Service:
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 17 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
14 Results

1 | 2 | 3 |

Emily D.
Flag
Rating: 5

Best Shelter Ever

posted 6 years ago

This shelter has made it a long way and it trying it very best to deal with adversity with limited means. VHS is the only shelter on the whole island and has so many animals to help. With limited time with the Veterinarians and with a great working and volunteering staff, they are able to better the lives of many otherwise suffering animals. Also, the adoption program is growing and will get bigger....VHS is trying to find these animals homes in the states so they can treat and help more and more. Great job VHS! keep up the great work!!

Pros: VHS helps SO MANY ANIMALS

Cons: Have so many animals and not enough money

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Janepetty12
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Shelter

posted 6 years ago

My family and I took a vacation to Vieques a few years ago and couldn't resist leaving without a furry friend. We went to the shelter on our last day there, but they were closed. When the heard the dogs barking to greet us, a staff came out and allowed us into the shelter, despite the fact it was the one day they were closed. We immediately bonded with a beautiful mutt. The woman we were working with helped us fill out all of the papers. Because she was a volunteer from the same area as we were, she was returning home in a month and offered to bring our new friend home with her and meet us at the airport. This was an extremely generous offer, so we took her up on it. A month later we received a wonderful dog. Although scared at the beginning, Navio settled in well. And how she loved the New England snow!
This is a wonderful shelter, which deserves some financial help to take even better care of the strays on the island.

Pros: Very nice people, great space for dogs to play

Cons: Low budget

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Vieques
Flag
Rating: 5

Our Vieques Island Shelter

posted 6 years ago

This shelter is well run and everyone always very helpful and friendly. They have made a big difference on this island. It gets a little crowded sometimes in the reception and medical area and it is surprising the things that are accomplished despite this. Otherwise the kennels. pens, runs and cat house are all good sizes.

Pros: The staff does the best they can under all situations

Cons: More space is needed to continue the good work.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Barbara  R.
Flag
Rating: 4

VHSAR does wonders on a shoe strig budget

posted 6 years ago

These dedicated folks do a great job on a shoe string budget. The VHSAR survives on donations, fundraisers & when lucky a grant here or there.

The current census is 56 dogs & 37 cats. The staff, 4 full time & 2 part time are a real team & do good things with little to go on.

We need more space to do our jobs better & provide better service to our community. Getting chosen for a makeover would be a gift from the gods.

Pros: Working wonders with little cash

Cons: Need more space: office, storage (shelter & office), no isolation, kennel runs need up grade needs

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Wendy
Flag
Rating: 5

Well done VHSAR

posted 6 years ago

I remember when there was no humane society on this island off Puerto Rico. This shelter has made a huge difference. The staff goes above and beyond the call of duty. Adoption rate is very good.

-- additional:

[updated on 2008-03-29 15:19:17 EDT GMT]:
It is truly amazing what has been done with so little money. The shelter exists on donations and fund raising activities. The shelter provides veterinary service to the community and until a few years ago was the only veterinary service on the island. This is historicallly an economically depressed island, and veterinary costs to the community are kept at the absolute minimum. The shelter refuses no one for lack of money in cases of emergencies. In fact they refuse no one at any time. This is all at a cost to the shelter and staff as the staff and volunteers often take on the extra work of caring for the communty's hospitalized animals on their own time, going so far as to take animals home with them.

Pros: Clean premises, animals well cared for and happy. Staff friendly, conscientious hard workers, dedicated.

Cons: Could use more funding and exspansion of facilities.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 00765

March 30, 2008 | By Garagecuts

Dottie is an asset for this island.She is the most caring person .

Rating: 5

Letty Perez

March 30, 2008 | By maryann m.

Letty is dependable and really cares about our pets so she gives them a great walk (we live on a very steep hill!)

Rating: 5

Betsy Ayala

March 30, 2008 | By maryann m.

The girls love Betsy and I always feel they are in great hands when we go away.