Service:
Rating: 2.6

Average rating from 42 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
42 Results

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 9 |

BanIgnorance
Flag
Rating: 1

Joyless people

posted 2 years ago

Unfortunately, I can't say much good about Joyful Rescues. Although some people see their property as a paradise, I see it as a potential hazard for the dogs allowed to run unsupervised there. The chance for dog fights is too great with that many dogs running in a pack. Not to mention the chance for dogs to get loose without notice for some time. And the adoption fees are outrageous - when any good rescue charges maybe $250 for puppies, Joyful Rescues is charging upwards of $500 for some dogs! I know of horse rescues that charge less to adopt out a far more expensive animal. I also don't agree with setting fees based on "adoptability". I will say that the setup for the cats, both on the property and at the off-site location, is quite good. It's the setup for the dogs that makes me nervous. I think the rescue needs to be more accepting of potential applicants - just because Joye doesn't like kids doesn't mean a household with children should be completely disregarded. Some of the best pet owners I know have children, and were able to care and provide for both human and animal just fine. Also, if the applicant isn't a good fit for the animal they're applying for, why not let them know that and work with them to find a more suitable animal? That's what most rescues would do.

Pros: Saves pets; cat setup is good

Cons: Too many to list

12 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Erinodon
Flag
Rating: 5

Best. Rescue. Ever!

posted 2 years ago

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Joyful Rescues. Last year, my husband and I fell in love with our Major on Petfinder. We were impressed with the application process - it was the most detailed we had seen, and felt that it would succeed in making applicants better consider their decision to adopt. Questions like "how much do you expect to spend monthly in food/treats/vet bills?" are important, especially for people who may be adopting for the first time.

When we got our approval email from JR, we were so happy we cried. We soon got a follow up call from Major's foster mom, Kari. Kari wanted to talk to us about Major - he had come from a puppy mill and was particularly shy, even scared, of people. Kari wanted to manage our expectations - it was possible that Major may never be very personable. Kari was making sure that he would be moving to his forever home - and that we were not going to return him. We applaud Kari and JR for keeping his interests first. Major came from a horrendous situation and deserves to live a beautiful and happy life. (And, I am happy to report that after a year with JR, and 18 months with us, Major is such a happy boy that he runs up to people on our walks, just begging to be petted! Such a wonderful change that would never have been possible without the work of the volunteers at JR!)

Before traveling to pick up Major, we told the volunteers that we were also considering adopting a second dog, and if they had any recommendations, to let us know. They recommended our Willis. Willis and Major had not only spent time together at the rescue, but also had play dates thanks to their foster moms. The day we picked them up, Major and Willis were curled up together - it was love at first sight! Willis' foster mom, Susan, was wonderful, and parted from her Willis with very little notice. We are constantly amazed with the strength of the foster parents at JR (and every other rescue for that matter) - to give so much to these wonderful pups, and hand them over to their forever families.

In the months after adopting our boys, we heard from so many of the volunteers that had worked with Willis and Major during their time with JR. We've described JR to our family and friends as a rehab facility for dogs (and cats). At Joyful Rescues, the animals come first. Many of them have come from horrible situations, both mental and physical, and deserve all the love in the world. The volunteers give their time, and money, to make a better life for these animals, and to prepare them for life in a normal home. I believe they deserve every right to be judicious in their decisions. The volunteers have a strong bond with all of the animals they work with - we've kept in touch with each other over the past 18 months to let them know how our "Jersey Boys" are doing. We only wish they were closer (we live in southern New Jersey) so that we could bring the boys to visit all of the wonderful people at Joyful Rescues. We consider JR to be the village that raised (and rescued) our boys.

Pros: The animals come first and foremost.

Cons: Too far away to bring our boys back to visit.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Amy  P.
Flag
Rating: 5

A Home away from Home

posted 6 years ago

We adopted our beautiful husky mix dog from Joyful Rescues in February of 2007. I cannot thank Joye & her staff at Joyful Rescues enough for rescueing our beautiful boy & giving us the privilege of giving him his "Forever" home. Not only am I greatful for all their hard work, dedication and true comapssion for animals,but I was truly impressed with the entire Joyful Rescues agency.The dogs are given tons of love & attention & you can truly see how greatful they are by their faces.The agency is at her home so they get 24/7 TLC. I was pleased to see that they were so through with their screening process. They make sure that every dog is going not only to a loving, caring enviroment, but one that is ready to take on the many other responsibilities of being a pet parent.This is a place where dogs can run & play & just be dogs again until they find their permanent homes. The animals care & welfare are first priority at Joyful rescues. I can honestly say that we have had no behavorial, health or other issues with our dog since we adopted him. We greatly attribute this to the love & care he got at Joyful Rescues.The community as well as all the hundreds of animals they have saved are very fortuniate to have Joyful rescues.

Pros: excellent care & "parent" screening process

Cons: none

11 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Fidelsmomma
Flag
Rating: 1

My boy Fidel

posted 2 years ago

When I found Fidel on their website, I knew I found my new boy! I completed a relatively easy/standard application & contacted my vet advising them that Joyful Rescues may call them. There is enough room on the application to explain your answers & I highly suggest doing so. I was not able to supply my neighbors telephone #'s and I gave a very detailed explanation of why. Responses from the rescue were quick & informative. I actually thought the whole process was painless! I didn't even have to drive to pick up Fidel. The rescue brought him with them when they were doing an adoption event at PetSmart. How awesome was that? The gentleman that assisted me with Fidel's papers was great! He went through the information that I needed to know slowly and made sure I understood everything. He answered all of my questions. I got a bag of dog food, coupons and even a FREE vet visit! Fidel is even microchipped. My adoption fee did not even cover that cost. I paid for a microchip for my other dog so I'm aware of the cost. Speaking of adoption fees, I found them reasonable & in line with other rescues. These people are so helpful and wonderful. I was contacted a few days after the adoption to see how things were going with my new boy. If people have issues with the adoption process, maybe they should rethink adopting at all. There is nothing on the application that is not standard to the majority of rescues. Joyful Rescues does a wonderful job and I would not hesitate at all to recommend them to anyone! When the time comes that my boys cross the Rainbow Bridge, I will be back looking for my new family member.

Pros: Look for what's best for the animal, caring, helpful.

Cons: NONE

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Cocoa12
Flag
Rating: 1

Bizarre

posted 11 months ago

Yep, I submitted a application, I then received a phone call from joyful rescues during the course of the conversation, I asked why they have so many negative reviews. I was told it was because well, long story short, they are basically jerks. Anyway soon after I received a email stating I did not qualify because I questioned their negative reviews. I know, bizarre, right?
Please don't get me wrong. I am sure there are some great rescue groups.
I am so tired of animals being held hostage by these rescue groups. And I am tired of having to fill out some absurd applications to "adopt" a pet. I want to rescue a pet. I want to give a pet a loving home. I am able to do this. I don't know the whys' behind the mentality of some of the rescue groups but like I said I am tired of it.
My parents, my grandparents, my in-laws, my husbands grandparents all got their pets for free. Guess what?, our dogs were not abused, omg we did not have a fenced in yard, they were healthy, happy and truly part of our family. Remember those days?
Like I said I am tired of the animals being held hostage and I am tired of being held hostage, I will not beg for a pet. Is anyone monitoring these rescue groups?
I personally am going to send a email to my state attorney general office and anyone else I can find in my state to send a complaint to.
I want to know who/what gives Joyful Rescue the right to hold these animals hostage?

-- additional:

[updated on 2013-08-30 13:01:42]:
Take all reviews advice and stay away.

Pros: none

Cons: many

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 9 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 14727

March 31, 2008 | By PAULDESNOYERS

I have left my animals here on many occassions. Staff were very caring. They allowed me to call daily to see how my pets were doing while I was on vacations. My pets were clean and ready when I arrive… more ›

March 27, 2008 | By Max08

These guys are great they have always helped me and will answer any and all questions.

March 25, 2008 | By Marleneanastasia

This is a ggod clean place to take your dog to be groomed or boarded