Product:
Oxbow Alfalfa Hay
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 10 reviews.

Similar Products:
Furry Beasts of Field Blend by Goldenfeast
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 16 reviews.

Heinold Rabbit Feed
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 14 reviews.

Blue Seal Bunny 16 pellets
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 10 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

9 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Sanitieseclipse
Flag
Rating: 5

Good treat or for babies

posted 6 years ago

Alfalfa is a good occasional treat, but otherwise shouldn't be fed to adults. It's great for babies or nursing moms though. We mix this in with the grass hay for our foster bunny who has molar spurs, and it gets her to eat more and keep her teeth trimmed down.

Great quality from Oxbow, as always.

Pros: High energy, great for babies

Cons: Too rich for adults

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

LondoMollari
Flag
Rating: 5

Good free choice hay for young rabbits

posted 6 years ago

I feed this hay to my foster mom and her litter. They get free choice alfalfa hay to encourage growth and help her with lactation. This is a high quality hay that is not appropriate for adult companion bunnies. Stick with a good grass hay like timothy or orchard grass for adults, but if you ever find yourself feeding baby rabbits this is a great choice.

Pros: high calorie hay for young rabbits and moms

Cons: can be dusty

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kavykeeper
Flag
Rating: 3

Don't feed to adult guinea pigs

posted 5 years ago

Alfalfa should only be fed to baby and nursing mother guinea pigs. It's high in calcium which can lead to bladder and kidney stones, which can be fatal. Stick with the other wonderful Oxbow hays. They can be given in unlimited quantities.

Pros: good for animals that require calcium

Cons: calcium causes kidney and bladder stones

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

kate h.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for Mouse Habitat

posted 6 years ago

I got this for my two mice to add to thier habitat. They love to tunnel under it and make nests. I guess it reminds them of being "wild" mice out in the woods. And it really helps to keep the habitat smelling sweet in between changes.

Pros: cheap, smells sweet, mice love

Cons: none that I can think of

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Rebecca B.
Flag
Rating: 5

Favorite with all our growing animals

posted 5 years ago

when our animals were younger and on alfalfa I really liked to buy them this. It was not very dusty and had nice long strands. I even will buy small bags of this now and again and mix it in with the timothy hay as a treat.

Pros: bunnies, chinchillas and guinea pigs love this!

Cons: a lot of protein so not so great for older animals

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›