Product:
Gem Pine Shavings
Rating: 4.1

Average rating from 11 reviews.

Similar Products:
Pestell corn cobb
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 4 reviews.

LifeMate Hemp Bedding for Animals
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

DishPan
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 12 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

5 reviews

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Paula H.
Flag
Rating: 5

Versatile, Natural Pine shavings

posted 6 years ago

Gem Pine shavings are manufactured in the Pacific Northwest in Auburn, Washington. You can find them at most feed stores in the Pacific Northwest. These shavings are very clean, natural and versatile. they work well for many small animals such as Rabbits, Guinea Pigs, Gerbils, Mice etc. They also work great for horse stalls. They are very resonably priced which is another huge plus.

Pros: Clean, no fillers, smells good, well priced

Cons: None

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Anne W.
Flag
Rating: 3

Ok

posted 6 years ago

This is a low cost bedding. Not my favorite. Below aspen in comfort for the pet but a step better than red cedar which should be outlawed as it is dangerous!!! OK to use in emergency situations.

Pros: better than cedar which is a no-no

Cons: can have sharp edges

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Peter F.
Flag
Rating: 5

GEM Douglas Fir (White Pine) Shavings

posted 6 years ago

We use GEM shavings (White or Douglas Fir) for our Holland Lop pet and in the nesting boxes for our tree nesting waterfowl (Mandarin Ducks and Ringed Teal.)

For the rabbit, there has been no problems with the quality of the product. It's been consistent and acceptable. The rabbit tends to make a bit of a mess with it, but not any more than with other beddding material.

For the nest boxes, I have found it to be a little too powerful scent wise when fresh, so I fluff it out of the compressed bag and let it air for a couple of days or the odor builds too strong in the nest boxes for the birds to accept it. Once aired, it fills and insulates as well as any other nest box filler, and the birds don't mind the material or attempt to eat it. I prefer the pine over the cedar in case anybody tries to eat it, as hatchlings tend to eat anything they can get at.


-- additional:

[updated on 2008-01-02 02:38:04]:
Holland Lop Pet Rabbit

Pros: Good Value, good size package

Cons: Can be too large of a package when dealing with small animals

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Stevie R.
Flag
Rating: 4

Use for dog bedding

posted 6 years ago

We use this for the neighbors dog that lives behind our fence. He is in an igloo and we keep him warm in these chips. You have to add more from time to time as they crush down to a dusty material. He loves to get in and route around after we fill the box.

Pros: Keeps him warm

Cons: A little messy

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kizzyduck
Flag
Rating: 5

Smell great

posted 6 years ago

we use these for my daughters gerbils and i love that it covers up the "gerbil smell". they love to nest and push it out of the cage, so frequent vacuuming is a must. in a tank i'm sure they would be fine. we have wire cages.

Pros: smell great

Cons: animals will push them out

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›