Service:
Rating: 2.1

Average rating from 14 reviews.

Similar Services:
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Readers' Reviews add review
13 Results

1 | 2 | 3 |

Rottielvr
Flag
Rating: 1

Very difficult to deal with

posted 4 years ago

take my advice--rescue from somewhere else- or you'll be sorry, too. i was one of their fosters. you have no idea how difficult & crazy they are until you try to get them to pay for your foster's vet appt, or anything else. they are about TURNOVER. how fast can they 'save' a dog & turn a profit? that's what they are about. i wish i could say nicer things.

-- additional:

[updated on 2010-08-23 20:18:44 GMT]:
i was a foster twice for HELPSAVEONE- they tried to rip me off for medical bill several times. the dogs i fostered came here from bladen cty, n.carolina and were heartworm positive, flea-ridden, filled with worms, and my last one had kennel cough so bad- and they knew i had my own dog! these poor dogs are completely misdiagnosed by the 'vets' they use...seriously, they told me my first foster wasn't tested for heartworms because she was too young. even i could tell she was an adult, and a vet couldn't? after 2 months of running this dog every day, she then tested POSITIVE and i had to BEG them for a vet appointment! i swore never again, then i fostered another one...same story- but this guy was on death's doorstep- they wouldn't pay for his appointment, and i was at the vet she told me to go while their credit cards were being declined at the front desk. to top it off, they just adopted him out to the first people that paid them through paypal, without so much as a home visit!! i was so embarrassed to be involved with such a group of losers. they don't want to pay for any of the treatments for their fosters, hoping they will feel bad & pay for hundreds or thousands of dollars in vet bills so they don't have to dip into their savings of cash that people donate to when they feel so bad for the dogs. THOSE GIRLS ARE RUTHLESS AND JUST LOOKING FOR SUCKERS TO RIP OFF. if you want to foster for some great rescues that really do their best to help desperate dogs, go to crittercavalry or new england all-breed rescue. i wish i never got involved with those jerks.

Pros: they save dogs from death row

Cons: they're horrible to deal with, rude, and completely unorganized

26 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

BEENSCAMMED
Flag
Rating: 1

Think twice before dealing with them

posted 5 years ago

I found the website by chance while online. I contacted them about 2 dogs and heard back right away. was told to go to paypal and send $$$ ASAP as these dogs "only had 2 days left" before they were to be gassed. As soon as money was sent communication became very difficult as emails went unanswered. We did get the dogs as promised. However, they arrived with NO health records and a rabies tag that seems may not be legitimate (this is being investigated). The dogs were NOT neutered even though there was PLENTY of time to do so between payment and arrival in our state. There was NO mention of this and my questions are going unanswered as well as no certificate to get them nutered has materialized.

My opinion.. they did a great job with the website... looks great, pulls unsuspecting victims heartstrings into acting hastily without time to really check them out, THE REAL VICTIMS ARE THE DOGS THAT ARE IN THE MILLS BIRTHING PUPPIES FOR THEM TO SELL. I truly hope I am way off base here but something is NOT right about this organization. If I find out differently I will repost with an apology. Until then be VERY careful with these people.

-- additional:

[updated on 2009-02-11 15:24:59 GMT]:
ALL EARLIER ISSUES HAVE BEEN RESOLVED WITH THEM. MY INITIAL COMMENTS WERE A KNEEJERK REACTION TO FINDING DOGS UNNEUTERED...I WILL CONTINUE TO HELP AND WORK WITH THIS ORGANIZATION....THEY DID PAY IN FULL FOR THE NEUTERING AND VETTING OF BOTH DOGS AS WELL AS ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS. I SPOKE WITH ONE OF THE HUMAINE SOCIETIES IN TN THAT THEY PULL DOGS ON DEATH ROW FROM AND THEY SPOKE VERY HIGHLY OF HELP SAVE ONE. THE VET THEY WORK WITH DID ALSO. PLEASE DISREGUARD MY INITAL POSTING!!!!!!

Pros: you do get a dog

Cons: they are scammers

20 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Settergirls
Flag
Rating: 1

Scam Artists

posted 4 years ago

I encourage anyone considering working with this organization to do a simple search on google and read the numerous complaints against them. You will find complaint after complaint from those seeking to adopt, those who act/acted as sponsors/foster families / those who offered assistance concerning vet care down south / transport companies etc.. who have been scammed by these people.
Those owed money from these people end up chasing it. Sponsors are out owed vet care $ and in many cases never hear from or can reach anyone at Help Save One.
One organization down south has reported that Marissa owes thousands to individuals who helped with vet care.
I wish I had done a simple search before seeking to adopt through this organization and am now one of the many looking for my refund.
The organization has a very professional looking website. These people are far from profesional. I have a number of emails proving this. They like to "remind" people that they are an organization run by volunteers. Apparently in their world, the term "volunteer" equates to unprofessional deceitful people who believe that it is ok to take money from people and never have to honor terms of their own stated policies (posted on their professional looking website)
If you inquire about your refund, which will be promised to you for weeks; you will receive emails that speak to medical problems, volunteer status, people being off for the day, etc.. a million excuses without any apology for a delay on their end.
Do a search - this organization is horrible.

Pros: none

Cons: too many to list

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Luvmydamian
Flag
Rating: 1

Another person ripped off by HelpSaveOne

posted 4 years ago

I applied for a dog on HSO's website, I paid the $50 application deposit, emailed the confirmation to HSO and recieved an email from Marissa almost instantly. I spoke to a volunteer on the phone the next day. The dog said adoption pending for two days, then that was it, never heard anything back from either Marissa or the woman I spoke to. I sent several email inquiries about the status of my application with no response at all. HSO's website states that if an application is denied the deposit will be returned via PayPal within 48 hours. Guess if they don't let you know you are denied they don't have to return the money.
I finally received a response from Marissa after I sent a very nasty, threatening email. My application was denied (go figure)and they would refund my money. That was over two weeks ago. Still nothing to my PayPal account and the dog applied for is still on HSO's website. So are all of the other dogs that I originally looked at for that matter (over a 1 1/2 months later).
I was scammed by this organization, I am writing this in the hopes that a potential adopter will see this and choose to adopt from a more deserving group. HELP SAVE ONE IS A RIP OFF.

Pros: Supposedly they are trying to help dogs

Cons: They are ripping people off

14 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Laura
Flag
Rating: 1

Help Save One Animal Rescue

posted 2 years ago

I see alot of complaints from people not getting the promised dog they applied for in a timely fashion, some over 30 days and that the dog came to them sick. I work with rescue groups and see the monkeywrenches that can change your plans for the day in an instance.

I fostered only once for Help Save One and being a rescuer myself didn't see anything wrong with not receiving a phone call back for a few days to a week or that the dog I fostered couldn't be brought immediately to the family that applied for her. She got sick while in my care so they had to wait. These dogs getting sick just shows you how deplorible the shelter conditions are. I took this rescue puppy to the vet and Help Save One paid the bill, I never had a problem with them. In meeting Pam, I was wishing I could help her deliver all the dogs she had to deliver in one day. Sometimes the day runs out before you can finish. They do the best they can do for such a small group. How nice would it be if instead of complaining, someone actually gave up a Sat. or Sunday to help out. This is not a pet store, it's a rescue, actually saving lives at the last minute. Marissa has the guts to take on so much, the public should help to make it happen too. I know how hard it is to run a rescue, time consuming - unreal, you just can't imagine until you do it yourself.

I also know that back in 2011 this group took all the dogs in the shelter that was closing, not to have them all die. I could imagine that this move probably put them under financially for a while but I am only guessing that it would have. I remember her posting this on her website and she was asking for donations.

I started a rescue with 3 other woman and we promised to rescue only 4 or 5 at a time to ensure we do a perfect job. This promise could not be kept. 15 dogs and the vet bill exceed 10,000 then 20,000 and just kept climbing. When an emergency happens, you have to be there. How many times did Marissa post that they didn't make it on time. A foster home is needed in time and the money too. Its not easy at all. It all depends on what happens in one rescue day. The more rescues you do, the more time you need for the paperwork, vet records, and all that goes with it. So in reading all the complaints, I saw nothing abnormal for a 2 man rescue group to have.

I had only good experience with this group but have had only one dealing to go by. I feel strongly about their mission that I am going to ask if I can spend a weekend helping them to catch up.

Just an opinion from the inside looking out instead of the outside looking in.

Laura

Pros: Hard Working Group

Cons: Need more volunteers

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a service, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Reviews For Services Near 02886
Rating: 5

All About Pets

March 20, 2008 | By SofieLove

We have been using All About Pets for grooming and pet food for almost 4 years. The staff is wonderful and very knowledgable. Denise used to work for a pet food distributor and can recommend a food … more ›

December 23, 2007 | By Lori R.

This is an awesome shelter they just had built a few years ago. Every shelter should be like this one. Its so big and they're able to do that and then some. They have a surgey room, they have everythi… more ›

November 11, 2007 | By RichR

This shelter is beautiful a lot of people including my family pushed to get them a new shelter. It's state of the art has a surgery room and everything. Has everything we all dream about having. Saddl… more ›