Product:
Turtle Docks by Zoo-Med
Rating: 4.3

Average rating from 39 reviews.

Similar Products:
Zoo Med Turtle Dock
Rating: 3.2

Average rating from 9 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

27 reviews

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Danielle
Flag
Rating: 4

The turtles loved it.

posted 6 years ago

The turtles loved the dock.. floated right at the top.. design went well with the rest of the habitat.

Pros: Nice to look at.

Cons: n/a

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Goldenwolfga
Flag
Rating: 5

Good.

posted 6 years ago

looks great in my turtle tank... good for turtles.. they seem to enjoy it.

Pros: floats.

Cons: n/a

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Stephanie
Flag
Rating: 4

Neat

posted 7 years ago

I had one of these when my turtle was much smaller, however, once she got big, the dock kept sliding in the water unable to hold the weight. But this is good for smaller turtles.

Pros: n/a

Cons: n/a

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Sheltervt
Flag
Rating: 5

Great for beginners

posted 6 years ago

The Zoo-Med Turtle Docks can be a godsend for turtle novices. The biggest mistake turtle keepers make is not providing a large enough habitat. The average adult red eared slider (the most common aquatic turtle in the pet trade) maxes out at fifteen inches long (sometimes up to 20") and requires more than a hundred gallons of water to swim in. Yet the pet stores all sell 20 gallon tanks set up as "turtle tanks." Twenty four inches long and twelve inches wide... for a turtle that can get twenty inches long and ten to fourteen inches wide? It's like trying to fit a square peg into a round hole.

The average turtle for sale in pet stores is four inches long. Assuming the new turtle owner is decieved into buying one of these 20 gallon tanks, they are already buying a habitat that is woefully undersized. Now, try putting a large rock or a land mass in the tank to provide a basking spot... that shrinks the tank further. The Turtle Docks by Zoo-Med help in that regard. Sticking to the side of the tank on a slide aparatus (so it can ride up and down with changing water levels), the dock takes up several inches of surface area, but the turtle can swim under and around it, not losing any swimming space.

Pros: helps maximize small habitats

Cons: even the largest model can be too small for a large RES

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

lauren g.
Flag
Rating: 5

My turtle

posted 7 years ago

my friends turtle luvs to hang out on her rock she spends so long on it its hard to get her to move off so she can clean it

Pros: it looks real

Cons: hard to clean

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›