April 13, 2009 | By Kris

When I was asked to join zootoo, I had no idea it would be come such a big part of my life. My shelter was never really in the running in the makeover contest, even though that is why I was asked to … more ›

Rating: 4

ZOOTOO.COM

March 23, 2009 | By DDRau

This site has tremendous potential. Lots of fun features and provides an interactive community. Great to share ideas and information with shelters throughout the country. There should be a place wh… more ›