Product:
Zoo Med All Natural Hermit Crab Sea Sponge
Rating: 4.5

Average rating from 14 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

10 reviews

1 | 2 |

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
HEATHER D.
Flag
Rating: 5

A must have!

posted 6 years ago

These are needed for hermit crabs to drink water. They are a must have. They also give the tank a natural "sea side" look, which I like.

Pros: hermit crabs need these

Cons: none

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Jay
Flag
Jay
Rating: 1

Must have!

posted 6 years ago

Sponges are a must have in a hermit crab cage! I would recommend this to anyone.

Pros: keeps cage humid

Cons: gets musty

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Catey P.
Flag
Rating: 3

Not How Hermits Drink

posted 5 years ago

First- hermit crabs DO NOT drink from sponges, they dip their little claws in a pool of water or they submerge their whole body in water to regulate their body's balance. A sea sponge is a good product to have because it causes the water to evaporate much faster which helps to keep the humidity level in the tank at a healthy 70-90%. Keep a sponge like this around, but make sure that your hermits also have access to both fresh and saltwater that is deep enough for them to submerge in. Remember, these animals live around the ocean- they don't drink from little sponges!

Pros: Helpful

Cons: Not to be used as advertised

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Buzymom
Flag
Rating: 5

Crabs need this

posted 6 years ago

This worked great as the hermit crabs can't cup water to their mouths but have to suck it. We learned the hard way that sponges must set on something like a shell to prevent the moisture from draining. Must also check often to keep the sponge wet.

Pros: works great

Cons: none known

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Lisa L.
Flag
Rating: 5

These are needed for hermit crabs

posted 7 years ago

These are the only way that hermit crabs can get water. They suck on the sponge. You will need to check the sponge at least everyday to make sure it has water on it. Also you will need to switch them out and give a fresh sponge everyonce in a while

Pros: Hermit crabs need these

Cons: none

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

1 | 2 |

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

November 15, 2014 | By Robyn

Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat Chicken & Salmon Cat Food

I have 3 cats and they love this food. They eat less and walk away with a full belly. Eating less means pooping less and less litter. All around a great choice for my cats.

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›