Product:
Old Dogs are the Best Dogs
Rating: 4.9

Average rating from 35 reviews.

Similar Products:
The Senior Dog
Rating: 5.0

Average rating from 1 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

26 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Jodi S.
Flag
Rating: 5

Wonderful photostory about the love senior dogs bring to our lives

posted 5 years ago

I received this book as a Christmas gift this past year, and I zipped through it once I began reading. The photographs manage to capture the heart of the featured dogs, and the stories help show the personalities of each animal and the love the families felt for their little old men and women.

As my pack edges into their later years, I've seen the changes that Gene Weingarten mentions in his heartfelt prologue about his old dog. To anyone who has ever loved an old dog, this book will reinforce the beauty of that bond and bring them to tears at all of the similar memories within the pages.

It's a wonderful gift to the dog lover in your life, even if you may need to pass the tissues and chocolate during the reading.

Pros: Wonderful photographs and warm stories

Cons: Made me cry, relatively short (for publishing reasons)

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Wendie
Flag
Rating: 5

Wonderful Book

posted 5 years ago

This was one of the books featured in our holiday catalog at the book store I work in. I've spent a lot of time looking through it, reading bits and pieces, and mostly looking at the photos. It's a wonderful idea for a book (one that hasn't been done ad naseum!) and it's a very well put together book. Definitely a great gift for any dog lover!

Pros: beautiful, great photos, great subject

Cons: Expensive

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Christy M.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for anyone who loves or has lost an old dog

posted 5 years ago

I purchased this book last year to add to my collection of 'Dog Related' coffee table books. I was not disappointed. Weingarten offers a great collection of profiles to go with the photography of Williamson. You get a sneak peak into the life of the dog, as well as their ripe old age. Great book to celebrate old dogs.

Pros: Awesome collection

Cons: Can be a sad read

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Ashley
Flag
Rating: 5

Bittersweet and Beautiful

posted 5 years ago

A sweet book with gorgeous black and white photos of old dogs and a great little story to accompany each pooch. As a shelter employee and advocate for older canines, this is a must read! It's a great reminder of the wisdom and charm of senior dogs. It will touch the heart of anyone who reads it!

Pros: An amazing tribute to senior dogs

Cons: I wish it were longer, by 1000 pages!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Bludog
Flag
Rating: 5

Love it!

posted 5 years ago

I love love love this book. I picked this book up just after I lost my senior boy and it was great to see so many seniors living a good life. I have adopted four seniors dogs now and I would recommend it to anyone, you cant beat the eyes of an old man :-)

Pros: Attractive

Cons: none

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›