Service:
Rating: 2.6

Average rating from 42 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
42 Results

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 9 |

Tms101
Flag
Rating: 1

Don't waste your time with this horrible person

posted 1 year ago

I filled out an application the other day to adopt a dog. I sent Joye several email's explaining any questions she might have about my application. I got a generic email response telling me "sorry". Wow, I guess she should include on her application if you live in the city forget it! I called to speak to Joye and wow, what a nasty witch! I am going to call PetSmart and ask them why the let he bring these dogs into there stores and she has no interest in letting people adopt them. Going to the city pound saturday to adopt a dog who needs love and a good home.

Pros: NONE!

Cons: Thinks she's God and very nasty

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

KLaMacch826
Flag
Rating: 5

True Animal Lovers

posted 2 years ago

My family and I have established a bit of a Joyful Rescues "following" up here in the "Northtowns." After my parents rescued a very healthy, happy lab-mix pup from a foster situation (Hogie- from the "Cigar Collection" of puppies), I had the pleasure of accompanying my mother in law to Joyful Rescues' home so she could meet a dog she was considering for adoption. Though heartbreaking to see all of the discarded pets, it was an amazing thing to see so many happy, healthy, cared for dogs in one place. My mother in law adopted 5 year old "Ginger" almost two years ago and she has transitioned seamlessly into their home- even with a 3-legged high-needs dog already there. Only weeks later, my husband and I adopted 2 year old "Reese the Hunk" who is, without any other appropriate term to substitute- our fur child. Shortly after that, my aunt and uncle adopted a puppy from the "Pizza Collection."

Yes, the application process is lengthy and involved, I feel Joye is best serving her real "clients"- the animals at her home. Anyone can walk into a local pet shop or SPCA and get a dog- with no experience or knowledge of animals at all. Pet owners like this are the reason shelters like Joyful Rescues NEED to exist. Without a discriminating process, many of these animals would be fated to be abused, returned, or even put down.

Joye and her team of staff and volunteers work tirelessly to provide a safe, clean, loving environment for every animal that passes into her care. Everyone there is kind and helpful, providing honest opinions, feedback and guidance when selecting a pet to truly try and make sure each animal finds a FOREVER home.

Personally knowing four of Joye's rescues- all sweet, loving, animals that show us each and every day how grateful they are to be in our homes being loved, I cannot recommend Joyful Rescues any more highly. I will continue to rescue from Joye in the future and will always make Joyful Rescues my first suggestion to friends and family thinking about getting a pet.

Any true animal lover would have to find honor in what Joyful Rescues is trying to do: Place animals in loving, safe, forever homes.

Pros: Kind, caring volunteers and staff, quick responses to questions, concerns, well-cared for and socialized animals...

Cons: Non.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Disheartened
Flag
Rating: 1

Bad attitudes

posted 2 years ago

I wasn't at all surprised to see mostly poor reviews on this place. Getting a new pet is supposed to be a fun and exciting and nice experience. The folks running this place don't know how to treat people. Let's hope they treat the animals better.

Pros: None

Cons: Everything

12 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

SwedishSpritz
Flag
Rating: 5

So wonderful!!

posted 2 years ago

I adopted my sweet Pom/Pekingese mix from Joyful Rescues in April, and they were SO amazing. Come on, people- they are strict for a REASON. These poor animals have been through ENOUGH and they are only trying to make sure their new families have a safe environment and the means to take care of them and love them. My sweet girl is 9 years old and was RECENTLY rescued from a puppy mill, and was probably abused by a male figure because she is still a little nervous around my animal-loving husband. She won't go outside for him, and if she does, she won't listen to him when he calls her. She will probably never be fully house trained. It takes a special family to have the patience for a rescue baby, and they have to be VERY careful with who the animals end up with. They were so kind to give us a massive care package for Peka, and her foster mommy (who was AMAZING) babysat her while my husband and I went to Florida for 2 weeks. I will NEVER adopt from any other agency, as Joyful Rescues was SO good to us and so good to our baby Peka before she was placed into our home. She is a perfect fit, and we love her SO much, and are so thankful to have her!

Pros: They ARE strict, and that what makes them GREAT! These animals deserve to be spoiled and loved!

Cons: NONE!

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

JessicaLG
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Experience

posted 2 years ago

I adopted my first dog ever from Joyful Rescues about a year and a half ago. The application was much longer than I anticipated - a good thing! I wanted to adopt from a place that truly cared about WHERE their animals ended up. I found out later that several of my references were indeed called as well. The adoption fee for my puppy was right around $300 and they even offered to transport her to PetSmart in Buffalo so I could pick her up there, which was a lot closer than driving to Cuba, NY. For $300 my puppy came already spayed, vaccinated, socialized, loved and well cared for, with a big bag of puppy food. A few weeks later they even called to let me know that one of her littermates had been DNA tested and wanted to share the results with me (thanks for saving me $100+). We have had a wonderful experience from start to finish with the staff and the way they have operated. We will be looking forward to the day of "paying back" all the wonderful care that was taking of our dog before we adopted her and fostering from Joyful Rescues.

Pros: Too many to list

Cons: None

6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 9 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 14727

March 31, 2008 | By PAULDESNOYERS

I have left my animals here on many occassions. Staff were very caring. They allowed me to call daily to see how my pets were doing while I was on vacations. My pets were clean and ready when I arrive… more ›

March 27, 2008 | By Max08

These guys are great they have always helped me and will answer any and all questions.

March 25, 2008 | By Marleneanastasia

This is a ggod clean place to take your dog to be groomed or boarded