Service:
Rating: 2.6

Average rating from 42 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
42 Results

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 9 |

Rschlu
Flag
Rating: 1

Poorly run organization

posted 1 year ago

I will never recommend this organization to anyone. I may sound a little assuming, but my family has a great situation and a lot of experience caring for special needs and rescue dogs. I have 2 wonderful boys who are very busy and absolutely love animals. We have owned several dogs and have 11 acres of land and a big house plus lots of time and financial means.
The day I called to visit, the attendant acted put-off and said that if I couldn't make it by 2pm, don't bother. We made it there and the room we visited potential puppies in was soaked with urine: furniture, toys, the floor was wet! We asked to see these small puppies and instead of having us wash up and see the 10-week puppies first, she showed us the other pups and said we could only look at the others through glass because they had not had shots yet. I acted a little surprised (not rude by any means), at the fact that we could not see these animals.
My husband was appalled at the place. Seeing as we have a wonderful home and a lot of experience, it shocks me as well that we were not approved. Especially since this organization claims to want to adopt out these animals. I can say that the environment is not the best. The dogs basically just run wild with very little perceived attempt to socialize these animals.

While it is good that they are rescuing dogs from puppy mills and bad situations, it seems strange that they are unwilling to adopt dogs to perfectly good homes with no history of ever giving up a dog plus a lot of experience. With the number of dogs in this place in deed of homes, this is really awful. I feel sorry for the animals.

My personal perception of this place is that they are extremely prejudicial when choosing adoptees and do not look at what is best for the dogs. There is also likely level of ignorance, bias and arrogance. These people really do act like they are "God" and 'better than..'

-- additional:

[updated on 2013-02-27 00:53:57]:
Just adding.. After reading some of the other reviews I can see why we were 'rejected'. It appears that we were rejected because we were honest on our application. I would not be surprised to find out that these people have a 50 'flag' list of what they deem a 'deal breaker'. It also seems that they adopt to people without seeing their home or really knowing who they are, as long as they don't get a 'flag'. And it looks like the flags include: farm, children, any outdoor farm animals, no fence, working, etc.. So my question is: why don't you put on your website: "we will NOT adopt to you if you have a farm or children or..... or.... or.... and then people will not have to waste their time. It is truly a shame as I know for a fact some of the happiest dogs grow up with kids and acres of land, etc.. but these people are not really looking for quality of life or love for the dogs. They seem to be just looking to play God and show their true colors of extremely prejudicial, judgemental and self-righteous attitude. This kind of ignorance and unprofessional practices plus a less than ideal environment for these poor dogs is, unfortunately, at the expense of the dogs and kind wonderful, big-hearted people's happiness. The only 'winners' seem to be the 'board of so-called 'do-gooders' that think they're doing right when they are simply being no less than lazy, ignorant and presumptuous; not to mention less than honest and down-right rude and uncaring to both animals and humans alike!

Pros: Dogs allowed to run

Cons: Filthy, unprofessional, rude

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Cicely98
Flag
Rating: 1

Crack-Pots

posted 2 years ago

THE GOOD NEWS IS...a friend of ours owns a reputable and professional pet store here in the city and also rescues dogs. Why we didn't go to him in the first place is beyond me. He will help us find our new dog - he knows us and our pets and exactly how awesome we are.


When I told a room full of people that I was denied on a dog adoption the reaction was 1) confused looks, 2) an "are you kidding me" and then 3) bursts of laughter b/c Chris and I are considered the best and most devoted dog owners in the world! People can't believe the lengths we go to to give our dogs the good life.


UNFORTUNATELY...I wasn't aware that you need to screen rescues before you take the time to apply - you know, to differentiate the LEGITIMATE rescues from the CRACK-POTS.


What a disservice to your adoptable dogs.

Absolutely hilarious...

From: Joyful Rescues <joyfulrescues2@hughes.net>
To:
Sent: Friday, March 16, 2012 9:31 AM
Subject: Application

Pros: I guess they're keeping animals alive

Cons: lengthy application, definite denial

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Angela1106
Flag
Rating: 1

Joyful rescues? Not.

posted 1 year ago

As far as I am aware, their purpose is to find decent and loving homes for the thousands of abandoned, mistreated, or homeless animals.

So, if willing and capable pet owners are being rejected by workers who do not know nearly enough about perspective owners, the very "purpose" of a shelter is not being fulfilled- animals are not being saved and the organization is not "doing their job."

Animals without homes is sad, but animals denied homes by good people is ever worse.

We were surprised to learn how many people at Pet Smart were talking about being denied by Joyful Rescues, but filled out the application anyway. After all, we have had several dogs over the last 35 years - we thought, what could possibly be a reason for being denied? We were open to several varieties of dog - male or female - puppy or adult. We answered the questions openly and honestly, and provided the necessary references, including the Vet hospital we spent over $3500.00 at when our dog became suddenly ill. We provided our previous pets all the necessary shots, care, and pet safe environment . So we were as surprised as others seemed to be, when we too were denied.
No one spoke to me personally. So far, I know that 2 of the 3 references, or the Vet office we gave were never contacted, no one came to our house.

I do commend people who work in shelters, and I know many of the workers care deeply about the animals, but something isn't right. It is very important to make sure animals aren't just given to anyone, but there has to be something wrong in the selection criteria. How many good people are actually being rejected?

Turning off people who want to adopt, even if they aren't "perfect," just sends them to pet stores that support puppy mills and unnecessary breeding. It increases the chances those animals won't be spayed/neutered. Or, even worse, it stops a good family with a place for a pet from filling that void and giving a lucky animal a home.

There is no such thing as a perfect home for all dogs. There is, however, the right home for the right dog.

We will definitely adopt our next dog when the time comes, but sadly not from one of the many who need homes at Joyful Rescues.

Pros: none

Cons: several

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Thinkaboutit
Flag
Rating: 1

Unsatisfied

posted 1 year ago

I had to put a star rating because I couldn't submit my post. I DO NOT GIVE THEM THIS STAR!
After reading many reviews that had the same story as mine, denied, no reference checks, no response to emails.... quite disappointed. First, love, love, love their generic and rude denial letter especially the last paragraph that tells you to search another organization. How contradicting is that, if you denied me wouldn't I be denied by another?
I've been a dog lover and had them all my life and I have suitable conditions and home to raise another family member. Yes I call my dogs a family member because they are our children.
Secondly and this is the kicker...my neighbors adopted from them, they are pretty much matched with us, kids, no fenced in yard, had to put a dog down in the last year and yet they denied us? There is no rhyme or reason to there denial I do however think we all need to really think about their process. If they have so many dogs on the property don't they receive more funding from the state for their organization so maybe this week quite a few pets can't be adopted so you're denied, but maybe next week they can unload and adopt to you. What it comes down to is that you submitted your app at the wrong time. Sounds far fetched huh??? Then why would I be denied if I pretty much mirror my neighbors application and they were able to adopt and we weren't. I'm sure there are many people out there that don't want to bother posting, but you really should. And for all of you who have given joyful rescuse a good review and were able to adopt, congrats! As you must have submitted an application at the right time, they had to unload so many after receiving funding. Hmmmm maybe this organization needs to be held accountable to the state and provide them all the denial application before they cut a check and the reasons for why one application was accepted while another with pretty much the same info was denied. I can't deny that our neighbors received a really good puppy and healthy and happy but shame on Joyful rescues who denies other animals from being saved. No I am not a disgruntle person just because my app was turned down, just want you hear my story and have you really think about how their process goes. Usually a full process involves calling references and house visits, they don't even do that so how can they base there decisions on an application. Think about it....could it be funding and timing. Way to use the system Joyful rescues, glad you're putting the ANIMALS first!

Pros: none

Cons: Doesn't put animals first, only funding.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Fosterlove
Flag
Rating: 1

Not very joyful

posted 2 years ago

I have fostered many animals for many organizations over the years and this was the WORST experience of my life. These poor animals that live there. The foster I go was loaded with ear mites and fleas. When I called them on it they gave me expired flea meds. That did not work either so I gave it a few baths in Hertz flea shampoo which is what a vet recommended. When I told joy this she was a royal you know what . She also almost turned down someone because they worked full time. Really Joye? people do work. I was told I would never be able to foster with them again - no worries I was not planning on it. I am now with another organization called Another Chance Pet Rescue and love it. Joyful Rescue should be shut down because from what I hear the living conditions for these animals is horrible~ I would give this place zero stars but this site wont let me

Pros: none

Cons: many

14 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 9 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 14727

March 31, 2008 | By PAULDESNOYERS

I have left my animals here on many occassions. Staff were very caring. They allowed me to call daily to see how my pets were doing while I was on vacations. My pets were clean and ready when I arrive… more ›

March 27, 2008 | By Max08

These guys are great they have always helped me and will answer any and all questions.

March 25, 2008 | By Marleneanastasia

This is a ggod clean place to take your dog to be groomed or boarded