Service:
Rating: 4.0

Average rating from 12 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
12 Results

1 | 2 | 3 |

Cfarber102466
Flag
Rating: 5

Foster Care/Adoption

posted 2 years ago

In September I went to the Animal Adoption Fair in Franklin, Tn, which is where I found my new puppy Skeeter. I filled out an application for a pet,and had to wait on "Approval", which I thought was just obsurd. While waiting on my "approval", I spoke with a lady named Candace. Not knowing who she was, or what her role was within the organization, she began telling me about the importance of what they do and why they do it. I was never really an animal kind of person. But after talking to Candace and hearing the tragic stories of these rescue animals, I realized that something needed to be done. So, a few days after speaking with Candace, I began fostering puppies, who have been rescued, but needed a temporary home, until a permanent home could be found. It doesn't cost alot of money. You just have to have a heart. And Candace has one of the biggest hearts that I have ever known. An amazing woman (and family), if she has not got back with you on any puppy you may have had a question about, she is probably out saving some animals. Candace has always returned my calls, e-mails or text messages. She will not drop the ball on the beautiful animals. Give her a call. You will see. She is a wonderful person that dedicates her whole life to animals in need. Won't you become a foster for a deserving animal? All you need is a loving heart. It does not take much. And the rewards are endless.

-- additional:

[updated on 2012-09-10 20:06:22]:
To the persons on here who are disappointed with the Critter Cavalry Rescue. I am a foster mom for this organization. And I have to say, that it is so easy for you to just throw harsh accusations out there.
First of all, I need to correct you in assuming that we are all about the money. You have absolutely NO IDEA how much money Candace spends on the well-being of these puppies! Every single one that I have fostered (and there have been many), have had to go to the vet for their rabies shot, micro-chip, spay/neuter and fecal so we can obtain a health certificate. I find it absurd that your vet would even imply that it is a fake document.
Candace knows what she is doing and she genuinely cares about her puppies. She would NEVER send a sick puppy to a new home. NEVER!!!! And although it can happen, it is never intential. And if it does happen, she will make it right. By any means necessary.
If you have been turned down by Candace, then she had her reasons. She has been doing this long enough to know which questions to ask in order for her to feel comfortable with applicants. She sent me pictures once, that an applicant had sent her, that showed where the dog that this lady wanted to adopt, was going to be staying. Candace had already turned down the applicant because of the conditions that this pup was supposed to be staying in. Good for her!!!! Does that sound like she is just after the money to you? Not me.
I love the Critter Cavalry Rescue. I have adopted 3 puppies from her and I will continue to do so. And I will also continue to foster puppies for her.

Pros: Dedication/Caring/Selflessness/Kindness

Cons: NONE

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

DogMa1
Flag
Rating: 5

Wonderful thorough rescue

posted 3 years ago

I adopted a dog from Critter Cavalry and was very happy with the organization. One of my neighbors recommended them. I found a dog on petfinder and called and talked to Candace. She asked several questions and I forwarded her an application. A volunteer named Avery called me back and said my application was approved but suggested considering a different dog that would be a better fit for our family. She had very good points and I was thankful for the input. I was not offended at all and appreciate that they work so hard to make a good match. We adopted a beautiful young female. Her foster mom, Kim, was a huge help. She and her family had cared for her for several weeks and she gave me a lot of good insight. It was helpful to know that she lived in a home with several kids, dogs and other animals. We could tell that she spent time in a loving environment and clearly someone put a lot of time into working with her.

I would definitely adopt from Critter Cavalry again. To the other poster who was offended that she was denied a dog. There are plenty of places that will approve anyone just to take their money. I don't want to offend but there had to be a reason you were turned away. I'm sure it is expensive and hard to find long term fosters for any rescue. They want to find these animals homes. I'm not sure the reason but if you feel you honestly can provide a good permanent home I would ask the reasons.

Pros: Really great volunteers who work hard to make sure you adopt a dog that will adapt to your family

Cons: None

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Contentmom6
Flag
Rating: 5

We could never understand how people loved a dog -as part of the family ....until now

posted 1 year ago

We were not your "typical" dog family- nor pet family. We had tried with cats, turlle, fish, a puppy, foster cared a 16 year old dog - and each time -it was a nice experience- but not what we expected.
We would observe friends and extended family how they adored their dogs and treated them like a member of their family. We had never felt that way..until now.

We had observed a friend's 2 small dogs and loved how they jumped in our laps when we visited or how calming the dogs were with devoted love of their owners. Our friends looked forward to seeing their dogs and we saw our youngest son bond with their dogs and knew the time had come to capture this love.
Critter Calvary is a dedicated group of people who know each of their dogs (and other animals) and know their personalities, care requirements, history and thoughtful foster care for their animals. We were referred to Critter Calvary by a dear friend who had adopted 3 dogs from Critter Calvary over the years. She helped describe our needs to Candace. Within a day of our application, we had 5 dog profiles sent to us that seem to meet our needs- "lap sitter, low energy, low shedder, loving, young adult dog."

We emailed, we talked on the phone about the dog choices and we decided on a beagle mix. Critter Calvary wanted to check on this 4 year old dog with the foster care person to ensure he was ready for adoption. We spoke to the foster care mom- emailed back and forth and 4 days later met Shiloh, our 4 year old beagle.

I wouldn't believe if it you told me. But Shiloh looked up at us with those soulful brown eyes, wagged his tail and snuggled right into our arms and trotted around with us. It has been 3 weeks and we are so, so happy. Shiloh has been the best fit for our family. Finally! We understood what other families had with their dogs- love, devotiion- a member of their family. That is how we feel about Shiloh. We owe to it to Critter Calvary whose staff took the time to understand what we needed, what our previous experience had been, talked to our references- and provided dog choices to fit our family. We were not adopting a dog to "just have a dog", but wanted the right dog and we sure have found him.

Shiloh is sitting in his dog bed right next to me as I write this. I find during a busy day, I can reach down and pet Shiloh's soft ears and feel an instant calm as he lays by our feet, or sniffs his nose on the ground on our walks.

Thank you Critter Calvary- for all that you do and for taking such good care of our new family member, Shiloh. We would highly, highly recommend Critter Calvary and Candace and her team to anyone. Thank you!

Pros: Thoughtful consideration in dog suggestions, prompt communication, warm and caring

Cons: None

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Ready2Foster
Flag
Rating: 5

I love my Critter Cavalry Rescue girl

posted 2 years ago

I adopted my black lab mix baby from this rescue at the Mars company adoption fair last October and she has been a joy to me. Everyone I met was so helpful. Kim gave me information about the puppies and about the organization and fostering for them. Like so many others on this site she said Candace, the lady who runs the rescue, has one of the biggest hearts when it comes to these animals. I had to wait a little while until my adoption application was approved (by another really helpful volunteer) and we were on our way. Now that my beautiful baby is housetrained I plan on calling the rescue to volunteer and foster. I actually found this website when i was searching for Critter Cavalry and could resist sharing how awesome they are!

Pros: Kind, loving, helpful volunteers

Cons: None!

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Anonymous1022
Flag
Rating: 1

DO NOT USE CRITTER CAVALRY RESCUE! Save yourself the pain and money!

posted 1 year ago

In August my fiance and I adopted a puppy from Critter Cavalry Rescue. We had been looking for a couple of months and fell in love with a particular puppy and had to have her. Unfortunately we were told that the dog had intestinal parasites and had to be held for an extra week before she could take the trip up north. That was fine; we were more concerned for her feeling good on her long trip up to her new home. The rescue told us that she would be a little off; diarrhea and lethargy for the first couple of days. After 5 days we realized that she wasn't getting any better and that her energy was surprisingly low for a 6-month old puppy. We had our vet give her a check-up and a fecal exam showed that she was positive for Giardia, a fierce intestinal parasite that is difficult to treat. Great... we were told by Critter Cavalry that she was "all cleared up" and had to legally have a "clean bill of health" to travel out of state to be adopted. This turned out to be a blatant lie. The dog was very sick since the day we got her and Giardia is common down south. $140 worth of treatments later (shoving 3-4 pills down her throat and force-feeding her bitter powder medication) and her health is only declining. It has been almost 3 weeks since she came to us and about 80% of the time with her has been spent treating her and being worried about her. The rescue offered to pay $100 towards her treatments, but the next treatment she has to have will run us about $200 plus prescription dog food at $50+/bag. And this treatment is just a trial. If it doesn't work, there has to be another exam and set of treatments, potentially surgery. This poor puppy has a heart of gold and the sweetest demeanor. She doesn't deserve this kind of life. If CC would have treated her thoroughly and properly she could be recovering already. Instead they choose to pawn off sick dogs on families.

The worst part is the emotional trauma. We love this dog and it has been an utterly heart-breaking experience watching her be so sick and feeling helpless. The rescue also offered to take the dog back and refund us our fee money (this was after the first week), but this doesn't repair the emotional damage from giving us a puppy that we fell in love with and then taking her away from us. For anyone who has ever had a pet, you know just how quickly you fall in love with them. It takes just a minute. We have had glimmers of hope; seeing her play and be happy once in a while and that has made us love her even more. We know that she is capable of being such an amazing dog, but she has not been given a fair chance.

We are working on getting an investigation started on this organization and hopefully it will create more of a national awareness so that these heartless rescue organizations are forced to undergo strict investigations and are required to give PROPER paperwork prior to putting a dog up for adoption. Whatever "legal documents" were sent up with her were obviously falsified, our vet even confirmed it. Shouldn't that be illegal??? No one should have to go through the amount of pain that we have had to go through for the past few weeks. It has been a real nightmare.

I beg you please DO NOT USE CRITTER CAVALRY RESCUE to adopt your pet and be very careful when adopting a rescue dog from the south. And if this has ever happened to you please do not stay quiet. These saddening situations CAN be prevented if we speak up!

-- additional:

[updated on 2012-09-10 15:30:22]:
I just wanted to take a minute and follow up with my last review about Critter Cavalry. Although we had tough experience with our puppy and her poor health when she arrived to us, I have to say that the rescue has been very cooperative about taking financial responsibility for all of the vet bills and medications. They have not been reluctant to help us in any way they can. They promptly sent us a check for her first vet bill. They set us up with a new vet and have offered to pay for her follow-up tests.

I found it necessary to let everyone know that these people have taken great responsibility for what has happened and we appreciate their kindness, cooperation,
and patience. Rescue with caution but do not rule out this organization. Mistakes happen and with their patient attitude I do believe that they have good intentions.

We love our puppy and she has been such a joy in our lives. We're thankful to the rescue for helping with the bills so that she can live a happy healthy life.
[updated on 2012-09-10 15:34:41]:
I just wanted to take a minute to follow up with my negative post about Critter Cavalry Rescue. Although we have had a tough time with our puppy arriving to us quite sick, the rescue has been nothing short of cooperative about paying for her vet bills. Their kindness and assistance has been very helpful while we care for Kelly.

Mistakes happen and this was perhaps just an illness that flew under the radar during testing. We hope that is what happened. We do believe that these people have good intentions and want to help the dogs more than anything.

We appreciate the financial cooperation and the patience that they have demonstrated throughout Kelly's treatments. She is a wonderful puppy and we love her very much.

Pros: No, just no

Cons: emotional trauma, carelessness, costly, stressful

3 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement