Product:
The Horse Magazine
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 21 reviews.

Similar Products:
Paint Horse Connection
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Mid Atlantic Thoroughbred Magazine
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Bloodhorse Magazine
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 2 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

11 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
RemarkablySpecial
Flag
Rating: 5

Great information for the serious horse owner

posted 5 years ago

A little over two years ago we adopted a TB ex-track horse from Angel Acres Horse Haven Rescue in York, PA. She is currently being shown as a Hunter by our daughter, but the first year brought on a number of medical situations that required me (former ER/ICU RN) to become a quick study in equine medical topics.

The first magazine I found was Equus (see my review) which has great information and I continue to read it cover-to-cover each month, but I was delighted to find The Horse magazine. It covers a wider range of topics and the feature articles are often related to a specific theme. The writing tends to be more technical than Equus which can be either a pro or con depending on what you are looking for in a periodical. December 2008's issue had feature articles entitled "As The Sperm Turns", "Impending Arrival" and "Frozen Semen Advances". The obvious theme being the breeding and birth of horses. I just have to ad that I really, realy love the Unbalanced Behavior column by Sue McDonnell, PhD, Certified Applied Animal Behavior. My daughter and I got to see her speak in person at Horses 2007 (Rutgers Unversity, NJ) and she seems to really know her equine behavior and offers some great advice on dealing with behavioral problems.

Pros: Wide range of topics at a reasonably subscription rate

Cons: Information may be too technical for first time horse owners

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Horseboy
Flag
Rating: 5

Enjoyment

posted 5 years ago

this magazine is good for people who want to learn about horses and who love seeing pictures of them doing many different things. it has stories on health care, riding techniques, feeding, housing and so on plus directories in the back for further research via internet. a must for horse people.

Pros: good photography and articles

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Automonkey08
Flag
Rating: 5

Good horse info

posted 5 years ago

The shelter gets this magazine and i read it when i go down to help out. not much time to read, but the few articles i ahve read were really good and short and to the point and easy to follow. when you're busy thats what you want, the info you need, fast.

Pros: good articles, good info

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Rebecca B.
Flag
Rating: 5

I really like this product!

posted 5 years ago

I love this magazine! It's super informational, and it really knows how to stay up to date on topics horse related. I really like the stuff they post online. My teachers at my equine college use their articals all the time!

Pros: you can get it for free online too!

Cons: Sometimes it leans too close to the medical views on things.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Patty W.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for horse lovers!!

posted 5 years ago

great magazine, we get this regularly we usually read it cover to cover. last month was the annual vacinnation schedule for horse owners, thats a great tool to have. they have lots of great articles too!

Pros: informative, and accurate

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›