Service:
Rating: 2.6

Average rating from 42 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
42 Results

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 9 |

Forhelvede
Flag
Rating: 1

Beware: Cruetly to Humans

posted 3 years ago

If you have lost your dog to a freak accident after 13-plus years of a remarkable partnership, think carefully before turning to Joyful Rescue. They will not consider the 4,900 near-perfect days you had with your pet. They may not check your references because they don't want the whole picture. You may, like me, be condemned by Joye, the Dog God.

If you are grieving already, be prepared for the anguish that follows the rejection email in which the judge claims not to be judging you.

It is their choice, obviously, to accept or reject, but I can assure you that there is a cruel streak there. After a good friend wrote to JR on my behalf with a page of reasons why I would be a great dog parent, JR responded to her by email with a nasty and crass criticism of me. Not only was it cruel; it was very unprofessional. Joyful Rescue claims to love animals, but they were very unkind to this member of homo sapiens.

Pros: Place looked so perfect

Cons: Judgemental, unkind

24 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Boite
Flag
Rating: 1

Heartless

posted 3 years ago

While Joyful Rescue, of course, can accept or reject potential adopters according to their own criteria, would it be too much for them to have a little heart, especially considering their name? A friend of mine who recently lost her 13 year old her dog in a tragic accident and is grieving, contacted Joyful Rescue with high hopes of adopting one of their pups; and was rejected without a personal interview, without interviews with her references, without an explanation, and without even the slightest gesture of condolence. The irony is that her experience with JR was anything but joyful; on the contrary, it compounded her grief.

If JR had pursued this application in any depth they would have discovered a near perfect applicant: who is experienced with dogs, who works at home, whose property abuts a large conservation area where she hiked everyday with her dog, who took her dog to the beach and on vacations, who took her dog with her whenever possible, whose dogs have always been beautifully trained and meticulously cared for and were true members of the family. This was very much a missed opportunity on Joyful Rescue's part.

I agree with the last poster, I hate to give even one star.

Pros: none

Cons: callous

22 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Annielin2
Flag
Rating: 1

Hardly a "Joyful" experience

posted 3 years ago

Both my coworker and I were rejected for adoption of a dog by Joyful Rescue. I had my vet referenced and they did not call her. The reason for rejection given was that we live on a farm. The owner of Joyful Rescue stated a farm wasnt a good place for a dog. My husband and I have horses, cats and a dog, all very well cared for. We both work, he at night and me during the day so someone is home most all of the time. Not sure what the real story of Joyful Rescue is....but clearly they do not have the welfare of animals at the top of their list.

Pros: none

Cons: many

23 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Deborah1017
Flag
Rating: 1

Horrific and painful experience

posted 1 year ago

I work for a rescue group ( and do home visits for them ) I gave "joyful" rescues many references including rescue org I work with and vet I had last rescue for 13 yrs! THEY CALLED NONE! They rejected me - for no reason, even though I went above and beyond sending them pictures of my home, rescue cat (11) and rescue dog (2) and 13 yr old daughter. I was rejected with NO cause given, I kindly and respectfully asked for cause more than once not ONE email was returned! Heartless and Unprofessional. I even went to local adoption event to meet Joye in person ( she wasn't there and I was told she MAY attend one per year) I spoke with many vol, there all were frustrated - trying to find these pups homes and Joye being God shutting everyone down without cause. Even denying a vol. dear friend that was highly recommended. This woman is insane! Check out her pics on website - she looks like an animal hoarder and is charging 400.00 and 450,00 for some pups! I researched her AFTERWARDS and found out there were charges in buffalo about her stealing dogs??? What the hell kind of rescue is this?? She has over 150 dogs now ( more than both my local shelters x2 ) GO ELSEWHERE SHE IS CRAZY!!!!!!!!

Pros: ZERO except for one dog I fell in love with

Cons: ALL - ALL - ALL

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kfaulring
Flag
Rating: 1

Name of this place is a JOKE!

posted 2 years ago

My husband & I were also rejected without any explanation and when we called to find out why, the response was curt, unprofessional and we had them hang up on us. If anyone is on the Petfinder site, they will see a list of prospective adopters' bill of rights. One of the rights clearly states that we have a right to know why we were rejected!! Besides no explanation, our references were never checked and our vet never contacted. I know it might be hard to do home inspections but phone calls aren't that hard. Maybe if they spent more time screening applications properly instead of spending all their time on Facebook doing posts, more animals would find a forever home. I'm surprised that this place hasn't been investigated! I visited PetSmart recently and upon arrival, many of the dogs seemed very "stressed". In fact one dog got loose and it took almost 40 minutes for the volunteers to retrieve him from a very busy parking lot. If they have so many applications, why are they making these animals travel 1 to 1-1/2 hours (one way) to a meet and greet. Maybe they so call "rescue" the animals from a kill shelter...but who's going to rescue the animals from JR. I would really like to know the ratio of applications to actual adoptions at this place. And I also wonder why, when you do a search of available animals in the WNY region, JR has the most animals yet to be adopted????? And WHY are their adoption fees soooo much more than anyplace else??? Isn't this supposed to be a non-profit?

-- additional:

[updated on 2012-01-26 15:53:35]:
Call me crazy....but isn't 130 dogs an awful lot to have on hand for adoption???? Just checked JR's website and that's what's available as of now.

Pros: NONE

Cons: Narrow Minded

15 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 9 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 14727

March 31, 2008 | By PAULDESNOYERS

I have left my animals here on many occassions. Staff were very caring. They allowed me to call daily to see how my pets were doing while I was on vacations. My pets were clean and ready when I arrive… more ›

March 27, 2008 | By Max08

These guys are great they have always helped me and will answer any and all questions.

March 25, 2008 | By Marleneanastasia

This is a ggod clean place to take your dog to be groomed or boarded