Product:
Oxbow Bunny Basics 15/23
Rating: 4.1

Average rating from 12 reviews.

More Products By Oxbow Animal Health:
Oxbow Bunny Basics /T
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 25 reviews.

Oxbow Chinchilla Deluxe
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 19 reviews.

Oxbow Eco-Straw
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 8 reviews.

See all (20) ›

Similar Products:
Nature's Promiseā„¢  Premium Rabbit Food
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Mazuri Rabbit Diet
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Oxbow Bunny Basics /T
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 25 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

8 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Diva27la
Flag
Rating: 5

Good for growing youngsters under 6-7 months

posted 6 years ago

I had a rescue juvenile that was about 8-9 weeks old when I got her [originally as a foster, I lated adopted Noodles :-)]. The first person who had saved her and had her for a week or so couldn't get her to eat much of anything except shredded carrots and water. [She had been taken from her mother way too young by an unscrupulous pet store owner to be sold as snake food :-(. She's such a gift from God now :-).] When I got her I was able to transition her over to BB 15/23 within about a week with a lot of loving care. I kept her on it [with an alfalfa.timothy hay mix and veggies] until she was roughly 6-7 months old. About a month after her spay I transitioned her to Bunny Basics T without any problems. She is sleek, active, alert, friendly and healthy.

Pros: good for rapidly growing juveniles

Cons: difficult to find

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kirstin T.
Flag
Rating: 5

Healthy quality food for young rabbits

posted 6 years ago

This food is great for rabbits under a year old. I used this food up until last fall when my youngest rabbit turned about one, then switched her to Oxbow Bunny Basics T (timothy) pellets. She did quite well on both types of the Oxbow pellets. I would highly recommend them to anyone with rabbits as this company seems to have very high quality foods.

Pros: Quality pellet food based on alfalfa

Cons: Usually have to order from the company

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kerry S.
Flag
Rating: 4

Especially good for special needs

posted 6 years ago

This product is good for baby and younger bunnies, as they need more calcium in their diets, due to growning bones and teeth. It is good for proper weight gain in baby and young rabbits, as well as those set heartlessly free out of doors, by uncaring owners. About half of the rabbits in our rescue have been set free in this manner. Many come in emaciated from this experience. It is great to watch them reach a healthy weight, and get a healthier coat, as well.



















Pros: good for young bunnies and more

Cons: shipping is expensive

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

LondoMollari
Flag
Rating: 5

Excellent pellet food for young rabbits and nursing mothers

posted 6 years ago

I feed this pellet to my foster babies and their mom. This is a high quality pellet from Oxbow, and like most Oxbow products, it comes to you fresh and sweet smelling. This is made from alfalfa, so it has more calories and protein than the timothy based pellets. It is an excellent choice for young rabbits and lactating moms who need extra calories for growth and milk production. These pellets may also be used under a vet's supervision for bunnies that are low in weight because of illness.

Do not feed this pellet to your adult companion bunnies. It is too high in calcium and calories for them. Use the Oxbow Bunny Basics T instead.

Pros: high protein, high calories for growing rabbits

Cons: too many calories and too much calcium for adult bunnies

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Cmh9023
Flag
Rating: 5

Good for underweight buns

posted 6 years ago

I have one rabbit who recently lost quite a bit of weight. She had an abcess on her jaw and she didn't have an appetite. Now that she's had her molars removed she needs to gain some weight back. I feed her separately with 15/32. The other buns get Bunny Basics T.

Pros: Good for young rabbits and those who need to gain weight

Cons: Shouldn't be fed every day to adult rabbits

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›