Product:
Critical Care
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 23 reviews.

Similar Products:
Lax Hairball Remedy
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Peters Rabbit-Aide
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Ferret Rx Upper Respr
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 3 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

11 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Angela L.
Flag
Rating: 5

Supportive food for sick rabbits

posted 6 years ago

One of my rabbits (and sadly her sister who passed away) has genetic intestinal problems that frequently cause diarrhea/stasis issues. And my foster bun has chronic molar spurs and sometimes needs soft foods before and after a dental surgery. I used to make my own pellet slurry for syringe feeding, but my vet gave me Critical Care for the foster bun and I really like it. It has extra nutrition that pellets don't, like extra B vitamins and the same probiotics that are in Bene-Bac, which I also use for bunny tummy troubles.

If you're going to syringe feed this, make sure to let it soak for 10+ minutes. I found I needed a lot more water than the instructions said, otherwise it wouldn't move through the feeding syringe very well. If the bun wants to eat but has trouble with hard food, like my foster bun after a dental surgery, you can make the Critical Care into soft balls and put them in the bowl for them to eat on their own.

Definitely handy to have around, especially if you have a rabbit or guinea pig with chronic intestinal or tooth problems!

Pros: Very healthy

Cons: can only get from vet

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Tonyshuman
Flag
Rating: 5

Good to keep around, just in case

posted 6 years ago

i have this on hand in case something terrible happens (like GI stasis) and i want to get some food into my buns ASAP. it's a great thing to have.

Pros: a great food for sick bunnies

Cons: none

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Gtg452y
Flag
Rating: 5

A MUST for any small pet owner

posted 6 years ago

This is a great product for all small pet owners (herbivores - though they do make a version of critical care for carnivores all you ferret/cat/carnivore owners called Carnivore Care).

Ideally you never want to have to use it, but if/when you do, you will be so thankful you have it. It's the only emergency care food for herbivores that I have ever heard of. As a result, the price is a bit hefty for a small amount. It comes in 2 flavors and most pets love it.

Preparation is a snap (just add water), though you may have to plastic syringe feed (do remember to get some - sized appropriately for your pet). You can use Critical Care to nurse a sick pet back to health and if you're like me, you're glad they have another flavor because you think your bunny associates the Critical Care with being sick.

Must have item.

Pros: Wonderful taste, easy preparation

Cons: Ideally you buy it to never use it

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Michelle R.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great Product

posted 6 years ago

I usually take home sick bunnies who have GI Stasis. Critical Care is a big thing in our house now. Bunnies stop eating and we give them this after giving them simethicone. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Very unfortunate...

Pros: Sometimes it works

Cons: Sometimes it doesn't

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Diva27la
Flag
Rating: 5

Kept Kuni going

posted 6 years ago

My dwarf rabbit Kuni went into GI stasis a couple of weeks ago and was prescribed Oxbow Critical Care twice daily until he began eating on his own again. IT is a bit of a pain mixing it-1 part mix to 2 parts warm water turns it into sludge which then gets put somehow into a turkey baster-like large syringe and hopefully I got 25 cc's worth of the mixture put together-then squeeze it and get the tip into Kuni's mouth-then Kuni gets the Critical Care onto whatever I'm wearing, but eventually I prevailed. It's not bad smelling, a bit like an herbal mud mixture from some spa.

Joking aside, Kuni would have died without getting this into him. He was back pooping in less than 24 hours and was eating on his own in about 4 days. I am a regular on the alt-pets.rabbits newsgroup and Critical Care is the first thing many of the rabbit-slaves reach for at the first sign of any of our bunnies not eating. I am grateful to Oxbow for making products that work well for rabbits.

Pros: It works!

Cons: Not the easiest stuff to mix and deliver

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›