Product:
Oat Hay by Oxbow Hay Company
Rating: 4.7

Average rating from 6 reviews.

Similar Products:
Furry Beasts of Field Blend by Goldenfeast
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 16 reviews.

Heinold Rabbit Feed
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 14 reviews.

Blue Seal Bunny 16 pellets
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 10 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

5 reviews

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
LondoMollari
Flag
Rating: 5

My bunnies' absolute favorite hay

posted 6 years ago

This is far and away my bunnies' favorite hay. This comes as long stalks with tiny bunches of immature seed heads on the tops. The bunnies really go for the seeds and the softer stems that connect the seed heads to the stalks. The seed pods are covered in a high fiber sheath, so this is a good choice for a high fiber hay. Unfortunately, my guys waste alot with this hay, as they do not eat much of the coarser straw stems. This is a messy hay, so feed it by dropping a handful in the litter box to keep the straw contained. I use this as a treat hay to suplement their diet and give them some variety in their diet.

Pros: Bunnies go crazy for this hay

Cons: the straw stems are often wasted, messy to feed

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jennifer
Flag
Rating: 5

Oat hay is great for a treat!

posted 6 years ago

Oxbow's Oat Hay is great for a treat! Our rabbits will get a small handful of Oat Hay periodically and they love to eat the oat heads first! Oats are high in carbs, so this hay should be fed in moderation. There is no substitute for feeding your rabbit an unlimited supply of Timothy hay.

Pros: Great treat

Cons: Should be fed in moderation

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Kavykeeper
Flag
Rating: 5

Excellent alternative to timothy

posted 5 years ago

My guinea pigs love this hay. It smells fresh and must taste really good because they eat this hay faster than any of the others. I have never seen it sold in bags larger than the 15 oz. size, but I would buy it in the larger size if it was offered.

Pros: fresh and tasty

Cons: only sold in the 15 oz. bag

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Arden
Flag
Rating: 5

Love Ox Bow products

posted 6 years ago

We've had house rabbits for 30 years and thank the day we discovered Oxbow--they really care about their small animal products--and hay is essential to the bunnies for healthy digestion.

Pros: Grown espcially for companion animal use

Cons: None

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Rebecca B.
Flag
Rating: 3

Good mixer

posted 6 years ago

Jenny Jane seemed to like it in small amounts but it isn't her favorite. Toby and Rascel seemed indifferent to it.

Pros: A good thing to mix in with timothy. consistancy and taste variety for picky animals

Cons: is a little tough

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›