Product:
Bicillin
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 10 reviews.

Similar Products:
Rabbit-Mycin Nose Drops
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 14 reviews.

Propulsid (cisapride)
Rating: 4.8

Average rating from 4 reviews.

EMT Gel
Rating: 4.0

Average rating from 5 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

7 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Haley H.
Flag
Rating: 5

Bicillin is a lifesaver!

posted 6 years ago

This very inexpensive drug (also sold as ComboPen and TwinPen etc) is a combination of PenG Procaine and PenG Benzathine. It is to be given SubQ every other day. It works wonders in rabbit abscesses that were thought to be life threatening. Its a great alternative or addition to surgery for any rabbit with an abscess.

Pros: Safe and effective

Cons: None

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Angela L.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great antibiotic for rabbits!

posted 6 years ago

Bicillin is a relatively new drug for treating rabbits. Normally penicillin drugs like this can't be used, but this is safe because it is injected. It works really well on those hard-to-treat abscesses.

I just wish more vets knew about this! Don't be afraid to print off articles about using this on rabbits from the internet and bring them in to your vet for consideration.

Pros: Injectible, great for treating abscesses

Cons: Not enough vets know about

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kerry S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Effective for Bunnies

posted 6 years ago

This medication has been a life-saver in our rabbit rescue. Given by injection, it has worked on abscesses, stubborn ear infections, and pneumonia. Prior to using bicillin, bunnies often struggled with abscess, which often took over and took lives. This drug and its protocol for rabbits (thanks Marcy) is a godsend.

Pros: effective

Cons: given by injection

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

alicia P.
Flag
Rating: 5

Very Simple

posted 6 years ago

This is something that I used for nearly a year with my boy Ringo. He suffered from headtilt. This only that kept it in check. It did not clear him up. He moved on to Zithromax and that cleared him up.

Since than in my research I have learned that a combo of the two is VERY GOOD.

Pros: Easy, cheap

Cons: Not as effective.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Cmh9023
Flag
Rating: 5

This was a lifesaver

posted 6 years ago

One of my rabbits had an abcess in her jaw and had to have extensive surgery. The vet prescribed Baytril to prevent infection, but it wasn't strong enough. So, she prescibed bicilllini by injection every other day. It worked like a charm! She needed to take it for many months. I wouldn't hesitate to use it again.

Pros: A very effective antibiotic for rabbits

Cons: Needs to be inijected

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›