Product:
Vita-Sand by Zoo-Med
Rating: 4.3

Average rating from 9 reviews.

Similar Products:
Kritterz Reptile Sand
Rating: 3.8

Average rating from 4 reviews.

Products We Are Testing:
Readers' Reviews add review

5 reviews

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful |
  • Date
Kirsten
Flag
Rating: 4

Good sand

posted 6 years ago

I use this sand with my bearded dragons. There is much controversy/conflict as to whether sand is safe to use with lizards. I've used this sand with my beardeds with no issues. If a reptile ingests sand it can cause impactions. And do not fall for the marketing pitch that they can ingest sand and get their calcium from it. Ingesting substrate is not good. This sand is very fine and better than other sands I've seen made for reptiles. But still use with caution. Feed your reptile in a separate container to prevent them from ingesting substrate.

Pros: variety of colors, easy to clean with scoop

Cons: can still cause impaction

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Peabody004
Flag
Rating: 4

For Calcium

posted 6 years ago

We started to use this for the calcium it had in the sand. It is nice knowing as my animal walks around he is getting the calcium he needs.

Pros: Calcium

Cons: small bags

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Chelsea S.
Flag
Rating: 4

Great product

posted 6 years ago

For anyone who loves the look of sand over reptile carpet and wants a choice of color this is a great product. with a neat and color aray of choices you can change the look of your herps cage each time you change the substrate out. with a sand sifter cleaning is quite easy and quik. The added Calcium is a big bonus. The only draw back is that with all sad you run the risk of Impaction which can be difficult to detect to someone who isn't well expierienced in reptile care and can lead to death if not treated by a vet. I used this product for my geckos once but found another substrate which is easily digested and does not cause impaction. I'd rather add the needed calcium powder to insects than risk killing my pet on accident

Pros: Easy to clean, looks great, contains calcium needed

Cons: risk of impaction

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

Glassotter342
Flag
Rating: 5

Silly Sand

posted 6 years ago

I use this for our leopard gecko. He always gets a little sand when he catches his crickets and the calcium is good for him.

Pros: not a lot of dust

Cons: none yet

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

aimee d.
Flag
Rating: 5

Great

posted 6 years ago

A friend of mine uses this sand for her iguana, and it is the best sand out there. Her baby loves it and so does she!

Pros: best sand out there for reptile tanks

Cons: none

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did you?

|

You might also enjoy:

Want to review a product, but not finding it? Just add it and review it!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Recent Product Reviews

July 14, 2013 | By Xiaoxiao111

Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon Adjustable Cat Safety Collar

Pink is my favorite color these are wonderful.I will recommend a good website fou you: www.9footballshirt.org

June 28, 2013 | By Kittymom314

Freshpet Select Roasted Meals for Cat

I introduced this food to my two cats, one is a senior at 13 years and the other is about 7 years. Both females. The 7 year old is a new addition, recently adopted :) Because of their age differenc… more ›

June 21, 2013 | By Jheiyapark

PetsBestRx Sulfinex

We spent hundreds of dollars with a veterinary skin specialist to no avail. Our Cat scratched out every hair he could get to. He was hairless except for what was left on his head. One day we were in f… more ›