Service:
Rating: 2.6

Average rating from 42 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
42 Results

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 9 |

Serafina30
Flag
Rating: 1

Very Disappointed

posted 3 years ago

I have to say I am very disappointed in the name for this rescue. Joyful would not describe it all. As an animal lover and responsible dog owner, I am stunned by the poor attitude of Joye.

After putting an application in on Thursday, I received an email on Friday asking to contact my vet and give them permission to speak to JR. I called my vet that day and not even an hour later I receive one line email "we won't adopt to you". I called my vet and references and was told no from JR even called them.

I called Saturday morning and spoke to an extremely nice volunteer who told me that she couldn't tell me as to why the application was denied but to call back Monday morning and speak to Joye.

When I called on Monday to to see why my application (very nicely I might add) Joye told me she was too busy to discuss it and that there could be a million reasons as to why. I asked if my references weren't checked, was there something on my application that was a problem, and I asked if having young children was a problem (even though we have a dog already) and she told me that if your children are mentioned on the application, that is a red flag to them. And I quote per Joye "go find another dog" and hung up on me.

I was shocked on how this was handled by Joyful Rescues. I guess I was thinking that Joye would be like Shelley Bookwalter on Animal Planet because to be involved in rescuing dogs shows such compassion and understanding. Joye though was rude, abrasive and I am sorely dismayed on how this was handled by her rescue. If there was a sufficient review done and they did not want to adopt to my family, it could have been handled much better, including an explanation as to why.

Pros: None

Cons: Staff is rude and unprofessional

43 of 50 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Cheshamstudio
Flag
Rating: 1

Do not apply to this group!

posted 2 years ago


I don't even want to put down one star. I have volunteered for various rescue groups in my area for a few years so I am intimately familiar with the rescue adoption process. I am close to some one who recently applied to adopt a dog and was rejected. I was shocked by this group's arrogant attitude and their "Holier than Thou" judgmental treatment of a wonderful person who gave her previous dog, a pound mutt, a loving home 13 plus years. Joyful Rescue did a sloppy, unprofessional job of vetting her and her references. They never even contacted her references. They never had a telephone interview with her. They never did a home visit. Joyful Rescue simply dismissed the application with one malicious stroke. And of course my friend had already fallen in love with some pups from their photos, so her heart was broken.

The goal of the rescue groups I work with is to place dogs in the right homes. That takes work and care but the rewards are that a new family is built, love is created. I question why there are so many dogs available at Joyful Rescue. Clearly, placing dogs in loving homes is not their priority. It seems their "joy" is in being nasty to people and playing God.

Ultimately, Joyful Rescue is doing a disservice to the dogs they claim they are wanting to help. One reviewer wrote in that they were rejected because they live on a farm. If you look at the Joyful Rescue website, what do you see in the pictures? A farm! Joyful Rescue's process, or lack of it boggles me. It seems to be completely based on one person's mean whim of the moment, a power trip, a Fascist control over vulnerable people, to put it strongly.

This experience makes me proud of the groups that I work with. We are accomplishing our mission and making both families and dogs happy. Joyful Rescue needs to reassess what they are really doing. At the present they are short changing their charges, they are unprofessional and they are arrogant and cruel to good people.

Pros: none

Cons: many

33 of 39 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

TERRI54
Flag
Rating: 1

Shameful!!!!

posted 3 years ago

I was so surprised when i got to work this morning and I found out that my coworker had been turned down from them for adoption for a cat! This is nuts! She had just lost her loving kitty of 18 yrs old and wanted to have another baby to love and care for. Getting a cat to live to the ripe old age of 18 is a feat in itself and you know she must have love and taken good care of this baby. They condemned her unjustly because her husband kept coon dogs out doors! Is it kinder keeping a cat at their place than to let it go to a good loving home that will give it special care. She is a special person that would give this cat a very special home and wasn't given a chance. No wonder they have so many animals. There are a lot of good people out there that could give good homes to a lot of animals but would be turned down because they are way too strick. I love & take good care of my little babies. I just spent over $1500 to get one of my babies healthy & have to take them to the vet monthly for a health problem. One needs monthly grooming. They also need special food. They are kept in the house. My little one is 14 years old, but I would be tunrned down for adopting one of their animals! GO FIGURE!

Pros: HELPING HOMELESS ANIMALS

Cons: GUIDELINES WAY TOO STRICK!

35 of 48 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lzucchini
Flag
Rating: 1

Joyless, Unprofessional Rescue org.

posted 2 years ago

My wife and I recently lost our beloved dog, who had joined the family as a puppy when our daughter went off to college. A few weeks after, my wife came across Joyful Rescues and we decided to apply. She pored her heart out in our application. My wife has had well-trained and exceptional dogs during her adult life -- for decades. She was honest in her application. We live in a rural area perfect for serious dog walks on property bordering on woodlands with trails. She and I were lured by the lovely pictures of the many pups frolicking in the bucolic environment pictured on the JR web-site. We waited one week during which time there was no personal interview by phone or email and none of our references were called. There was never an attempt on their part to get to know us, pursue any questions they may have had. and measure our responses. This is pro-forma in any interview process and not only a courtesy but an absolute necessity for pet lovers who are dealing with the grief of a family member. MY ADVICE IF YOU WANT A PET FROM THEM IS TO LIE and use the following guidelines:
*Don't live on a farm or in the woods
*Tell them your property is fenced in
*Your dog will always be leashed.
* If you have young children living with you, do not admit it.
* if you have any outdoor pets/animals, do not tell them
*Pretend you haven't had a pet in the last 10 years, or better yet this will be your first pet.

Pros: none

Cons: Process highly unprofessional and lacking in depth

32 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Choppy2
Flag
Rating: 1

KillJoy

posted 2 years ago

My friend was recently turned down by Joyful Resue. I believe I suppose in a way their reaction is part of our ' zero tolerance society, ' which basically says, “We don't want to know the truth, we'll take whatever evidence we see and twist it however it suits our agenda.” Basically zero tolerance is another way of saying, “guilty and not allowed to prove innocent.”

I used to think about zero tolerance as a good thing, sort of like a response to all of the crazy in the world, a full out reaction to it and a hammer falling. But after thinking about it and knowing people who have been hit by the hammer, I see that zero tolerance is just another way of saying, we don’t care what happened, we’re just mad that it did and we want retribution. I’ve learned that how one thing looks is not necessarily how it is. As humans, spiritual, intelligent, physical beings, our job is to feel and assess with all of our being, not just one corner of it because it's easier.

There's so much more to having a dog than the story of how your dog died. It's hard to believe that Joyful Rescue wouldn't at least try to find out what happened during the 13 + years a dog graced your life. You never ‘own’ a dog; they share their magic with you and you shelter and protect them. And sometimes you fall and get hurt. Sometimes your child falls and is caught by something dangerous. And sometimes even ‘your’ dog falls and gets hurt, or worse. Most accidents are preventable, true, but do we punish everyone whose been in an accident or caused and accident or not prevented an accident? At Joyful Rescue apparently loving dog ‘parents’ must be punished for an accident which caused their dog to die. Shame on them for judging you by what happened on that awful day and not EVER looking at even one of the 4,645 plus incredible days your dog was with you.

So the dog you want stays in a cage or a foster home because basically life is dangerous. And we should all get to live forever?

I believe they act out of fear. But I’ve learned that decisions propelled by fear are ones that will not stand for long. I hope Joyful Rescue tries a little faith, investigates the stories people are telling them. Calls their references. Visits their homes. Opens their minds. For the sake of the animals waiting….

Pros: none

Cons: No thinking on site

23 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 ... 9 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 14727

March 31, 2008 | By PAULDESNOYERS

I have left my animals here on many occassions. Staff were very caring. They allowed me to call daily to see how my pets were doing while I was on vacations. My pets were clean and ready when I arrive… more ›

March 27, 2008 | By Max08

These guys are great they have always helped me and will answer any and all questions.

March 25, 2008 | By Marleneanastasia

This is a ggod clean place to take your dog to be groomed or boarded