Service:
Rating: 2.6

Average rating from 42 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
42 Results

1 ... | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |

Alicethedogtrainer
Flag
Rating: 5

5 STARS for JOYFUL RESCUES

posted 2 years ago

I have had the pleasure to adopt from Joyful Rescues and am nothing but thrilled with my girl and their adoption process. They are informative, diligent, professional and mainly concerned with the animals welfare and future. They even went to the express delivery of my baby girl to be flown in to me by Pilots N Paws! I could not be happier with my baby girl or Joyful Rescue. They are both a GODSEND <3 i have read some of the reviews and to my dismay see people criticizing them for having strict policies. I would never consider allowing dogs to live outside. Whether or not they are hounds has NOTHING to do with humane treatment . I feel certain if an individual was denied an adoption there MUST be a good reason as their main goal is to home or re-home animals in their care. As the recipient of such a refusal/denial one should not fault an entire organization for coming up short on their application for whatever reason they feel is a deal breaker. Sorry, I speak the truth...
RufF lOve,
Alice Marino

Pros: In depth application. All references checked and approved. Wonderful conversations. Checks in on adoptions immediately. Very Satisfied!!!

Cons: NONE

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

ChickWDog
Flag
Rating: 5

Lucky one

posted 2 years ago

We adopted our Grunt (Formerly Army) from Joyful Rescue a year ago August. We were informed that Joyful Rescue is tough on applicants and have refused many "good" homes. Having lost our 7 yo APBT to cancer we had found our "perfect" match, or should I say, he found us at Petfest 2011! :) We completed the application, waited patiently and then heard back that we were accepted to adopt Grunt. Yes, the application process is long, but I've seen longer. If there is a problem with an applicant I agree that they should be notified as to why. However, that may only bring out a long and unproductive argument about why someone would not be approved. Children are a liability to a rescue. Not all children are wonderful with dogs. So I understand their concern about children. Another concern would be a fenced yard. As one adopts from a rescue it is their responsibility to keep the dog safe. A fenced in yard is a must, period. I have 2 fenced in areas. One is attached to the house and the other is a 1 1/2 acre playground I made for our dogs, since there is no dog safe areas around us. Grunt has blossomed into a wonder dog and I believe that the fact that he was so socialized because of the outside area helped him immensly. We cannot thank Joyful Rescues for such a wonderful dog!

Pros: Dogs of all shapes and sizes, no discriminations

Cons: We don't live close enough to volunteer

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lucky72
Flag
Rating: 1

Cruelty to Humans

posted 2 years ago

These people don't do thorough reference checks. They don't call all references. Quick to jump to conclusions and don't even tell you why you've been denied adoption. They charge twice a much as other shelters and are rude and condscending to your references. Please support someone else. Maybe they are good to animals but they lack social skills with people.

Pros: Nice Website, lots of info

Cons: Condescending staff, rude, judgemental

8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lovesdobermans
Flag
Rating: 5

A home not a shelter

posted 6 years ago

We adopted Marty from her in December and he is a treasure. He was 8 months old but it was obvious that he had been worked with so that he could be placed in a house. We had just lost two dogs that we had for 14yrs and 7yrs within two months of each other. And had got a puppy to keep the second one company so needed a companion for her when the other dogs died unexpectedly. We feel in love with Marty as soon aas we saw his picture.

Pros: Very roomy area for the pets

Cons: Hard to get to

7 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Chloesmama
Flag
Rating: 5

Wonderful experience!

posted 6 years ago

I am so proud to have rescued a fantastic dog, Chloe, with the help of this organization! They were very thorough during the application process, making sure that we were adopting for the right reasons and ensuring that our choice was truly a good fit for our family. I felt that we were given as much information as possible about Chloe and the paperwork was very organized. I was highly impressed with the quick response from everyone involved. We were so impressed that a few months later, my parents rescued a fox terrier, max. Thanks Joyful Resuces!

Pros: thorough and very quick response time

Cons: location - we came from Syracuse (well worth it though!)

6 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 ... | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 14727

March 31, 2008 | By PAULDESNOYERS

I have left my animals here on many occassions. Staff were very caring. They allowed me to call daily to see how my pets were doing while I was on vacations. My pets were clean and ready when I arrive… more ›

March 27, 2008 | By Max08

These guys are great they have always helped me and will answer any and all questions.

March 25, 2008 | By Marleneanastasia

This is a ggod clean place to take your dog to be groomed or boarded